We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Business Visitor”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The Grand has managed to drag me and my colleagues away from the dull Newcastle city centre business hotels this year and we've spent many a good night here experiencing something different to brighten up the end of our working day.
The location is excellent, you can enjoy a nice walk along the beach before breakfast or evening meal and Tynemouth is a lovely town for a stroll around with several good restaurants and individual shops.
Yes, sometimes the reception staff are a bit surly, yes some of the rooms could definitely do with an overhaul and there's no parking but we've never struggled to park within a few meters as there's plenty of roadside parking, overall this is great location good value hotel and we will continue to return.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms to the back of the hotel directly over the bar as they can be noisy in you want an e...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beardsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 614 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have stayed at the Grand many times and decided to combine this weekend with christmas shopping and meeting out new grandson for the first time.
We had a drink in the lounge while waiting,and intended to have afternoon tea once our daughter had arrived,, A wedding was taking place and the wedding party took over the lounge with us sat near the window watching out for our daughter, When they arrived the barmaid refused them entry and when we questioned this she said that 'there is a wedding in here'''and..????and she didnt have to serve us food or drink at all. which seemed odd as she had already served us twice.
We were told that we could go into Copperfields next door,,,which we did in the end,,but werent allowed to have afternoon tea in there and as there was a Newcastle match being televised on a foreign channel,there were quite a lot of supporters in there so it was qiute noisy for a new baby.
It would seem that the needs of ordinary guests are disregarded when a wedding is taking place, The wedding seems to take priority and although that it states in the hotel information that the service of food etc can be delayed if a wedding is being held , i didnt realise that this meant,,'not at all'.
Its a shame really as we have always enjoyed staying there.
This visit however, the hotel seems have gone downhill a little, The staff are young and have yet to learn how to treat patrons or even to talk properly,,,they still seem to be at the grunting stroppy teenager stage,, The dining room needed a good tyding up ,there were the remnants of christmas crackers all over the carpet and several items of cutlery on the floor.
Manager,,,get your staff sorted out,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winnie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I stayed at The Grand Hotel with my family last night, and had the best time. We stay here evey year around Christmas time, and always have a great time, but this year surpassed all expectations.

We always stay in sea view rooms, overlooking Longsands beach, which makes the occasion very special. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable.

In the evening we had our Christams meals in the Victoria restaurant. In previous years, this meal had been a little bit disappointing, but this year it was absolutely perfect! It really was faultless, and the service was fantastic. There has been a change of management this year, and it really does show. One small point of constructive criticism is that the children's meal is too expensive. If we had not specifically raised this point prior to eating there, our 2-year-old's meal would have cost £13. Check before hand and ask for the Scallywag's menu (not otherwise offered), which is £7 and still more than enough for a small child.

Overall though, an amazing time, and we can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdcocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We've stayed here on several occasions and like it. This year we have been in Rooms103 and 106 which are fine, but have only one bed-side table which can be awkward. Food is good, lounge/bar is delightful and they make an excellent bowl of porridge at breakfast. It can be noisey and very busy at weekends with weddings/disco. The views down the Longands are stunning. Car parking is restricted.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesS627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Over the years we have been to many family occasions at the Grand hotel from weddings to anniversary dinners to xmas meals and have always considered it to be atmospheric and an iconic destination overlooking Longsands. To be honest it has always given us happy family memories.
We tried to book a funeral reception at the Grand Hotel and you soon made it clear to us that you did not want our business. I could not understand the incompetence of your staff in not recognising our needs and trying to fob us off with extortionate room hire and a room that was five times the dimentions size of our party! You would not even let us use the lounge because you would be busy with afternoon teas (at lunchtime!)
What a pleasant surprise then to be met by an enthusiastic gentlemen(Joseph) at the Park who immediately recognised our needs and showed us round with diligence and recommending several options.
On the day itself service was efficient, the funeral tea buffet enormous and all at fraction of the Grands pretentious offerings and no room hire costs. Two other funeral parties at the Park that afternoon and a job well done.
No surprises then that driving past the Grand not a single guest in view, I guess the run of afternoon teas you told us you were expecting suddenly cancelled!
Love the hotel and will return but your crown has slipped on this occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steelers 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Grand-Hotel, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Whilst we appreciate constructive reviews on Tripadvisor we feel that this review is very one sided and unfair. We carry out hundreds of functions every year at the hotel with great success. A reasonable amount of this function business is made up of funeral bookings so we are no strangers to looking after such parties on a regular basis.

The reviewer has omitted to include some major points:

Firstly, the room we normally use for a funeral reception was already booked by other guests on the day requested and as such we had no option but to recommend a larger than normal room – we only recommended this larger room because the organisers were so keen to hold the event at the hotel.

Secondly, I’m sure anyone who knows the hotel will agree, our lounge area is not suitable to accommodate a funeral party as our lounge consists of several informal seating areas spread throughout the room with varying levels of customers in and out the room during the day. For this reason, we cannot simply block of an area for funeral guests.

Can you imagine how you would feel as a customer if you were enjoying an afternoon tea and suddenly a funeral party came in and took up a large section of the room? – you may well feel that you were in the way of what should be a private gathering, this would be uncomfortable to say the least. For this reason it is hotel policy not to accommodate functions in this space.

Thirdly and finally, our afternoon teas are indeed extremely popular and we serve them from 10am in the morning (every day) including over the lunch period. We also offer a good selection of sandwiches and light bites which prove very popular with our regular clientele. – so yes, in response to the reviewer the lounge is often extremely busy during lunch.

We are naturally very sorry that we could not accommodate this funeral party in a suitable room but everyone surely must appreciate that as a very popular and busy 45 bedroom hotel it is not always possible to accommodate everyone in the function room that they want at the time they require especially when so often is the case with funeral bookings we are given very little notice period of the booking.

As with this guest we will always do our best to think of alternative ways in which parties can be accommodated at short notice, however any solution must take into account the needs and expectations of our other guests in the hotel who of course are equally important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tynemouth
1.7 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 5 in South Shields
729 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western The Sea Hotel
Best Western The Sea Hotel
#3 of 5 in South Shields
418 reviews
3.0 km away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#4 of 10 in Whitley Bay
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
5.6 km away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,503 reviews
11.8 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: 14 Grand Parade | Tynemouth, Tynemouth NE30 4ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Tynemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tynemouth
Price Range: €110 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tynemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing