We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveller rating
401
402
156
52
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
402
156
52
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel private beach superior room nice pool pastries breakfast buffet other hotels wifi access shuttle service to the beach large selection hire car old town short walk booked this hotel main beach hotel staff rooms are modern
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, rooms are clean modern and comfortable. The location is also very good can walk any where, easily old town and beach, cafes etc. The only reason it has. Lower rating is we booked to hotel because it had a pool. When we arrived we wanted to relax after a long journey by the pool. We were told they had removed use of the pool so it was. Baking hot day and we had to go to the beach and pay €35 for half a day.
Despite the hotel saying they have use of a beach you have to pay €35 per day and €50 if you want a chair next to the sea.
This really lets down the hotel, if they had removed use of the pool without notice they should have given us a discount for the beach , this really spoilt our stay. And we had to spend and €105 for using the beach.
The breakfast was fantastic.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RosariaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Guest,

we are very glady to read that you have appreciated our hotel; we are disappointing with you about the beach, because the hotel offer beach service but our guests are not obliged to use them, at 200 metres you can found also public beach, so go to our beach have been your decision, we inform in advance our customer about the price and after they can choose to go or not to go

Hoping thath we can welcome you again in Sperlonga, we cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We loved staying in this small, clean hotel close to the beach and town. We could walk everywhere and took advantage of the hotel's beach access which was lovely. We enjoyed a lunch and drink poolside while cooling off and relaxing. The breakfast was perfect and the spa was icing on the cake. Our room was clean and comfortable with a small patio with views. We recommend this hotel and the town of Sperlonga to everyone!

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank k8leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Dear Guest,

we are very glady to read your rewiew about your holiday in Sperlonga; particularly we appreciate your positive opinion about our services

Waiting for welcome you again at Virgilio Grand Hotel, we cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 14 staying a long weekend to celebrate a 60th birthday. The hotel is big, clean and the breakfast is adequate, and more so if you like pastries. We had looked forward to using the pool as a meeting place, and as a wake-up treat, but found that it was closed, and had been closed a while! I think it would have been good practice to inform us of this before we arrived. The pool is part of the hotel’s package, after all. The hotel has a nice private beach, which they charge €30/day for per couple. I had to plead with them to drop the charge seeing as the pool was not available. After a lot of discussion we were given 1 day without charge. I don’t think that was good business by them. Will not return.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elston57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Mr Elston,

we are very disappointing with you for your review,especially for the swimming pool because it was closed for an accident and not for our decision.
In addition we have also applied a discount on the total stay, we maded all possible to repair at this problem and is not good that you make this review, particularly for our staff and their disponibility to solve your disservice

We cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Pool has been broken since July -- caution tape all around it. Very disappointing for the kids (and adults). The staff spoke about the broken pool like it was no big deal. Rooms are small, however it is Europe. With no pool, we wouldn't have stayed here.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sperlonga, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Virgilio Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Dear Lynn,

we are very disappointig with you to read this review, because our pool was closed for an accident and not for our decision. Wea are very sorry if the room it was not very large, but it was a quadruple room with sofa bed and double bed, like the kind of room that you have reserved, we think that the problem with the pool have influenced your judgement about your stay.
Everyday you have passed near the reception with happy face, how if you don't haved any kind of problem and is not correct that you maded this review without talk with our staff about this problems. We think that they would do all possible to solve your problems

We cordially greet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL! THEY MIGHT SCAM YOU!

We were two people staying in a dubble bedroom at hotel Grand Vergillio for one night between the 7th and the 8th of June 2018. The stay it self was fine but when we had left Sperlonga I noticed that the hotel had charged me twice for the room. I sent a email to the hotel with my bank statement, showing the dubble transaction/withdraw. They responded saying that they had made a misstake and that they would return what they had overcharged. That was two months ago and no money has been refunded to me. I have written mutable emails and tried connecting via phone, but they have stopped answering emails and I can't get a hold of them. I have tried to go thought my bank/mastercard but with no success so far. I have no confidence in me getting my money back. This is not a serious hotel/business and staying there would be at your own peril!

DON'T STAY AT THIS HOTEL! THEY MIGHT SCAM YOU!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oscar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews