We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oreti Village. The apartment was spacious with two separate rooms and a very big, well-stocked kitchen. The view of the lake was outstanding, both in the daytime and at night. It was great to make use of the laundry facility (included free soap).

Some things are good to know: the wifi was very bad. We received three wifi codes for 500MB per person, which would ordinarily be fine. However two of the three us had the accounts drained almost immediately and it cost $10 to buy a new one. The wifi connection itself was very bad as well and kept dropping.

Also it is good to know that the location is quite secluded. The closest town, Turangi, is about 15 minutes down the road. There is only one walking trail and it is not well maintained.

Room Tip: Pick up groceries before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liss_B02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2016

This unit is fairly spacious but good for a family rather than two couples because there is only one on-suite bathroom. Living area is very nice and kitchen pretty big.Main bedroom is a nice size and bathroom is very basic. Nice view from the veranda overlooking the lake. Position is fairly remote from basic services and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank udihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Stunning views over the lake. Lovely people turned on heat pump to warm up the room before we arrived.
Would have loved some bowls as had to use a pot to whisk eggs, knives need to be sharpened, a few dishes needed washing before we could use them and the shower is made for short people I kept hitting my head on shower head trying to bend down to wet my hair. the thing that did put a downer on our stay was the final morning having the smoke from the people under use come in our windows which then upset the little ones breathing due to having asthma but overall it was a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank LucyT_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Oreti village is peacefully located a short drive from Turangi and boasts splendid views across the lake immersed in lush NZ bush. The apartments are well appointed for a family of 4 with two bedrooms, bathroom and full kitchen. This was ideal for us as we wanted to cook our own dinner at night after a day skiing. The kitchen and bedrooms were clean and comfortable, if not a little dated. The bathroom was my only gripe as it hadn't been adequately cleaned between guests, and the apartment was freezing when we arrived as it was the middle of winter and unfortunately air con hadn't been turned on, which, however, management apologised for. Beds were comfortable, and the best thing was waking up early and watching the sun rise over the lake from the balcony.
The Village is close enough to Whakapapa to use as a tranquil base for skiing especially with a small family. However due to the adjoining stairs to the apartment below, you are at the mercy of other guests and our last night was disturbed by other guests' children children running up and down the internal stairs banging on our door at 5am.
Definitely recommend as ideal for weekend break for couples or small families.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed well positioned for views over lake. Would recommend rooms without adjoining intern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelle64637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Booked there for 4 nights before heading home, good range for money. The apartment with two bedrooms and balcony was big enough for the two of us and it'll be good for families too. Peace and quiet, we just loved it. Going to bed at night with the moonlight shines through your bedroom window was a view to die for. Beautiful scene throughout the day. Oohh the restaurant, the Chef is brilliant! All the foods were deliciously lovely. Definitely would go back there xx

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmasterBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
38.9 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,181 reviews
35.9 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
38.1 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
9.4 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
9 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: €128 - €201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing