We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
223
36
9
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
36
9
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sheep farm lake moeraki lamb new zealand merino wool other guests beech forest south island flora and fauna mountain view sheep station before dinner drying room additional cost knowledgeable guide the managers guided activities
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Beautifully designed lodge in remote mountain forest location. We had limited time but greatly enjoyed the unusual trees, and other plant and bird life. Room comfortable, food good, staff as friendly and helpful as can be. If you find fast internet and smooth modern amenities essential to your existence, this is probably not the place for you. If like me you are happy to escape from those things for a while, this is strongly recommended as a place to visit

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mb238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Mb238,

It sounds like you really embraced your time in the wilderness with our team. Thanks for your review and we hope to be able to host you some time in the future.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed a couple of days on our nz tour. Really in the middle of nowhere. Good accommodation, great food , good service, great staff. great trips and tours. Very eco , and very ,environment orientated . Which I liked.
Plenty to do around the resort walks , sheep farm oriented talks etc . Really good. My only complaint was the shower you had to run around to get wet, in between it flowing hot and cold, very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andyjbale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Andyjbale,

Thanks for sharing your experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the substandard shower experience, we will do some investigation of our services.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Great experience. Lodge is new, clean and very accommodating. Tour of the sheep facility was perfect. Despite small size, the lodge did an awesome job of customizing meals for dietary restrictions. Hike around the property was like another world.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScottC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Scott,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the farm and the food. We would love to host you again one day.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

This was our first time staying at a Wilderness Lodge. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. They provided a sheep tour which was so informative and the food was superb. You get your choice to eat with other people staying at the lodge or have a dinner with just your group. We chose to eat with others and it was a wonderful way to meet people from other countries. The food was excellent especially the lamb dish. The lodge also provides other activities you can participate in if you so choose or you can just relax. I would recommend this lodge to anyone traveling in the area. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172leannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Leanne,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review. We really do appreciate it.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This is a lovely lodge in a beautiful area along the road to the west coast. Our room was basic but had a lodge feel, with a very nice tea and coffee area. The main lodge area is very reminiscent of a ski lodge, with beautiful views of the valley below. There are hiking trails galore, and even an onsite naturalist to tell you about everything. The dinners were amazing! The kitchen created the best, freshest and most creative meals we had, and the service was impeccable. It was like fine dining in NY. You had a choice to eat with others or by yourself (we chose to mingle before dinner and eat on our own), which was a nice option. It was the first place we stayed after we arrived in NZ, and it set the tone for the whole trip.

Room Tip: Best views are on the second floor, but the first floor is much more accessible.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Kim,

Thanks for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on your compliments regarding the food to our chefs.

Kind wishes,

Anne Saunders and Dr Gerry McSweeney
Owner-Directors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews