We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
8
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent two nights with Maryke in her lovely home. The electricity went out the first night and Maryke went out of her way to make our stay completely comfortable!!! She was constantly positive, friendly, and upbeat and even browned our breakfast toast over the fire! The electricity came back on the next day. Maryke's home is spotless and she knows the area so well! She works at the tourist information center and can provide all kinds of helpful tips about local activities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Only one room available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great stay room with fantastic en suite perfect after a long walk. That view out over the river & up the mountains I just loved it.
Maryke was a perfect host, as a single lady traveller I was very comfortable. There is a sunroom/verandah adjacent for use. The sight and sound of the river delightful, as was Maryke's suggestions for walks, attractions and breakfast served in the main house. I will be staying again next visit to the Nth Island for sure. Thanks Maryke

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyallen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great place to stay or break your journey. We had a lovely en-suite room, overlooking the river and access to the balcony and garden.
Maryke was a perfect host and very knowledgeable about the area.
Lovely breakfast.

Great place for walking (volcano tracks), fishing and cycling - skiing in winter.

Thanks for a lovely stay - hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This accomodation is a self contained, ensuite room attached to the main house and with it's own private deck and sitting out area. The property is situated on the opposite bank of the river from the town but only a few minutes drive as opposed to yards as the crow flies. We were welcomed by Maryke who proceeded to make us a pot of tea accompanied by homemade muffins. The bed is luxurious! The room has aircon, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities with bottles of wine for purchase at a very reasonable rate. The continental breakfast is served in the family kitchen/dining room. This was plentiful and varied and the homemade jams were delicious. We benefitted from Maryke's local knowledge and used a restaurant that she both recommended and booked for us which was excellent. An added bonus was free wifi. This is a great place to stay and, because they only have one room available, you receive the hosts undivided attention. Thank you Maryke and Leslie.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The hosts were very friendly and informative about the local area. We enjoyed the access to the garden and the conservatory and appreciated the provision of good TV channels
and WiFi. The beakfast was slightly disappointing, but overall the stay was very good value for money. This would be a particularly good bet for fishing enthusiasts and anyone who likes idyllic views of trout fishing with mountains as a backdrop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews