We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverstone Backpackers
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by how cosy and funky this backpackers is. Really cool double bedrooms, great outdoor area and cosy kitchen and living room. Laidback and just a comfortable, nice place to stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoochy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Riverstone Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at Riverstone Backpackers with overseas friends and we did the Crossing. What a great facility, amazing quality and great service with knowledgeable host. Will definately be back soon,

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philpickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

I stayed there to get some personal time with the local trout. What a great location & lovely spot. Into the wild we go ... but with some style & comfort!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmhaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Still a really nice place to stay. I stayed here two years ago on my own and returned here this year with my boyfriend and it was great to see the standards are as high as ever. It’s really clean and the kitchen is well equipped and even organised so you can find things! The owners have made a really effort on the recycling front and make it easy to do. It is really pleasantly decorated and furnished and has a nice decked area out the back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bozo_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and can highly recommend it. The 4-bed room was a tad on the small side, but with a super confortable bed. We slept extremely well. The bathroom is kept very clean, has great powershowers and warm water. The kitchen is large, and well equipped. There is a very nice, cozy living, good wifi, and a lovely garden and bbq. The couple running the place are friendly and very helpful in arranging your stay (tips, booking transport to the crossing, etc). Small details made all the difference to us, like the hostess bringing in my laudry when it started raining so it wouldn't get wet. It made us feel welcome. Only small point they could improve on is giving the kitchen a quick wipe at night so that it is clean at breakfast. Other than that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
33.5 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
0.8 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 km away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
0.6 km away
Judges Pool Motel
Judges Pool Motel
#6 of 9 in Turangi
132 reviews
0.9 km away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Backpackers

Address: 222 Te Rangitautahanga Road | Waikato, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range: €40 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Backpackers Turangi is an independently owned and operated boutique lodge & hostel, offering quality Tongariro accommodation, up to date information, and transport for exploring the Tongariro Crossing and the Tongariro Region. We have modern facilities and a homely and relaxed atmosphere. There are native gardens, flash kitchen and a large deck and in winter often an open fire. Riverstone is frequently rated by BBH Backpackers and on TripAdvisor Specialty Lodging, as the very best Tongariro Crossing accommodation. Top Rated Accommodation BBH 94% 2016 Trip Advisor 94% 2016 Lonely Planet 'Top Choice' 2016 Free WIFI Tongariro Crossing Shuttle Modern Facilities Best Information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riverstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing