We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
103
45
13
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
45
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake taupotennis courtsview of the lakeindoor poolself cateringnew zealandspacious apartmentconvenience storesplit levelfamily weddingon site restaurantpeace and quietlocal informationsouth endfull kitcheninformation centrewashing machine and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This unit is fairly spacious but good for a family rather than two couples because there is only one on-suite bathroom. Living area is very nice and kitchen pretty big.Main bedroom is a nice size and bathroom is very basic. Nice view from the veranda overlooking the lake. Position is fairly remote from basic services and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank udihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Stunning views over the lake. Lovely people turned on heat pump to warm up the room before we arrived.
Would have loved some bowls as had to use a pot to whisk eggs, knives need to be sharpened, a few dishes needed washing before we could use them and the shower is made for short people I kept hitting my head on shower head trying to bend down to wet my hair. the thing that did put a downer on our stay was the final morning having the smoke from the people under use come in our windows which then upset the little ones breathing due to having asthma but overall it was a nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank LucyT_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Oreti village is peacefully located a short drive from Turangi and boasts splendid views across the lake immersed in lush NZ bush. The apartments are well appointed for a family of 4 with two bedrooms, bathroom and full kitchen. This was ideal for us as we wanted to cook our own dinner at night after a day skiing. The kitchen and bedrooms were clean and comfortable, if not a little dated. The bathroom was my only gripe as it hadn't been adequately cleaned between guests, and the apartment was freezing when we arrived as it was the middle of winter and unfortunately air con hadn't been turned on, which, however, management apologised for. Beds were comfortable, and the best thing was waking up early and watching the sun rise over the lake from the balcony.
The Village is close enough to Whakapapa to use as a tranquil base for skiing especially with a small family. However due to the adjoining stairs to the apartment below, you are at the mercy of other guests and our last night was disturbed by other guests' children children running up and down the internal stairs banging on our door at 5am.
Definitely recommend as ideal for weekend break for couples or small families.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed well positioned for views over lake. Would recommend rooms without adjoining internal stairs if there are any.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank michelle64637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Booked there for 4 nights before heading home, good range for money. The apartment with two bedrooms and balcony was big enough for the two of us and it'll be good for families too. Peace and quiet, we just loved it. Going to bed at night with the moonlight shines through your bedroom window was a view to die for. Beautiful scene throughout the day. Oohh the restaurant, the Chef is brilliant! All the foods were deliciously lovely. Definitely would go back there xx

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmasterBALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Stayed at Oreti for 3 nights. The views are fantastic and our unit was positioned for awesome morning sun and views looking up to Taupo. It was peaceful and the birds were everywhere which was a great sign that the traps laided around the property were keeping the rat and other nasty animals away. It had been a while since we were last there. The beach down the road at Pukawa was brilliant and swimming was great, not too cold for that time of year.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews