We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$170
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seehotel Grauer Baer(Kochel am See)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landhotel Herzogstand(Kochel am See)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenpark(Kochel am See)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Gastehaus Seehof(Kochel am See)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Berg Blick Hostel(Kochel am See)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Waldfrieden(Kochel am See)
Booking.com
View Deal
Gastehaus Egner(Kochel am See)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
5
16
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
16
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are staying every year in July in this family hotel for a couple of days. I enjoy the atmosphere, the small terrace and the breakfast buffet. Although the bathroom is very small but the rooms are clean and with everything you need: TV, kettle, telephone, and free Internet access (sometimes very weak signal). Looking forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the garden side are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigitte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed there for two nights in the summertime, in August. The hotel is a small, non-luxury family hotel. It is not located at the lake but on the main village road close to the train/bus station. The village is small however and everything is just a 5-15 min car or bicycle ride away. The room we got was really small which became a problem on the first day when it rained. It was nicely but not excitingly furnished with what we thought was IKEA furniture. The walls were very thin so you could hear your neighbor. This did not become a problem: The guests typically staying at the Waltraud are average nice German families that are busy during the day cycling, hiking, taking a boat trip and go to bed early. Breakfast is served in a big hall-like breakfast room that apparently was the pub room in earlier days. Breakfast was ok and also allowed some healthy choices (fresh fruits, fresh vegetables, cereals, several choices of bread). What we do not know is whether the road brings in a lot of traffic noise. The road was blocked due to construction work. So we enjoyed two calm nights. On the other hand, nighttime traffic in this village should not be too excessive, so possible not a problem even if the road is open. The service personnel is not friendly in this outgoing, sometimes overwhelming American way but in a more introverted way as you find it a lot in Germany. Does this hotel feel cozy? No - it lacks sbd who gives the hotel a consistent interior design. Should you book a full week? No - but it is an acceptable choice if you want to stay one or two nights during a bicycling tour and do excursions during the day.

Room Tip: Hotel has smaller and bigger rooms: Try to get a bigger one that is not facing the road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is a traditional Bavarian Gasthof with helpful staff.
The rooms are clean and spacious with all the facilities needed, our room had an outside balcony with a lounger.
Breakfast was buffet style , with a very helpful chef who made omelettes if required.
Kochel am See had several other restaurants but I would recomend the Italian restaurant on the road towards the lake , very nice!!
This Hotel and this area is a very good base to explore the area around Garmisch without having to pay high prices.
The train station is directly oppostie the hotel and a supermarket 200 yards down the road.

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is a plus
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittykatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We went to Garmisch-Partenkirchen for ski as 2 couples but since we were a little late with the bookings we just had the choice to stay in this guesthouse and we didn't expect much from it.
It is nice, clean and cozy hotel but we just went there to sleep and got out after the breakfast which was nice.
The first little disappointment was that we were given 2 rooms with 2 separate beds but as married couples we put them together at arrival. We could do it but our friends couldn't since their beds were glued to the wall.
The ventilation in the bathroom (mini mini bathroom) was so loud it hurt my ears in the morning. (good way to wake you up though).
The amenities in the bathroom are terrible! Please bring your own shampoo if you can!
Except that it's a simple cozy place to sleep without expecting too much from the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandamonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALTRAUDKochelamSee, Geschäftsführer at Gasthof-Hotel Waltraud, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Gäste,

es tut uns leid dass Sie enttäuscht waren dass die Betten separat standen, doch Sie hatten über das Buchungsportal die Kategorie Zweibettzimmer mit separaten Betten gebucht. Die Lüftung im Bad wurde überprüft und repariert. Es wäre schön wenn Sie uns direkt angesprochen hätten denn wir hätten Ihnen auch ein Zimmer mit Doppelbett anbieten können.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews