We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
69
17
5
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
17
5
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place! Truly spectacular views, with a lovely, quiet atmosphere. The owner is also the architect and has created the place with love. It's spacious, clean and has a more sophisticated feel than other places in Mazunte. We were met by the very friendly owner, who suggested a great place to eat, and even gave us a lift into town. It's a 5 minute walk from the centre, and there are some steep steps but the views of the stunning beach and the sense of peace make it well worth the effort.

Every cabana room has been carefully and individually designed and has its own decking area. Spacious, with their own bathrooms, free wifi, and a beautiful open shared deck, it's a great place to come and enjoy the beautiful Pacific beaches of Mexico.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Manzalito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Casa Mermejita stood out from every other place I visited (and I visited quite a few) when looking for somewhere to stay in Mazunte/Mermejita recently. It's most striking feature is the beautiful architecture. Care and love and a sensitivity to the effect of space, shape and colour have gone into every aspect of the design, creating a luxurious, expansive feel that is at the same time very rustic and close to nature. The staff are friendly and respectful; there is a dalmatian pup to play with; and the view is, well, pretty much perfect. I spent four exquisite days relaxing, writing, meditating and practicing yoga here and felt like I could have stayed four years. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amongthewilddeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is really original and unique. I went with 4 more friends and stayed in the circular and square rooms.
The space is nice and the view is amazing. It was all really clean and the staff was really nice.
The downside is we were there while tropical storm "Manuel" was entering Mexico... so it was really raining and the 150 stairs to the hotel were a challenge... but it was a great experience! I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Circular room has an outside bathroom- great if you want to live the whole "natural" experience, otherwise choose any of the other rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alejandra r, Gerente at Casa Mermejita, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Karla house hotel name mermejita want to thank you for your comments and happy to see you in the next time, as all are welcome. Sure to be located on a hill have the best views, but you must climb it.

- But really worth it?
Thanks
Alejandra Quetzal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My sister and I stayed in the Oval house for 2 days in October and I have to say the view was MAGNIFICANT! A little on the rustic side which is what we were looking for..not your typical resort with tooo many people around you. The room was well appointed. The pool felt wonderful after long walks back and forth into town...very refreshing with a great view and so quiet!!
We happened to be the only ones there which made it even more relaxing. Brisma made a delicious dinner for us on our last night..beautiful personality! And the owners Jorge and Alejandra were very accomadating and very friendly couple. This could be classified as a Boutique hotel.
Jorge and Alejandra: Gracias por todo y el diseno de Casa Mermejita es muy raro y muy bonita

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMexicoAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Circle House at Casa Mermejita for four days as part of a 10 day trip to Oaxaca on our honeymoon. This is one of three houses that share a kitchen on Playa Mermejita, very near Mazunte, Oaxaca.

First, the good: the setting is incredible. The view of the ocean from the house is breathtaking and the beach is quite remote and private. We saw many beautiful birds from our patio, and the star-watching was just amazing! The houses are quite nice. Like any tropical setting, there are some ants and an occasional gecko, but the beds have mosquito netting, and we were able to sleep with our doors open without any problems. The staff cleans each house every day, and keeps the place nicely swept and tidy. All in all, you couldn't ask for a better tropical hideaway!

Except..... we made the mistake of renting just one of the houses. The other two were occupied by another party, and though they were nice folks, it was definitely not the private getaway that we hoped for. The kitchen is shared between all of the houses, and our entire patio was quite visible from the dining table. At times it felt like we were living with room mates! I would definitely recommend Casa Mermejita for a large group that wants to rent all three houses, but not for just one of the houses if you are looking for privacy. At the very least, I would recommend renting the square house or rectangle house, both of which have less of a view, but are a bit more private.

The other thing worth mentioning is that there is quite a climb up at least 40 stairs in order to get to the houses and kitchen from the parking. It's not too much if you're in reasonable shape, but it is definitely not handicap accessible.

Despite the lack of privacy we had a great time. Mazunte is a great little beach town, and Casa Mermejita is in an incredible setting with an amazing view. It's a close walk to the beach and to Punta Cometa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nutmeg618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews