We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
91
73
12
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
73
12
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenient location short walk german couple swimming pool bread ham cornelia cheese wifi fridge germany crete greek honey
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

This is a nice, comfortable hotel with basic amenities:decent bed with clean sheets, clean bathroom and shower, a/c (which I didn't use), and good wifi. The room I had was average size with a small balcony -- perfectly fine for a stay of a few nights. What makes this budget hotel a particularly good choice is its location (just a couple blocks from the "hubbub" of downtown) and the pretty garden setting with a nice pool. The breakfast buffet had lots of variety and there was plenty of seating on the covered patio. The hosts and staff were very kind and helpful, which gave the place a homey feel. If you need luxury you should probably look elsewhere; if you want clean, comfortable accommodations with a casual atmosphere, this is a great fit.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espaustx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear guests,
thank you very much for booking hotel Neos Matala and also for your very good and extensive review. We are very happy that you liked our place and also Matala.
We hope that you had a very good time and nice holidays on Crete.
Many greetings from Matala
Cornelia and Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast. Swimming pool and nice garden. Bus stop just opposite the hotel - so you don't have to walk into the village to get the bus. Lovely and tranquil at night. Staff readily gave advice on places to eat and how to get to beaches.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rubyonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Dear Ruby,
thank you very much for being guest in our hotel Neos Matala. Also thanks for the very good review. We are very happy that you like our place and also our way to run the hotel. Everytime we try to help our guests if they have questions, we really don´t know all from Crete this is impossible, but what we know we are happy to tell to the guests.
We hope that you enjoy your days on Crete and it was not a bigger problem to come from one place to the next by bus.
All the best for you and a very lot of greetings
from "Team Neos"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I'm very disappointed with my stay in this hotel happy it was (only) two nights. I was traveling with husband and 3 years old son all over the island staying in ten different accommodations and that was the first time I was charged on arrival before I had chance to see the room! I would run away otherwise. The smallest room I ever got dirty looking grey bed linen and towels you normally would use to wipe the floor, small dated dirty bathroom with a very poor light and fan noisy as a tractor, mouldy shower (first time I didn't give bath to my little boy because it is under basic hygiene standards). Breakfast included e.g. over boiled eggs and the worst sort of instant coffee in flask and no fresh juice! On Crete where oranges are so cheap! And there is tiny car park for max 8 cars. I know The Owner will decline all the above so if you want to check it out yourself you be my guest:) no offence to The Owner I found very nice and polite person might take the above as advice to improve the quality

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear guests,
we are really very happy that we have the chance to answer on your review. We are really shocked that you have the impertinence so to distort the facts. You booked a room for two nights via booking.com for 2 adults without breakfast. After your booking you tell us that you want an extra bed for your child (free of charge, included in the booking.com tariff for 2 persons). We tell you this is not possible but we accepted your booking and offer you that your child can sleep inside the room without payment, but for an extra bed the room is not big enough. You accepted this.
We also don´t feel very good because we want to see our guests relaxed and feeling good in our place, so we decide to give you the breakfast free, we invite you. It´s really nearly inconceivable for us that you complain now in this way because of the breakfast. Once again the breakfast was not included in the price like you tell to the tripadvisor community.
We clean the rooms ourselves, so we know the quality from our cleaning and our rooms. Also you had a room with a new renovated bathroom from 2016, what do you expect better, if you like it bigger pay double and go to the bigger and also better hotels. For the noise from our ventilator you find a good way, you break it inside the roof, thank you very much.
The parking place you are correct. We have place for 9 cars if they park good not like you in the middle of the area. Also our guests can park 10 meters away on our bridge or direct on the road 15 m away, normally no problem for the people in our hotel. Sorry for this, but perhaps you think it is better to make a parking area instead of our swimming pool.
Why you don´t tell the tripadvisor community the real problem you had. You don´t like to stay in a hotel on Crete owned by a German couple, I hope I understood correct your words by the check out. Especially you must know that the world changes, people go from one place to the next and like you go from your home to Ireland it´s every time possible to come on a place owned by people from a country you don´t like. But this has nothing to do with a hotel quality or your lies.
We are very happy that the most of our guests see our quality and our hotel different, like our place and don´t tell only untruths like you do it.
Cornelia and Michael wish you a nice autumn and finally say thank you, your review really help us very much for the future, we will think about a lot of things what we can change that guests like you don´t want to book our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Only stayed for 2 nights , clean and tidy , our first room stank of sewage like you wouldn't believe, we informed them and where told it's a common thing and would hopefully go . We asked for another room and where told they didn't have one . We said that we would could not stay in this room and would have to look else where . To which another room became available just like that. Thankfully with No smell .

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1s-g-gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Dear guests,
thank you for booking our hotel Neos Matala. Sure our hotel is “base”, nowhere you can read something else and we are very sure that you don´t expect a high star hotel when you book our hotel. We try to explain you the problem with an available room and we tell you that we have no other double room but we will look if we can change for you in a triple room. Sorry it needs sometimes some short moments to check what is possible and what we can do for our guests. We hope for your understanding.
Many greetings and a nice time from Matala “Team Neos”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Travelling round Crete we stayed here for three nights. The room was clean with a good shower and hot water every day. The balcony looks onto the garden. Air con good but had a very bright light so we tended to turn it off once in bed. Owners were very friendly and it was nice to be able to get a drink any time when sat by the lovely pool (which we had to ourselves very often). Also good to be able to use washing machine and have free wifi. Short walk from centre of Matala, consequently nice and quiet. Good value - with bonus kittens!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael B, Inhaber at Hotel Neos Matala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Dear Debbie,
thank you very much for your very good review.
It was very nice to have you as a guest at the hotel.
You are right the light from our new aircondition is a little bit bright.
We wish you all the best.
Many greetings to Chesterfield
from
The "Neos Team"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews