We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Corail Residence
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Luce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2017

After our initial disappointment that the Hotel Corail Residence was several kilometres outside the town, we were actually pleased as Sainte-Luce held little attraction. Sainte-Luce was a big disappointment compared to any of the other small towns and villages at which we had stayed during three weeks driving round Martinique.
The room was well furnished and decorated and the bathroom had obviously been recently upgraded, it was very nice although small and lacking any hooks. Not all the rooms would have good sea views, ours in the older building was better than most, with the roof of the restaurant in the foreground but the ability to watch the sunset over Le Diamant. We had neither breakfast nor the weekend lunch but dinner was good although, after a couple of nights of the same menu, the choice did feel rather limited. The little beach close to the hotel was lovely and, although popular, not too crowded, even at the weekends.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new building would have better views than most in the original one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

This is a very clean, friendly, efficient & fun place to stay. Service is wonderfully fun, friendly & helpful and the whole place is very clean & well kept. Breakfast is only continental and dinner pretty limited.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mwomble848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in March and overall enjoyed our stay. The hotel is a very good value - we paid about $100/night for a clean room, comfortable bed, and kitchen. The staff are also very friendly and helpful in answering any questions you might have. In addition, the hotel happens to have one of the best restaurants on the island (certainly the best one we ate at anyways!) If you are thinking of staying at this hotel here are a few things to note:

-Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor - we were on the 1st floor (Antigua room) and we did not really have a good view of the sea

-You will need to rent a car - there is a beach next to the hotel that is ok but otherwise you are pretty isolated so a car is necessary to get around.

-Overall the kitchen is a nice feature but it does not come with any of the basics (salt, pepper, oil, coffee, etc.) so if possible I would opt to take these items with from home if space permits in your suitcase. The coffee maker was also a disappointment as it is one of those mini ones that works by the cup and was constantly leaving a mess of grinds and water everywhere after every use. If you like your coffee and space allows I would pack along a french press and use that in place of what the hotel provides.

-Don't pay 12 Euros (with tax comes to 14 Euros) for the breakfast the hotel provides - way over priced for yogurt, pastries, and meats/cheeses. We tried the breakfast the first day but then just ended up going to the grocery store and stocked up for the remaining days.

-We found an express grocery store that is pretty close to the hotel - from the hotel follow the road back up to 'D7' and take a right. About a 1 and a half miles or so down the road (and past the Karib hotel) there will be a little express carrefour grocery store on the left.

-Make sure to try the restaurant at least once - you will note regret it! It might seem pricey but remember that tax and tip is already included. Plus, the food is so high quality that compared to the US you are getting quite a bargain - to eat this well in the US we would have to spend at least twice as much.

-Wifi doesn't work in the rooms - you will need to use it in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank takiekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Overall, this hotel was a good choice. We did not rent a car, my friend and I are too terrified of driving in foreign countries and this didn’t end up hurting us too much. The hotel staff connected us with Charly, a taxi driver and he was a delight. The cab fare to get “in town” will cost you about 15 Euros each way. The hotel is about 20 minutes away from the airport. These trips became the delight of our trip, be sure to try the Baraque Obama restaurant and the grilled lobster (I’m still dreaming about it) and the ribs from another local restaurant, unfortunately I cannot remember the name. So while the hotel was clean, I was a little put off by the smell of the linens, specifically the towels. I love fabric softener and Tide, and something about the towels did not smell fresh. Also, ladies! Be sure to pack a converter for electricity or you will be in trouble. Gratefully, the hotel staff provided a few so that we were able to charge our phones, this thought had completely slipped my mind in preparation for the trip. So the hotel owns dogs. And while I am not necessarily a fan of animals, I tolerate them, but dogs walking around the restaurant during breakfast, around the food and free to roam sort of disgusted me, including waking up to see people literally bathing their dog in the pool one morning! I did not swim for the rest of my trip. Our favorite part of the trip was Tebow. He was so friendly, professional and helpful. He gave us suggestions regarding what to do with our days and was there to assist us whenever we needed. Thanks for everything Tebow. Oh and I can’t forget to mentioned the food…the restaurant at dinner was the best! I had the beef tenderloin and my friend had the scallops, simply amazing. However—the breakfast is overpriced and not good. The only options were small pieces of meat, cheese, croissants and halfway boiled eggs. For $12 you can go in town, go grocery shopping and make your own delicious breakfast as we did our second morning. The hotel is a close walk to the beach (that wasn’t as clean as I would have liked) and the staff and guests were warm and friendly. Oh and one more thing, as other reviewers have mentioned, wifi is only available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaraDaisy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed at Hotel Corail for 6 nights and can't say enough good things! Our room, the St. Barthelemy, was well decorated and offered stunning views of Diamond Rock and the sunset every night. The room itself was lavender with a large bathroom and kitchenette with a table and two chairs on the patio, which can be open air or closed off. A gift basket is also waiting upon your arrival containing sugar cane from the island, local products and (if you are in a suite) rhum! The room also had a nice AC unit, which was great when coming back from a day at the beach. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant, Le Mabouya, which has ocean views and offers excellent cuisine and fun cocktails. The beach, Anse Mabouya, was a quick walk away and offered a more low key vibe than some of the other, more touristy beaches on the island. The hotel also offers a pool and hot tub, although we did not use either during our stay.

The best part of the hotel has to be the staff. The small group of incredibly hard working individuals is what makes Hotel Corail such a success! As two American travelers who knew only a small bit of French, we felt very comfortable here as the staff was able to communicate well with us. They are also incredibly helpful; on more than one occasion the staff, led by owners Julie and Pascal, went out of their way to make reservations for us for excursions and restaurants around the island. Their suggestions were always wonderful and we truly enjoyed the high level of hospitality they provided. The personal feel of the hotel definitely contributed to its high rating.

Thank you again for a wonderful stay!! We can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: St. Bart's room was wonderful with excellent views of Diamond Rock and the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kellymarks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Luce
14.3 km away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,080 reviews
13.6 km away
La Suite Villa
La Suite Villa
#2 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
359 reviews
6.9 km away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 4 in Le Diamant
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Hotel Bambou
Hotel Bambou
#3 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
798 reviews
33.1 km away
French Coco
French Coco
#1 of 3 in Tartane
103 reviews
0.8 km away
Karibea Resort Sainte Luce Amyris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corail Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corail Residence

Address: Quartier Anse Mabouya, Sainte-Luce 97228, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Sainte-Luce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Luce
Price Range: €94 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Corail Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CORAIL HOTEL RESIDENCE overlooks the Caribbean sea above a magnificient white sand beach, the Anse Mabouya. The Residence is located in a very quiet environment with a splendid view of the sea and the famous Diamond Rock. The south of martinique is well known for its beautiful beaches and numerous water activities.The CORAIL Hotel Residence comprises 26 units distributed over two buildings. All the studios are equipped with: individual regulated air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corail Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karibea Corail Residence Sainte Luce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing