We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat.”
Review of Kiyomi

Kiyomi
Ranked #9 of 308 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Multi award-winning Japanese restaurant Kiyomi gained industry recognition just six months after opening – claiming a prestigious Chef’s Hat at the 2016 and 2017 Brisbane Times Good Food Guide Awards. With its cutting-edge Japanese fare and impressive drinks menu, Kiyomi has certainly taken fine dining up a notch – and even features a bespoke large-scale fluorescent UV art installation by Tokyo-based street artist Houxo Que aka Questa. Mouth-watering sashimi. Indulgent foie gras. Freshly shaken cocktails. With a menu created by visionary Executive Head Chef Chase Kojima, Kiyomi gives diners a modern, yet authentic taste of Tokyo (without the long haul flight). As you explore the innovative dishes and decadent drinks on offer, you’ll quickly see why Kiyomi has earned its reputation as one of the Gold Coast’s most most talked about restaurants
Restaurant details
Description: Multi award-winning Japanese restaurant Kiyomi gained industry recognition just six months after opening – claiming a prestigious Chef’s Hat at the 2016 and 2017 Brisbane Times Good Food Guide Awards. With its cutting-edge Japanese fare and impressive drinks menu, Kiyomi has certainly taken fine dining up a notch – and even features a bespoke large-scale fluorescent UV art installation by Tokyo-based street artist Houxo Que aka Questa. Mouth-watering sashimi. Indulgent foie gras. Freshly shaken cocktails. With a menu created by visionary Executive Head Chef Chase Kojima, Kiyomi gives diners a modern, yet authentic taste of Tokyo (without the long haul flight). As you explore the innovative dishes and decadent drinks on offer, you’ll quickly see why Kiyomi has earned its reputation as one of the Gold Coast’s most most talked about restaurants
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hands down, the best japanese food I have ever eaten. The freshness, presentation and flavors were like nothing else. Jordan, our waiter was super knowledgable and friendly and really looked after us. I was so grateful to Isaac, the Assistant Manager for his generous gift I recieved upon arrival to my special dinner with my daughter, and his attentiveness to our overall experience.
It was worth every cent. I will definitely be back. Can't fault it.

Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiyomiGC, Manager at Kiyomi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi Fiona G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We pride ourselves in offering attentive and personalized service to all of our guests. Your amazing feedback has been passed on to Jordan and Isaac.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018

Were looking forward to this place after amazing Japanese experiences in Auckland at Kazuya and Masu, but I'm sorry to say they couldn't get it right on the night.
Our group of 5 experienced the degustation menu, which didn't start well due to language difficulties, not with the asian staff, but with other ethnic staff. Most of the courses were very good, a couple were outstanding, but weirdly, the sushi which was 2nd to last was very ordinary. I would still have given them 4 stars but they lost another for dropping and breaking a pot of sake over our table which set of a chain reaction of broken and spilled drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whu Me A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiyomiGC, Manager at Kiyomi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi Whu Me A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We take pride in ensuring that every aspect of our experience is delivered perfectly and we are sorry to hear that in this instance we were not able to achieve this to your expectations. Your feedback has been passed on and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

If u are going to fuse Japanese food then u need to do it well. They have! We tried the $120 PP set course & it was generous, interesting, flamboyant, beautiful & importantly sooooo good. Was surprised by the toothfish ( never seen in OZ) which was delectable. From start to finish a sumptuous treat. A special note to the amazing superbly well orchestrated service. A definite return here.

Thank Kawa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiyomiGC, Manager at Kiyomi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hi Kawa47,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our modern Japanese cuisine, we work closely with our suppliers to bring unique and high quality produce to our guests. Your comments have been passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Our dinner at Kiyomi was certainly a treat!! The food was really delicious and fresh, and their flavour combos were clever and original. I'm vegetarian and there were plenty of choices, but I especially enjoyed the corn karaage. Their miso soup is also delicious! Their prices are high, but you get what you pay for - including amazing service. My dessert recommendation would have to be the doughnuts! Great drink selections too :)

Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KiyomiGC, Manager at Kiyomi, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hi Louise R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We take pride in providing a high quality offering regardless of dietary restrictions. We have passed on your positive comments to our team.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

What a way to start a Star Grazing night. Starting the night in Kiyomi with a glass of Moët and an absolutely amazing selection of delicious Japanese cuisine was by far the best start to a girls night ever. Tim was a great host and the chef was fantastic in his explanation of the food and it origin. This is an experience that I’d recommend and one I hope to experience again.

Thank Juanita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kiyomi also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Kiyomi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing