We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pulled pork dinner I've ever had”

Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #16 of 183 Restaurants in Hitchin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Restaurant food served: Mon - Fri: 12:00 - 14:00 18:30 - 22:00 Sat: 09:30 - 11:15 12:00 - 22:00 Sun: 09:30 - 11:15 12:00 - 18:00 Food is available outside of the hours from the Bar. Coffee shop open: Mon - Fri: 07:00 - 17:00 Sat: 08:30 - 17:00 Sun: 10:00 - 16:00
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Masie our waitress tempted 3 out of 4 of us to go off-piste with one of the specials which was pulled pork burger with slaw an skinny fries. It was the best I've ever tasted. Also had hallloumi side, and she even talked us all into deserts which were equally as good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACInns, General Manager at Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

So pleased you were tempted and tried our pulled pork specials dish and really enjoyed the experience. Come back soon and try another special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,123 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on Saturday night and it was busy, the service was efficient and the food was excellent. What cannot be left unsaid was the absolutely dire background music, which eventually drove us out of the place, rather than continuing with drinks at the bar.

It was like a cross between ‘Chas and Dave’ and Shaggy, with a bit of Sting on side....

We listen to a pretty eclectic set of music, but this overwhelmed the whole meal.

Thank RichardDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACInns, General Manager at Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your very kind excellent food and efficient service review. We have taken on board your comments regarding the music. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Such good coffee and amazing staff!! The breakfasts are amazing and the place itself is beautiful! Worth going 100%

Thank Tommie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACInns, General Manager at Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your 100% review, we agree the coffee is fabulous as are our staff. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

I don’t know how this place calls itself a medertiran restaurant. The menu is just a hotchpot of ingredients that do not compliment each other at all and not a hint of garlic anywhere. I couldn’t believe that a sauce choice for a steak was marmite butter or that they would ruin a sea bass with lobster bisque.
Ok if you like bitter sour food or apricot jam with chicken.
Wouldn’t recommend as very overpriced for what you get and very very noisy.

5  Thank HJR156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine C, Manager at Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We’re actually not a Mediterranean restaurant but have realised from your review that that this what Google describe us as so we will get that changed. We’re sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit as we pride ourselves on the quality of our dishes and hope that this doesn’t deter you from visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We were invited here by friends who were treating us to an evening meal. The food is excellent and the service matches. This has to be one of the busiest places I've ever eaten at. There's a bar area adjacent to the restaurant which was equally crowded. The building itself was once used as a dance hall and this means a rather high ceiling, so the noise levels are high and not to everyone's taste.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACInns, General Manager at Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with friends at Heritage Rd Bar & Restaurant and so pleased you enjoyed excellent food and service. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Little Wymondley, Hitchin
 

Been to Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;