We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2019 via mobile

So when we got our food, most of the group got great food - BUT - the Ribeye Steaks where to say the least horrible! When whe talked to the waiters they just said nothing was wrong, we would not get another steaks, without saying we are sorry or let’s check whats wrong - even when you could smell how bad the mest had gone. After 35 min of waiting we got a RAW slice of meat - not medium nor medium rare for that matter - and had to fight the staff who where trying to charge us for the rotten meat as well as the ,,OK” one. Never ever again!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank BenEinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear guest,

we appreciate and value all the opinions and reviews of our guests. We have no problem accepting criticism if it is justified. However we can not agree with your words, and need to say that your accusations are unacceptable.

For our quality speaks our reputation among our guests and many excellent reviews of satisfied customers. We are proud that during the history of our restaurant we have won many satisfied customers and outstanding reputation far and wide. The profesionality and attitude of our employees is appreciated by many our regular guests and it is highly valued in many reviews. We appreciate the trust of our customers, we would never offer a poor quality meat to our clients, in no case rotten meat.

We also reject your accusations about not helping and unwilling attitude. Your complaint have been taken seriously and solved by our emploeyees. Your complaint was solved on the spot with our chef, and waiters. All of them tasted the meat and did not found any problem with the steak, you was also showed the piece of meat from which your steak was prepared. The steak you got was of the same meat from which the chef prepared steaks for guests next to your table, in the same time. We asked them as well, steaks has been rated as delicious. Upon your complaint, you were prepared different kind of steak - the beef steak - that you consumed. The second steak was prepared for free, you have only been charged the original order. After your complaint about the price, you have been only charged the cheaper steak. Your original order - Rib Eye steak was probably not good choice for you, but it is not the reason for unjustified charges and attacks. The steak was prepared professionally from high quality, fresh meat.

Our guests, their opinions and their satisfaction with our services are extremely important for us. However we do not accept misleading allegations and depreciation of our work. We are sorry about your feelings, however we insist on our statement - your complaint was unjustified, as we explained and proved to you and your friends during your visit in our restaurant. Each of us gives everything he can do into our work. We are really disappointed about people, who are unable to accept that they are not always right and ventilate their excitement by writing unsubstantiated and deceptive ratings.

In this case we need to defend our work from misleading and unjustified accusations. Every guest is very important for us and we regret that you did not leave our restaurant satisfied. But the non-recognition of an unjustified complaint is not a reason for a similar review nor for an attempt to spoil the years-built good reputation of our restaurant. We are sure about the quality of our work which is confirmed by many regular and returning guests. We have no problem accepting legitimate criticism, we take it as an opportunity to improve our services. But we do not accept deceptive allegations.

Hotel Galileo Donovaly****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed at a nearby hotel and visited the restaurant for our family dinner. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. very attentive, but not OTT. Food and drinks all met expectations. We will return when visiting again for next skiing holiday. Well done to hotel and restaurant staff

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is for sure the best place to stay and to eat at Donovaly. You can select from local dishes, some specials and steaks. The hotel has nice rooms, but the highlight is the spa on the top floor with a great view.

Fried cheese on the pic - a local must have Slovak specialty.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank raduzd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

very pleasant accommodation in the center of Donovaly, excellent cuisine and wellness overlooking the surrounding mountains. Nice staff, spacious and clean room for reasonable price. I can only recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank martin_kl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Martin,

thank you for staying in our hotel and taking time to share your experience. It is always pleasure to read such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Your Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

They left us waiting to check in over an hour without any proper answer when the room will be ready. There was noone else at the reception waiting to check in only us. Receptionist's customer service should improved a lot

Temperature in the room was too hot, slept with windows open and in underwear. The heaters were completely switched off and cold to touch and the receptionist again showed her professionals by telling us to close the heater and open the window...not mentioning that we had 5year old kid in the room and sleeping with windows open in winter is ridiculous!

The jacuzzi was allowed to enter only nude ( so advertised as family hotel you can imagine your parents/grandparents/kids sitting all naked in Jacuzzi surrounded with big glass windows and people walking by the bar looking at them from outside) VERY pleasant!

Not mentioning the restaurant....dont even waste your time to eat there.

Never again this hotel even if they offer it for free!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Ms. Martina,

we would like to respond to your complaint. We feel very sorry about your negative experience. However there are some inconsistencies in the review you posted. Probably you're writing for someone from your family, as any guest with your name was not staying in our hotel.

Check in is possible after 2pm. Guests are informed about the time of check in while booking the stay. If the hotel occupancy permits we gladly provide a room to our guests earlier. But in this case it was not possible due to the workload of the hotel during the holiday of Bratislava region.

Our wellness center is intended primarily for rest and relaxation of our guests. The wellness center follows the rules of healthy sauna bath, therefore entry to hotel spa is allowed only without swimsuit. Guests in the spa do not have to be naked. Receptionist automatically provide every guest with sheet and towel. We inform about the ban on wearing swimsuit on our web page. Entry of children until 7 years is forbidden. Guest receive the information about restrictions on admission of children when booking the stay with child. Big glass windows provide guests with a beautiful view of the panorama of Donovaly. Since wellness is located on the top floor of the hotel - on the third floor, it is not possible to see into the spa from outside.

We have very possitive feedback on the staff of our hotel, so we are very caught off guard with your complaint about the reluctance of receptionist. Anyway, we would like to apologize and assure you, that we will discuss your complaint with the receptionist.

We are specially proud of the quality of our restaurant. Many guests return to our hotel also thanks to our excellent cuisine and professional staff in the restaurant. Therefore, we are very sorry about your negative impression.

In case like this, the best solution is to discuss your complaint on the spot directly with the director or the manager of the hotel who can immediately to resolve the complaint to your satisfaction. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews