We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
413
17
8
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
17
8
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubglass of champagnebell towerdining tableliving roomhonesty barthe main housemaxi barprivate terracebath bombsroom barhonor barsupermarket pricesthought of everythingside by sidegrand pianocourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

In this world of hustle and bustle and a desire to have more for less it is gratifying to find a hotel that goes against the grain and prides it’s self in shear uncompromising service.

It took a journey of over 10 hours by train taxi and car from our home to reach the haven of peace nestling in the hills just above Glencoe in the Western Highlands of Scotland. It was the Glencoe House hotel.

It was worth every minute of the journey. I had chosen this property from many as a place to take my good friends from New Zealand one of which had never been to Scotland and the other a seasoned hotelier of over 4 decades. A big responsibility!!

We soon realized why it was to called a House rather than a hotel as the welcome was one more akin to being welcomed into an exclusive private home.

As we alighted from our car we were welcomed by Roger dressed in full highland attire, and shown to the spectacular hall were a sparkling glass of Champaign awaited us.

As the baggage and car was spirited away, we had a pleasant 10 minutes hearing the history of the hotel and surroundings. This made the stay seem even more intimate. With just 8 suites available we soon found ourselves in Suite 8 on the ground floor enjoying the delights of a comfortable sofa and chairs clustered around a fireplace. There was a dining table for 4 in the bay window overlooking the Loch and mountains beyond. To ensure we could both relax in a hot tub there was a choice of 1 bath in the bathroom one in the bedroom and a hot tub on a huge veranda overlooking the garden and the mountains beyond. The veiw was simply stunning.
The suite had only recently been finished and had the feel of a home from home with an antique sideboard bristling with local brews all available on an honor basis. Most surprising was that the price was “supermarket” price. This encouraged us to try some of the amazing local Whiskies and Gin available.

After a brief walk around an exquisite Lakeland garden enjoying the breathtaking views we settled down to an intimate evening meal with our friends in our suite. This is encouraged in all the suites and only adds to the intimacy of the place. In room service was not like most hotels with everything on a trolly. This was full on silver service, by the most charming staff, of each delicious course arrived.

Sadly our stay was just for a night so after a very full and excelent Scottish breakfast in our room, served with the same attention to detail, we continued our Scottish adventure.

There is absolutely no doubt that "we will return", for a longer stay one day soon.

Whilst it could be said to be expensive, staying at the Glencoe House is rather like buying a Rolls Royce, if you need to know how many miles to the gallon it does, you can't afford it!! My advice is "save up" you won't be disapointed.

Room Tip: Suite 8 if you don't like stairs, you can sneak in the back door.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovimorecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We feel quite overwhelmed by your feedback and it gives us heart that we are going in the right direction. It was always our intention to create the 'homes' rather than hotel rooms as hotels can be quite impersonal. This tone should carry through to the service and the team seeks to give a genuine welcome and to share their knowledge of the house and the local area. We are delighted that the service struck the right note with you. We are also glad that you tried some of our malt whisky and Scottish gin; it all adds to the holiday feeling!

We look forward to welcoming you back and the champagne will be on ice!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We stayed 4 nights in the new tower suites. The suite are two floor with a full kitchen, dining area, and sitting room with the bathroom on this level. Upstairs is the bedroom. Everything is done perfectly and completely. Although I’d probably prefer the bathroom off the bedroom this was really not an issue for us. Breakfast is stocked each day with fruit, juice, eggs, muesli, bacon, sausage, salmon and more. And tea with a choice of French press coffee or espresso. You prepare what you want on the Aga stove. There a great selection of prepared dinners and wines if you choose to eat in. The food we had was all excellent. The main house is a couple minutes walk away but if you need anything they have a phone preprogrammed to call they and they respond quickly. The grounds are gorgeous. And the staff is incredibly helpful. Highly recommended

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Paul, thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much in one of our Bell Tower Suites. In developing these suites we have tried to second guess what guest might like including a full range of breakfast items; after all you probably don't fancy the same food four mornings in a row! Your comments about the service mean a lot as we all seek to provide authentic Highland hospitality.

We hope to welcome you back to your new Highland home your next visit to Scotland.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place! From moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat.
Greeted by James in in traditional highland dress, we were given the history of Glencoe House and its breathtaking grounds, over a glass of champagne. A lovely way to start a romantic getaway.
We stayed in Suite 2, a luxurious suite, with captivating views of Loch Leven, for 3 nights. The living and dining room are grand, with beautiful ceilings and fireplace.
The suite is stocked with everything you could possibly need.
The private silver service, food and accommodations were truly outstanding. My only complaint is that I wish we could of stayed longer! We will definitely return.
Check out Seafood Cafe, it’s a must!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adventure580955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us. When Lord Strathcona built the house, he certainly did choose a good spot and we don't get tired of looking at the views of Loch Leven. We are also glad that the in-suite dining was memorable and to your taste! We look forward to welcoming you back and the champagne is on ice!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

If I could do it over again (and if I could get the reservation), I’d stay at Glen Coe House for a few days instead of just the one night we had during our 12 day trip throughout Scotland. Our Bell Tower Suite was superb – beautiful, comfortable, modern, private and with every convenience you could imagine, plus the largest towels we’ve had anywhere in our travels across the world. The staff was gracious, knowledgeable and helpful. The grounds are lovely and, of course, the scenery in this part of Scotland is incredible. These suites were finished a few months ago and everything was done right. Glen Coe House is now one of our favorite hotels along with the San Pietro de Positano, the Four Seasons Tower Hill in London, the Belmond in Taormina and the Sacher in Vienna.

Room Tip: Loved the Bell Tower Suites
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriciaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. In developing the Bell Tower Suites we have tried to second guess what guests might like; who wants to have a small towel after have a relaxing bath! Your comment about the service mean a lot as we all try to provide true Highland hospitality and showcase the beautiful area. We look forward to welcoming you back to your Highland home.

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Superb. We enjoyed four wonderful night's at Glencoe House and will do our best to return. The welcome was pleasant and informative. We ordered a dinner for our first evening which was served in our suite. Very nice.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank timefit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlencoeHouse, Owner at Glencoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and managed to rest and relax during your 4 nights with us. We are also glad that the in-suite private dining was to your taste. We look forward to welcoming you back and the champagne will be on ice for your arrival!

Best wishes,
The Glencoe House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews