We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
8
21
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
21
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerperfect stopovermy wifean en suite bathroomcomfortable bedovernight stoppizzaexcellent foodhilldinnercorridorfriendsspacebaviaanskloofchipsportionssauce
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We have eaten a few times at Ripple Hill and always enjoyed it - so decided to stay for 2 nights. Charming, very clean room. We explored several of the rooms and found they all have their own distinct character. Highly polished wooden floors and a mixture of old furniture and modern facilities. No rooms have TV (not that we miss it!). Very friendly staff and a pleasant atmosphere. Very comfortable bed and a quiet room. Corridor could do with more carpeting as footsteps echo as people walk past. Breakfast was ok, but you order the night before and have to make sure you are on time for breakfast! Evening meal on both evenings was very good - hake and chips the first night and large praws with rice and vegetables the second night - excellent although the sauce served with the meal was VERY hot!. Most tables in the restaurant have rather unique padded bench seats with a back that forms a beautifully made curved-top screen keeping the diners at one table separate from diners at other tables. A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Good day, Barry. Thank you for taking the time to do a write-up and for the 4-star rating!
Much appreciated. We take note of your comments, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Thanks for visiting!
Kindest,
Ripple Hill Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

My partner and I had a lovely stay at the Ripple Hill Hotel in Patensie. Clean, comfortable rooms with everything you need for a short stay. Nice bar area, and beautifully furnished. A charming accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank arnoldcbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for the 4-star review Mr Brand.
Much appreciated!
We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us.
Ripple greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed twice in this place in both my visits during the last couple of years in Patensie, I always had a good time although for a single noght at a time, food is nice and I also tried their pizza which I liked which for me Italian speak for itself, rooms are quite big, no TV screen by the way, large bathroom and comfy beds, the only down the noise wooden flooring when people walk in the corridor facing the rooms doors, this is a details which must be improved by the property.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Good day Stefano.
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated. And thank you for choosing Ripple Hill Hotel when staying over in Patensie.
Ripple greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We liked the friendliness of staff, the cleanliness of the rooms. Nice dinner, breakfast okay. Sadly we couldn't drive the Baviaanskloof - this was our reason to stay in Ripple Hill Hotel. The kloof was flooded, and our host even called to check if it was open again. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gertiev2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your 5-star rating!
Sad about the Baviaans being closed when you visited us (although very glad about the much needed rain). But now you do have a great reason to visit us again :-)
Kindest,
Ripple Hill Hotel, Patensie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We visited this restaurant with our friends from nearby Hankey.

Nicely set back from the main road, nice atmosphere, nice outside space and the food was really good. Its essentially a steak house but there was so much more on offer.

I had the surf and turf and the steak was perfectly cooked. My wife and our friends enjoyed their food. All were cooked excellently, all very tasty and the service was well beyond average and was decent value for money.

One warning though, if choosing to sit outside, arm yourself with anti-mosquito cream/spray. There were a good few outside on our visit but doesn't detract from the excellent food on offer.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nre M, Owner at Ripple Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Much appreciated.

Yip... it seems the dryer it gets, the more the mozzies bug us. So glad to hear that you enjoyed what Ripple Hill has to offer!

Have a great one,
Ripple Hill Hotel
Patensie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews