We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
225
37
9
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
37
9
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki lamb new zealand merino wool beech forest other guests south island flora and fauna mountain view sheep station before dinner nature walk castle hill drying room additional cost knowledgeable guide
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

We felt at home at the Wilderness Lodge. The rooms were nice and clean, the food was absolutely wonderful and the staff was kind and helpful. We enjoyed our hikes around the property and day trips in the area. A bonus was a trip to the farm and feeding the sheep. Highly recommend this lodge to anybody wanting a peaceful, comfortable stay in a stunning area!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hleisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Hleisie,

Thanks for your review. Our team works hard to make sure everyone feels at home so it is great to hear you describe the lodge in that one. Glad you enjoyed the farm, the food and the activities.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This was our third stay at Wilderness Lodge, and the first time that we managed to stay for more than one night.

The lodge is sympathetically designed to its surroundings and is to be found nestled in between the trees. As a purpose built eco lodge, the whole building revolves around the fabulous views towards the front. We stayed in the Mountain View rooms, which are comfortable. The rooms are becoming slightly dated, but with views like those, you won't be paying attention to the decor! Having said that, all of the fittings are in good condition and there's everything that you need to enjoy your stay and a few extra touches to make it special (fresh flowers on the coffee table and fruit).

There is a programme of activities, which offers two inclusive activities a day and the option to pay for additional activities. We didn't make the most of these, choosing to explore some of the on property walks instead. Maps of the walks are provided at the Lodge and are well signposted. There are also wellies and drying facilities provided for days when the weather is cooperating!

The dinner was fantastic, as ever, which is quite a feat to accomplish, given how far away from everything the Lodge is. The home reared lamb is always particularly special. Following how much effort had clearly been put into the evening meal, breakfast felt a little disappointing. The food was still acceptable, but nowhere near the high standards set at dinner.

If you're looking a for a place to relax and enjoy nature, Wilderness Lodge is ideal.

Room tip: Upper floors offer a little more privacy from the path running across the front of the Lodge
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MortimerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear MortimerUk,

Thanks for your comprehensive review. We really love hosting return guests so it does mean a lot to us hearing about your stay.

Thanks again and we would love to have you back for a fourth visit some day!

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Beautifully designed lodge in remote mountain forest location. We had limited time but greatly enjoyed the unusual trees, and other plant and bird life. Room comfortable, food good, staff as friendly and helpful as can be. If you find fast internet and smooth modern amenities essential to your existence, this is probably not the place for you. If like me you are happy to escape from those things for a while, this is strongly recommended as a place to visit

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Mb238,

It sounds like you really embraced your time in the wilderness with our team. Thanks for your review and we hope to be able to host you some time in the future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed a couple of days on our nz tour. Really in the middle of nowhere. Good accommodation, great food , good service, great staff. great trips and tours. Very eco , and very ,environment orientated . Which I liked.
Plenty to do around the resort walks , sheep farm oriented talks etc . Really good. My only complaint was the shower you had to run around to get wet, in between it flowing hot and cold, very disappointing.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andyjbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Andyjbale,

Thanks for sharing your experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the substandard shower experience, we will do some investigation of our services.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great experience. Lodge is new, clean and very accommodating. Tour of the sheep facility was perfect. Despite small size, the lodge did an awesome job of customizing meals for dietary restrictions. Hike around the property was like another world.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScottC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Scott,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the farm and the food. We would love to host you again one day.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews