We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2019

Our visit was in July and we stayed in a two bedroom apartment. the accommodation was clean very spacious and comfortable. It had plenty natural light from a large window over looking an open area where we parked our car. Good equipped kitchenette for basic cooking. A bit awkward access the apartment. From the reception you have to go down and up again flight of steps passing through the laundry area.

The food and service at the restaurant was pleasant and reasonably priced.

Very helpful staff at the reception. Special thanks to the receptionist who was duty on the 21st July Sunday morning. She was very helpful to advice places of interest and towns and villages to visit nearby. Unfortunately we misplaced a note we had to mention her name specifically. Always with a beautiful smile. Her home town is Banska Bystrica.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2019

Very pleasant hotel , nice surrounding. Nature all around, so perfect for walks. Room was comfy, but during summer a missing air-conditioning may be a problem. Staff careful and attentive. Restauran also good, tasty meals.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank isabelle8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2019

Dear Issabelle,

thank you very much for your nice review, we will be glad to welcome you in our hotel again.

Hotel Galileo Donovaly****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

So when we got our food, most of the group got great food - BUT - the Ribeye Steaks where to say the least horrible! When whe talked to the waiters they just said nothing was wrong, we would not get another steaks, without saying we are sorry or let’s check whats wrong - even when you could smell how bad the mest had gone. After 35 min of waiting we got a RAW slice of meat - not medium nor medium rare for that matter - and had to fight the staff who where trying to charge us for the rotten meat as well as the ,,OK” one. Never ever again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank BenEinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear guest,

we appreciate and value all the opinions and reviews of our guests. We have no problem accepting criticism if it is justified. However we can not agree with your words, and need to say that your accusations are unacceptable.

For our quality speaks our reputation among our guests and many excellent reviews of satisfied customers. We are proud that during the history of our restaurant we have won many satisfied customers and outstanding reputation far and wide. The profesionality and attitude of our employees is appreciated by many our regular guests and it is highly valued in many reviews. We appreciate the trust of our customers, we would never offer a poor quality meat to our clients, in no case rotten meat.

We also reject your accusations about not helping and unwilling attitude. Your complaint have been taken seriously and solved by our emploeyees. Your complaint was solved on the spot with our chef, and waiters. All of them tasted the meat and did not found any problem with the steak, you was also showed the piece of meat from which your steak was prepared. The steak you got was of the same meat from which the chef prepared steaks for guests next to your table, in the same time. We asked them as well, steaks has been rated as delicious. Upon your complaint, you were prepared different kind of steak - the beef steak - that you consumed. The second steak was prepared for free, you have only been charged the original order. After your complaint about the price, you have been only charged the cheaper steak. Your original order - Rib Eye steak was probably not good choice for you, but it is not the reason for unjustified charges and attacks. The steak was prepared professionally from high quality, fresh meat.

Our guests, their opinions and their satisfaction with our services are extremely important for us. However we do not accept misleading allegations and depreciation of our work. We are sorry about your feelings, however we insist on our statement - your complaint was unjustified, as we explained and proved to you and your friends during your visit in our restaurant. Each of us gives everything he can do into our work. We are really disappointed about people, who are unable to accept that they are not always right and ventilate their excitement by writing unsubstantiated and deceptive ratings.

In this case we need to defend our work from misleading and unjustified accusations. Every guest is very important for us and we regret that you did not leave our restaurant satisfied. But the non-recognition of an unjustified complaint is not a reason for a similar review nor for an attempt to spoil the years-built good reputation of our restaurant. We are sure about the quality of our work which is confirmed by many regular and returning guests. We have no problem accepting legitimate criticism, we take it as an opportunity to improve our services. But we do not accept deceptive allegations.

Hotel Galileo Donovaly****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed at a nearby hotel and visited the restaurant for our family dinner. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. very attentive, but not OTT. Food and drinks all met expectations. We will return when visiting again for next skiing holiday. Well done to hotel and restaurant staff

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is for sure the best place to stay and to eat at Donovaly. You can select from local dishes, some specials and steaks. The hotel has nice rooms, but the highlight is the spa on the top floor with a great view.

Fried cheese on the pic - a local must have Slovak specialty.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank raduzd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews