We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Going to Arthur's Pass Wilderness Lodge was the best decision! The rooms have the best view to the mountains, the staff is friendly and professional and the food is amazing! This is a high class level place and the prices worth the experience! The best: the sheep tour and the rainbow track! Highly recommended!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pablo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Pablo,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with our team and that you appreciated the location, the walking trails, the food and the sheep farm.

Kind Wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Great location,amazing walking trails (especially after it has been snowing),wonderful food,warm comfortable rooms with great views over the flats to the snow capped mountains.
Greg,Nicola and Steven made sure our stay was memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melissaj652016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Melissa,

We really appreciate you sharing your review. Great that you enjoyed your time with Nicola, Greg and Steven, and that you were able to get out exploring after the snow.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

A beautiful lodge in a wonderful location staffed by absolutely great people who all went out of their way to assure we had a first rate experience--despite constant freezing rain. Those thoughtfully provided wellies and yellow slicker
not just to enhance the decor. Neither are the roaring wood stoves.

Very comfortable accomodations and by far the best chef imaginable. Everything he prepared, from breads to soups to desserts to a perfect rack of lamb, were world class. Steven would be the toast of the town in any great city anywhere in the world.

We came up by TranzAlpine and we're met by Greg who made it his business to look after us during our entire stay, to include giving us a brief driving tour at the end of our stay, showing us the little village chapel, the national park exhibit center with its American-style stage coach, and staying faithfully by our sides until the TranzAlpine back to Christchurch came roaring out of the tunnel and we were safely back on board.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear DC196,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience - we couldn't ask for a better review to start the 2017/18 season! Great to hear how much you enjoyed your time and we're glad the inclement weather didn't dampen your spirits.

Kind Wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We found this to be a lovely place. The lodge was modern and well maintained. It fits into the forest very well. The food was delicious. The hosts were very helpful. Greg is quite the naturalist and does twice daily free nature walks. There are numerous hikes in the area (from easy to hard). You can also get to the park via the alpine railway that runs between Christchurch and Greymouth (the lodge will pick you up from the rail station).

Room Tip: There are four apartment style rooms separate from the main lodge with private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Terry,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed the Lodge's setting, the food and the guided activities.

Kind Wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We felt at home at the Wilderness Lodge. The rooms were nice and clean, the food was absolutely wonderful and the staff was kind and helpful. We enjoyed our hikes around the property and day trips in the area. A bonus was a trip to the farm and feeding the sheep. Highly recommend this lodge to anybody wanting a peaceful, comfortable stay in a stunning area!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank hleisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Hleisie,

Thanks for your review. Our team works hard to make sure everyone feels at home so it is great to hear you describe the lodge in that one. Glad you enjoyed the farm, the food and the activities.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
11.8 km away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
270 reviews
10.5 km away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
209 reviews
12.6 km away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
#3 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
2 reviews
23.7 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#7 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
77 reviews
18.6 km away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: €297 - €386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing