We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true eco lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2017

This was our third stay at Wilderness Lodge, and the first time that we managed to stay for more than one night.

The lodge is sympathetically designed to its surroundings and is to be found nestled in between the trees. As a purpose built eco lodge, the whole building revolves around the fabulous views towards the front. We stayed in the Mountain View rooms, which are comfortable. The rooms are becoming slightly dated, but with views like those, you won't be paying attention to the decor! Having said that, all of the fittings are in good condition and there's everything that you need to enjoy your stay and a few extra touches to make it special (fresh flowers on the coffee table and fruit).

There is a programme of activities, which offers two inclusive activities a day and the option to pay for additional activities. We didn't make the most of these, choosing to explore some of the on property walks instead. Maps of the walks are provided at the Lodge and are well signposted. There are also wellies and drying facilities provided for days when the weather is cooperating!

The dinner was fantastic, as ever, which is quite a feat to accomplish, given how far away from everything the Lodge is. The home reared lamb is always particularly special. Following how much effort had clearly been put into the evening meal, breakfast felt a little disappointing. The food was still acceptable, but nowhere near the high standards set at dinner.

If you're looking a for a place to relax and enjoy nature, Wilderness Lodge is ideal.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer a little more privacy from the path running across the front of the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MortimerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear MortimerUk,

Thanks for your comprehensive review. We really love hosting return guests so it does mean a lot to us hearing about your stay.

Thanks again and we would love to have you back for a fourth visit some day!

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Beautifully designed lodge in remote mountain forest location. We had limited time but greatly enjoyed the unusual trees, and other plant and bird life. Room comfortable, food good, staff as friendly and helpful as can be. If you find fast internet and smooth modern amenities essential to your existence, this is probably not the place for you. If like me you are happy to escape from those things for a while, this is strongly recommended as a place to visit

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Mb238,

It sounds like you really embraced your time in the wilderness with our team. Thanks for your review and we hope to be able to host you some time in the future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed a couple of days on our nz tour. Really in the middle of nowhere. Good accommodation, great food , good service, great staff. great trips and tours. Very eco , and very ,environment orientated . Which I liked.
Plenty to do around the resort walks , sheep farm oriented talks etc . Really good. My only complaint was the shower you had to run around to get wet, in between it flowing hot and cold, very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andyjbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Andyjbale,

Thanks for sharing your experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the substandard shower experience, we will do some investigation of our services.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great experience. Lodge is new, clean and very accommodating. Tour of the sheep facility was perfect. Despite small size, the lodge did an awesome job of customizing meals for dietary restrictions. Hike around the property was like another world.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScottC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Scott,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the farm and the food. We would love to host you again one day.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This was our first time staying at a Wilderness Lodge. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They provided a sheep tour which was so informative and the food was superb. You get your choice to eat with other people staying at the lodge or have a dinner with just your group. We chose to eat with others and it was a wonderful way to meet people from other countries. The food was excellent especially the lamb dish. The lodge also provides other activities you can participate in if you so choose or you can just relax. I would recommend this lodge to anyone traveling in the area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Leanne,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. We really do appreciate it.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
11.8 km away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
270 reviews
10.5 km away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
209 reviews
12.6 km away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#7 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
77 reviews
0 km away
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
Arthurs Pass Motel and Lodge
#3 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
2 reviews
18.6 km away
Rata Lodge
Rata Lodge
#4 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: €297 - €386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing