We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
397
68
27
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
397
68
27
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu the main house michelin star special occasion the kitchen classic menu petit fours manor house matching wines lovely grounds scallops for pre dinner drinks garden room background music from start to finish modern bathroom superb food
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

My husband and I spent two nights at Fischers at the beginning of our honeymoon. We had an extremely warm welcome and stayed in one of the very comfortable and spacious garden house rooms. Dinner on the first night was absolutely delicious with one of the best gluten free bread rolls I have ever tasted. On the next day we walked to Chatsworth for a fantastic day out and in the evening we ate at Rowley's, the pub in Baslow owned by the hotel. The food was delicious, again very accommodating of gluten free requirements, and the atmosphere was warm and cosy. We would highly recommend Fischer's at Baslow Hall to anyone as it is not only luxurious, but has a friendly and welcoming feel.

Room tip: The Garden House rooms were very large and beautifully decorated.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotpinkglasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

My wife and I come here a couple of times a year for lunch. Decided to stay the night for this special celebration. Chose to go with the Autumn taster menu and oh my, what an explosion of tastes with a little bit of theatre thrown in. A smoking dome over the venison and a cold "fog" creeping over the dish with the mint lollies, a gorgeous pallet cleanser.
The room was immaculate, we opted for the Rutland suite. (Well you're only 65 once). Relaxed atmosphere as always and the staff very attentive without being in your face. Loved every minute and will be back for lunch in the New Year.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic! Only word to describe our stay. From the moment we arrived, we felt cosseted and looked after. Lovely room, nice toiletries and bathrobes. Interesting info about the house and the Fischers in the room. Nespresso machine, sparkling and still water etc. Hotel is a lovely house, gardens a pleasure to walk around. The bar was really nice, enjoyed our pre drinks, and chose from the menu, had the tastes of autumn tasting menu - just fantastic we loved each course, beautiful to look at and eat. Good night. Breakfast the next day was excellent. Loved our stay! Only thing that could have made it better is a bigger bed (comfy but too small). We are already planning a return trip!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay at Baslow Hall. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Once again we had a fabulous meal at Fischer’s of Baslow. The setting is delightful, service excellent and food outstanding, as usual.

We have eaten many times at this restaurant over the years and the quality never varies. Long may it continue.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank B8124AGdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit to Fischer's. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

As a birthday treat for my husband (and a treat in general for me if we're honest!), we stayed overnight at Fischer's Baslow Hall and enjoyed their tasting menu at the Chef's Kitchen Table.

We genuinely could not rate this experience more highly - we had the most fantastic time. The hotel itself was lovely, with beautiful grounds. We stayed in a 'cosy' room, but it was the perfect size for one night. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable, with quite traditional decor.

While the hotel was nice, our reason for staying was really to have a meal in the restaurant, which we had been very excited about - and it didn't disappoint! We booked the eight course tasting menu, and it was just incredible. Every course was phenomenal - we kept thinking we'd found a new favourite, but then the next course came out and topped it! We absolutely loved everything we ate. We also did the wine pairing, which I would highly recommend - every wine we tried was delicious and went with the food perfectly, and we felt we had just the right amount.

The real highlight of the meal was the fact that we ate in the kitchen, at the chef's table. While I'd read a few reviews online, I didn't realise we would actually be IN the kitchen itself, away from the main restaurant and other guests, but we are so so glad that we were. The team were amazing - head chef Rupert was super friendly, and happy to answer any questions we had, no matter how silly. It was fantastic to see all the incredible looking meals being prepared in front of us, and we really loved the atmosphere - it was buzzy and lively, and just really interesting! They made us feel like part of the team for the evening, and even let us take a photo with them all, and gave us a little goodie bag to take away with us.

The service that we received from the rest of the staff was also just fantastic - our waitress Nicki was so lovely and friendly, very chatty and fun, and very knowledgeable about all the dishes. Once she found out that it was Nick's birthday, she went out of her way to make it a special experience for us, asking the chefs to sign a menu with birthday wishes, and sorting a birthday dessert plate out for him at the end of the evening (which we somehow managed to fit in even after all that food!).

In comparison to the fun of the kitchen, when we walked past the main restaurant on our way back out, it seemed very, very quiet and sedate. I don't think I would choose to eat in there myself, as it was SO hushed, although this may have been because it was only a Thursday night. Potentially it gets a bit more lively in there on a Friday or Saturday, but I'm not sure! It's probably a very nice one if you're in a big party, but if there's just the two of you then I'd say the kitchen is the place to be!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gemalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher P, Front Office Manager at Fischer's Baslow Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent visit to Fischer's. The team here are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews