We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
223
36
9
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
36
9
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki lamb new zealand merino wool other guests beech forest south island flora and fauna mountain view sheep station before dinner bird watching drying room additional cost knowledgeable guide the managers
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

A beautiful lodge in a wonderful location staffed by absolutely great people who all went out of their way to assure we had a first rate experience--despite constant freezing rain. Those thoughtfully provided wellies and yellow slicker
not just to enhance the decor. Neither are the roaring wood stoves.

Very comfortable accomodations and by far the best chef imaginable. Everything he prepared, from breads to soups to desserts to a perfect rack of lamb, were world class. Steven would be the toast of the town in any great city anywhere in the world.

We came up by TranzAlpine and we're met by Greg who made it his business to look after us during our entire stay, to include giving us a brief driving tour at the end of our stay, showing us the little village chapel, the national park exhibit center with its American-style stage coach, and staying faithfully by our sides until the TranzAlpine back to Christchurch came roaring out of the tunnel and we were safely back on board.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DC196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear DC196,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience - we couldn't ask for a better review to start the 2017/18 season! Great to hear how much you enjoyed your time and we're glad the inclement weather didn't dampen your spirits.

Kind Wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We found this to be a lovely place. The lodge was modern and well maintained. It fits into the forest very well. The food was delicious. The hosts were very helpful. Greg is quite the naturalist and does twice daily free nature walks. There are numerous hikes in the area (from easy to hard). You can also get to the park via the alpine railway that runs between Christchurch and Greymouth (the lodge will pick you up from the rail station).

Room Tip: There are four apartment style rooms separate from the main lodge with private balconies.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Terry,

Thanks for your review. We appreciate hearing that you enjoyed the Lodge's setting, the food and the guided activities.

Kind Wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We felt at home at the Wilderness Lodge. The rooms were nice and clean, the food was absolutely wonderful and the staff was kind and helpful. We enjoyed our hikes around the property and day trips in the area. A bonus was a trip to the farm and feeding the sheep. Highly recommend this lodge to anybody wanting a peaceful, comfortable stay in a stunning area!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank hleisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Hleisie,

Thanks for your review. Our team works hard to make sure everyone feels at home so it is great to hear you describe the lodge in that one. Glad you enjoyed the farm, the food and the activities.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This was our third stay at Wilderness Lodge, and the first time that we managed to stay for more than one night.

The lodge is sympathetically designed to its surroundings and is to be found nestled in between the trees. As a purpose built eco lodge, the whole building revolves around the fabulous views towards the front. We stayed in the Mountain View rooms, which are comfortable. The rooms are becoming slightly dated, but with views like those, you won't be paying attention to the decor! Having said that, all of the fittings are in good condition and there's everything that you need to enjoy your stay and a few extra touches to make it special (fresh flowers on the coffee table and fruit).

There is a programme of activities, which offers two inclusive activities a day and the option to pay for additional activities. We didn't make the most of these, choosing to explore some of the on property walks instead. Maps of the walks are provided at the Lodge and are well signposted. There are also wellies and drying facilities provided for days when the weather is cooperating!

The dinner was fantastic, as ever, which is quite a feat to accomplish, given how far away from everything the Lodge is. The home reared lamb is always particularly special. Following how much effort had clearly been put into the evening meal, breakfast felt a little disappointing. The food was still acceptable, but nowhere near the high standards set at dinner.

If you're looking a for a place to relax and enjoy nature, Wilderness Lodge is ideal.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer a little more privacy from the path running across the front of the Lodge
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MortimerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear MortimerUk,

Thanks for your comprehensive review. We really love hosting return guests so it does mean a lot to us hearing about your stay.

Thanks again and we would love to have you back for a fourth visit some day!

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Beautifully designed lodge in remote mountain forest location. We had limited time but greatly enjoyed the unusual trees, and other plant and bird life. Room comfortable, food good, staff as friendly and helpful as can be. If you find fast internet and smooth modern amenities essential to your existence, this is probably not the place for you. If like me you are happy to escape from those things for a while, this is strongly recommended as a place to visit

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Mb238,

It sounds like you really embraced your time in the wilderness with our team. Thanks for your review and we hope to be able to host you some time in the future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews