We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,845)
Filter reviews
1,845 results
Traveller rating
1,112
551
125
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,112
551
125
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool view water volleyball cold bottle of water marina terrace replenished daily tai chi poolside room junior suite lovely hotel every night evening entertainment tribute acts relaxing holiday piped music breakfast and dinner ceiling fan plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,845 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel lived up to the reviews in all aspects- we asked for a first floor room before we arrived and we were given a nice room with a big balcony overlooking the marina. All the staff were very nice and eager to please.
A fridge in the room with tea and coffee facilities was great, as was the complimentary water and half bottle of bubbly!
Plenty of choice for buffet breakfast and dinner with some dishes cooked fresh each night. Only criticism is you could not buy wine by the glass at dinner, only by the bottle which you could have over a number of nights. At €22 a bottle it’s not cheap!
We stayed in the hotel for the entertainment each night which was excellent.
Pool area and sun beds very good, but the pool was freezing so only braved it once!
Resort is purpose built and comprises of restaurants and bars around the marina all offering similar menus and the obligatory tv for football fans. If you want a quiet drink in a bar forget it.
We walked the coastal path to the beach and the next resort one way, and the lighthouse the other way which was very pleasant. The coastal path actually goes all round the island.
There is a good and cheap bus service - we went to Ciutadella and then on to Mahon. Here you will see historic Menorca and both are worth the trip.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB_VALENTINHOTELS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review based on your recent stay here with us. We appreciate it when guests let us know their thoughts on their time at our hotel. We take every comment seriously to which it allows us to better where possible, to provide excellent service.

It is great to know you enjoyed the room with a sea view. Our rooms are nicely kept and spotlessly clean. Our cleaning team work hard at keeping our entire facility look immaculate. All our staff thanks you for your kind words of praise and are happy that their desire to make our guests feel welcomed has not gone unnoticed. It was a pleasure to have catered to you.

Our culinary choice is prepared fresh daily with the enjoyment of our guests in mind. Our chef looks to bring fresh quality produce for tasty meals. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and all we had to offer to start of the day. Our dinners are also prepared with care and served with pride. Thank you for your kind words. We apologize for any inconvenience while you were here and we take note to better our services.

Entertainment is offered nightly and our team loves to make their shows next to none. It is important to have good entertainment for our guests. They really try to cater to all and have a few shows ready to change often. We hope you enjoyed most of them. It is great to know you took the time to visit the Ciutadella and mingle with the locals. It is great fun to look around and get to know a bit of our history.

Thank you for choosing us for your holiday stay. We look forward to hosting you here again in the not so distant future.

Regards, Juan Dols and all the team at Valentín Star Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent hotel and great location. First time in an adult only hotel brilliant. Food was lovely plenty off choice. All members off staff where fantastic and good not do enough for you. The hotel even sorted us a birthday cake and put it in our room with champagne. Will be back

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB_VALENTINHOTELS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay here with us. It is greatly appreciated when guests post their thoughts on our hotel.

We want you to know that your words inspire us to keep doing an excellent work and your comments will be shared with the management and staff, it will sure encourage the whole team to keep doing an excellent job which ensures our guest the best vacation ever. Thank you for your compliments to all our premises. We are happy we were able to be part of your birthday making it a memorial one.

We hope you found your room to your liking. Our cleaning staff works hard at having each and every room looking spotlessly clean. We believe that a clean room and facility contribute to a nice relaxing stay.

Thank you very much for your word of praise for our staff and chefs. Our buffet is versatile and always offers fresh food. At breakfast, our live show cooks are happy to prepare fresh pancakes and omelets for you, and there are freshly squeezed juices ready for you to drink. Dinner times are special in that we offer a range of different theme nights with cooking shows. Our guests like to comment on our food as it is truly enjoyable. We are glad to have been able to also meet your expectations.

It is great to know that you are considering returning to be our guest. WE look forward to having you here in the not so distant future.

Kind regards, Juan Dols and all the team at Valentín Star Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here towards the end of September the weather was good but for 1 windy day. Most of the reviews say how fantastic the staff are and I agree. The hotel is spotlessly clean everywhere. Some people say that it’s a little dated but I think it is fine. No problem getting a sunbed and the pool is really nice. Now the dining, breakfasts not very good for the British, weird looking bacon and sausages although it might be just me and always cold,there was a good choice for the evening meal but again cold. Sometimes the table wasn’t cleared between courses.
The entertainment was really good compared to most other hotels we have been to.
Good choice for drinks but expensive (don’t buy a bottle of wine it’s cheaper for 4 glasses).

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB_VALENTINHOTELS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Peter,

It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our contented guests. Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to review our hotel. We are sure that not only we are thankful for your review but the Trip Advisor community because this will help many others to plan their vacations with more information.

You are right! Our staff is fantastic. We are happy you were able to experience this for yourself.
They look to cater to our guests and make them fell welcomed and at home. They treat each one as next to none and we know this is one of our highlights at our hotel. Thank you for your kind words of praise, we will make sure they are passed on.

Our rooms may not be fancy, but great care goes at making each one immaculately clean. Our cleaning team goes the extra mile to accomplish cleanliness in all the facility. We are happy you found your room to your satisfaction and that our facilities were pleasing to you.

We have taken note of your suggestions. It is very important for us to know our guests’ opinions, when it comes to planning menus and ingredients lots of time and effort are invested. Our guest tastes play an important part in the decision making process with regard to the improvements to be continuously made.

Thank you for your kind words for our animation team. They work hard every day to keep our guests entertained by preparing a light program that appeal to our guests of all ages and nationalities and they really are an asset of our hotel. We promise to relay your comments to them all and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your holiday. We hope to host you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards, Juan Dols and all the team at Valentín Star Hotel








Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second visit to the Valentin Star and all requests, in advance of our visit via email, were met with superb efficiency by Reception. We must give special sincere thanks to the Restaurant Manager, Vincente, who was SO polite and thoughtful as to our needs; also to Francesca and all the very pleasant restaurant staff. We must mention Joaquin cheerfully going up and down the ramp with his trolley. We developed a rapport!

The food again was excellent with an abundance of choice.

Our room and the cleanliness in and around the hotel was very good.

The Manager should be very proud of ALL his staff who continue to maintain the hotel’s reputation of efficiency and friendliness throughout.

With its first class position on the marina front and a good choice of entertainment every evening, it is definitely the best hotel in Cala’n Bosch.

We would like to wish everyone at the Valentin a wonderful holiday when the hotel closes at the end of this month.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB_VALENTINHOTELS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review based on your 2nd stay here with us. It gives us great satisfaction to read your comments. It is always a great boost for morale when we read of our customer satisfaction.

We know how important holidays are and the fact that our guests come to be well attended to and have a nice fun filled relaxing time. We think it is important for guest to feel welcomed and at home. Our professional friendly staff looks to make each guest feel next to none. We hope this was your experience while here with us. You have a special mention for Francesca, Joaquin and our restaurant manager Vicente; we will make sure they receive your words of praise. You are right! Our rooms are immaculately clean and our cleaning team goes the extra mile to accomplish cleanliness in all the facility. We are proud of our staff and they are the backbone of our hotel.

While away from home it is important to have a wide range of good tasting quality food. Our chef looks to prepare tasty dishes for our guests’ enjoyment. Our buffet is constantly replenished and there is always plenty for everyone. We are happy you enjoyed our culinary choices. It is our desire that our food be pleasing and well tasty for our guests. Our kitchen staff works hard at making sure we only use quality produce.

We hope you also enjoyed our entertainment. Our team works hard at preparing good activities on a daily bases and evening music. We hope you consider returning the 3rd time for another fun filled holiday and host you again in the not so distant future.

Kind regards, Juan Dols and all the team at Valentín Star Hotel




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been regular visitors to the Calan Bosc area for 20 years, though this was our first time at the Valentin Star.
This is the best hotel in the area by a long way.
From the welcome on arrival and throughout our stay the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly.
The food and facilities are first class, the entertainment much better than other similar hotels, and the bar prices comparable with the local bars around the marina.
A big Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable..
We will be back!!!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank sim660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LB_VALENTINHOTELS, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Valentin Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for a wonderful review based on your stay here with us. We appreciated our guests’ comments, and when we read yours it is a boost in morale. It is great to know you are considering returning for the 2nd time. It will be our pleasure to have you here again and cater to you.

We thank you for your kind words of praise towards our professional friendly staff. They really have a desire to make sure guests feel welcomed and at home while here with us. It is important to have a friendly smile and a kind gesture to feel comfortable and well received. Thank you for noticing and commenting, our staff is an asset to our hotel. We hope you also found your room to be clean and in good order. Our cleaning team looks to have everything looking spotless.

Our culinary choices are prepared with outmost care and our chefs look to pick only fresh produce when preparing our daily dishes. It is great to have plenty to choose from especially when traveling. We hope you found plenty of good tasting food available for you and had a good relaxing time at all your meals.

Entertainment is always picked with our guests in mind. We have a wide range of shows ready for our guests. It is quality, and tasteful entertainment which we desire to present on a daily bases. We hope you were able to enjoy your evening meals with a good repertoire of fine music while relaxing. The marina is also a nice place to be at in the evening. A good nightly stroll is always a good idea before calling it a day. We are happy you had a great time while here with us. We hope you come back again for another fun filled holiday in the near future.

Regards, Juan Dols and all the team at Valentín Star Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews