We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
20
6
1
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Stayed at a nearby hotel and visited the restaurant for our family dinner. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. very attentive, but not OTT. Food and drinks all met expectations. We will return when visiting again for next skiing holiday. Well done to hotel and restaurant staff

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This is for sure the best place to stay and to eat at Donovaly. You can select from local dishes, some specials and steaks. The hotel has nice rooms, but the highlight is the spa on the top floor with a great view.

Fried cheese on the pic - a local must have Slovak specialty.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank raduzd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2017

very pleasant accommodation in the center of Donovaly, excellent cuisine and wellness overlooking the surrounding mountains. Nice staff, spacious and clean room for reasonable price. I can only recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank martin_kl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Martin,

thank you for staying in our hotel and taking time to share your experience. It is always pleasure to read such a nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Your Hotel Galileo Donovaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

They left us waiting to check in over an hour without any proper answer when the room will be ready. There was noone else at the reception waiting to check in only us. Receptionist's customer service should improved a lot

Temperature in the room was too hot, slept with windows open and in underwear. The heaters were completely switched off and cold to touch and the receptionist again showed her professionals by telling us to close the heater and open the window...not mentioning that we had 5year old kid in the room and sleeping with windows open in winter is ridiculous!

The jacuzzi was allowed to enter only nude ( so advertised as family hotel you can imagine your parents/grandparents/kids sitting all naked in Jacuzzi surrounded with big glass windows and people walking by the bar looking at them from outside) VERY pleasant!

Not mentioning the restaurant....dont even waste your time to eat there.

Never again this hotel even if they offer it for free!

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Martina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Dear Ms. Martina,

we would like to respond to your complaint. We feel very sorry about your negative experience. However there are some inconsistencies in the review you posted. Probably you're writing for someone from your family, as any guest with your name was not staying in our hotel.

Check in is possible after 2pm. Guests are informed about the time of check in while booking the stay. If the hotel occupancy permits we gladly provide a room to our guests earlier. But in this case it was not possible due to the workload of the hotel during the holiday of Bratislava region.

Our wellness center is intended primarily for rest and relaxation of our guests. The wellness center follows the rules of healthy sauna bath, therefore entry to hotel spa is allowed only without swimsuit. Guests in the spa do not have to be naked. Receptionist automatically provide every guest with sheet and towel. We inform about the ban on wearing swimsuit on our web page. Entry of children until 7 years is forbidden. Guest receive the information about restrictions on admission of children when booking the stay with child. Big glass windows provide guests with a beautiful view of the panorama of Donovaly. Since wellness is located on the top floor of the hotel - on the third floor, it is not possible to see into the spa from outside.

We have very possitive feedback on the staff of our hotel, so we are very caught off guard with your complaint about the reluctance of receptionist. Anyway, we would like to apologize and assure you, that we will discuss your complaint with the receptionist.

We are specially proud of the quality of our restaurant. Many guests return to our hotel also thanks to our excellent cuisine and professional staff in the restaurant. Therefore, we are very sorry about your negative impression.

In case like this, the best solution is to discuss your complaint on the spot directly with the director or the manager of the hotel who can immediately to resolve the complaint to your satisfaction. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

One of the most amazing hotel wellnesses....did not expect that. Super calm, not busy, service is perfect and the saunas are still barely used. Low price and non-hotel guests are also welcome. Open till 10pm which is very comfy after ski.

Date of stay: March 2017
2  Thank LoveTravel667699
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Galileo_Donovaly, Manažér at Hotel Galileo Donovaly, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Zsófia Rozália,

thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed time in our spa and you were satisfied with quality of our services . We hope to see you again and very soon. Best regards Your Hotel Galileo**** Donovaly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews