We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ribbonwood Country House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hanmer Springs Retreat(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larchwood Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scarborough Lodge Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harrogate Gardens Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Garden Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Hanmer Springs)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
61
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing viewswarm hospitalityjersey cowsgreat hostsmade us feelhomemade jamsmid weekattention to detailsouth islandmy partnergreat jobstayed longerevery aspectthanks guyshome grownplace to stayquiet countryside
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We stayed two nights at Ribbonwood
It truly was divine
The hos-pi-tal-i-ty and food
Oh gosh, 't was more than fine

As we approached the property
Our eyes beheld a treat
And then when welcomed by our hosts
We knew it would be sweet

The rooms so lush, so large so clean
The view out of this world
And as the time there passed us by
The magic, it unfurled

Chef Gary fed us food sublime
Home grown treats galore
And THEN, if we thought brekky great
Dinner was even more!

The jewel that Robert and Gary have
Needs shouting about real loud
We thank you both for our fab stay
PLEASE...of yourselves BE PROUD!!

This beautiful residence is just so tastefully appointed by two hosts who demonstrate total passion for what they do. Their desire to make their guests happy and comfortable is quite evident. Congratulations Robert and Gary...you are a shining example of top notch hospitality. We'll be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views. If you're tired/stressed/in need of pampering, you can even book a massage/facial etc.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaudeAshburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Ribbonwood Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Omg we are totally overwhelmed. That's so much for the poetic review - we had such a fun weekend while you stayed. Will we could have showed you around the property more but the weather wasn't playing ball - unlike the collies ( the ball has been found!)
We look forward to you return ! ( honestly, we really do!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We booked into Ribbonwood at short notice, driven inland by cyclone Gita. And we're delighted that we did, as we found welcoming hosts and comfortable rooms.
I don't think they publicize their cooking as much as they should on their website. The dinner they served on the second night was a masterpiece - much of it making use of their own produce, including the milk from their Jersey cows. Breakfast was pretty special too.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eynshamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Ribbonwood Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks Enyshamtraveller. And we were delighted you found us. The dinner option is a bit low key at the moment with it being available only part of the week until April so Gary is very pleased you were able to dine with us and that you enjoyed the meal.
I have passed on your feedback to the girls (cows).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

This was our first night in NZ on this trip- and what a treat. We drove up the narrow track, the views unfolding as we got higher. We were met by a very welcoming Robert who took us to our large and immaculate room with the most stunning vista of hills and farmland and our own deck. We relaxed before dinner - which was just delicious - Gary is a fantastic chef, so make sure you stay when he is cooking. The fish was beautifully breadcrumbed and cooked to perfection, with home grown vegetables. Breakfast was a real treat - home churned butter and yogurt (from the girls - 4 jersey cows that Robert looks after in the field below the house), home made toasted muesli, home made preserves from home grown fruit - (ask for a tour of the veg garden - it’s very impressive). Gary and Robert make great hosts who, with their beautiful collie dogs, cows and lovely home, make this a really special place to stay. Couldn’t recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: 3 rooms overlook the huge vistas of mountains and farmland - the rata room (red room) was huge, very comfortable, great bedding.
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CatherineGlickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Ribbonwood Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thanks heaps for your review CatherineGlickman. Gary and I hope that the rest of you visit to NZ turned out as well. We are very pleased you decided to stay here on the first day. The girls were especial pleased to hear that you enjoyed the butter from their milk however the dogs were a bit put out you left before their second ball chasing session!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

Absolutely brilliant stay. Everything is superp; the accommodation, food (you really should ensure you have dinner when staying), hospitality and knowledge of Gary & Robert-they are wonderful hosts. Stay at least 2 nights so you can really enjoy it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 7Robbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Ribbonwood Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Thanks 7Robbi
We really enjoyed having your group to stay. I particularly loved having some guests who also enjoyed gardening to show around and the dogs enjoyed having someone to play ball with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Our recognition to Gary and Robert for their warm hospitality are well overdue.
We had a beautiful perfect small wedding last January 2017 at Ribbonwood Country House!
The stunning mountain ranges scenery and the majestic views provided an astonishing wedding backdrop.
We and our friends thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious accommodations, the delicious wedding breakfast and sumptuous dinner that Gary cooked and prepared, And their service was impeccable. They handled our event with such expertise and grace !

They were quick to respond to all queries, accommodated our requests and gave excellent recommendations for florist and celebrant.
They were were beyond helpful in the planning process and made us feel like family the entire time we were there.
We could'nt be any happier with our decision on choosing Ribbonwood and with how everything turned out even with windy condition!
Gary and Robert, thank you again for making our day so wonderful and memorable. You are SUPERSTAR !

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cleofec563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Owner at Ribbonwood Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks Cleofec563 for your lovely review.
Your special day was special to us as well!
We are so pleased that your memories of the occasion are more than happy despite the wind - always good to have a plan b when dealing with mother nature. Thanks for choosing Ribbonwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews