We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and sunsets to write home about”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The first thing you notice about Oreti Village is the lovely way the lodges nestle into the landscape, with the native timbers, tranquil native bushland surrounding each lodge, with extraordinary views of Lake Taupo.
The sunsets are simply extraordinary across the lake viewed from the comfort of your deck... the same one that allows beautiful views of the lake first thing each morning as the day breaks. Each lodge is so private there's no hesitation in leaving the curtains drawn back to allow the day to unfold as sleep departs.

The restaurant offers outstanding food in the evenings, the relaxation element is just perfect for the busy couple or family wanting to truly feel like they took a break - anytime of year.

Room Tip: Akd for a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dixiemc2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thanks Dixie for the great review!!
We are glad we didn't disappoint !
See you again soon!
Best Wishes,
Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2017

Always wanted to escape from the hustle and bustle of Auckland. My friends from Australia invited me to join in for a couple of nights stay at this property with them and voila what an experience it was.

Property is located around 15 minutes drive from Turangi at a very peaceful and secluded, yet an accessible place. The rooms were cozy and well presented and had all the amenities in place. Great view of the lake and the mountains beyond, just added that extra touch to a wonderful experience that I had there.

Will surely book this property for my next visit there and shall definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful! Stunning! Mesmerizing! Do not have enough adjectives to describe the experience... Fully Self contained accommodation in Turangi is the ideal getaway for the explorers of North Island.... Good driving distance from Rotorua and also Mount Whakapapa... Lake views to die for! Summer is the best season to visit. Relaxes you like no spa or massage can!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Deepesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights as we explored New Zealand's North Island. The apartment was well laid out and had the most incredible view of the lake. We had planned to do the alpine walk but sadly it was rained off.

There were some great facilities at the resort and the restaurant had a great menu which provided one of the best meals of our trip.

Each apartment was well equipped and had its own laundry facilities.

The only negative point we had was the the bathroom needed some maintenance; the shower screen leaked and the tiles needed re-grouting as there was some mildew.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MH992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Thanks for your Great Review, Will advise the maintenance team of your comments .
Many thanks Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

If you are in need of a great escape then this is definitely the place to stay. It is about 20 minutes from Turangi in the middle of no where making it the ideal place to really enjoy the surrounding. Surrounded by Native Flora and Fauna you can really step away from the hustle and bustle of city life. We really enjoyed our stay and the service was outstanding. It was as though we had the entire place to ourselves. We had a two bedroom Luxury apartment and the views were unreal. The decor is a bit outdated but other than that the place is a great chance to recharge the batteries. We are already planning our return.

Room Tip: I would suggest a Balcony view room to really appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ashlee1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
38.9 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,181 reviews
35.9 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
38.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
9.4 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
9 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: €128 - €200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing