We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, walking distance to beach”
Review of Harbor Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbor Reef Hotel
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Nosara
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Beautiful landscaping, great room, lovely restaurant, but the staff really makes this place a gem! We scored an onsite booking and they honored the online rate. They greeted us by our first name at the front office and they were happy to accommodate a large group of friends we brought over for dinner without a reservation. The grounds were lovely, and the location is great. There's parking inside and outside the gate and a 24/7 guard at the entrance. We would definitely look them up on future trips to Nosara!

Room Tip: smaller rooms at the back of the garden path are well lit and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ATLRotella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms are clean. The patios are chill. The staff is extremely friendly and incredibly helpful. The two things we liked the most was the morning coffee service and the swim up bar for afternoon drinks and snacks. We will be back with our friends.
The pictures online don't do the place justice, it is much more beautiful in person.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank travelAL737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This place exceeded my expectations. I stayed with my husband and baby. They set up a super comfy crib for my little one and the staff was so nice. They helped me with my food restrictions in the restaurant as well. The gardens are beautiful. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Zero pretentious. Loved it! Definitely would return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank LauranBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

We arrived in Nosara without booking ahead and decided to stay at Harbor Reef, this turned into a great decision.
What a great place, the location 5 mins walk from the beach, the room being so bright, clean and airy, the refreshing cool pool by the bar, the luscious gardens, the howling monkeys that live amongst the trees, but the best thing about this place was the staff. We were treated so well, and everyone was so genuinely warm and kind to us, and particularly to our 5 year daughter, she eve had a crowning ceremony.. haha Princess Mila. She was literally treated like royalty.
Another situation we're the staff went above and beyond was when we got our car stuck in the mud, the team were at hand to help us get the car back on the road (yes poor driving skills on my part!).
We loved this place and would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

My family stayed at the Harbor Reef over Holy Week Holidays and we had a great stay despite how busy the hotel was! The hotel offers prime location for getting around Nosara and all nearby beaches. It was easy to just hop on one of their free bikes (which our kids loved!) and go and come from the beach as many times as we wanted.
Although the menu is simple, the food was of excellent quality, super fresh, healthy and tasty;they tried to accomodate all of our requests every time. The staff was especially friendly and sweet to our two 11 and 8-year old kids. They even baked chocolate chip cookies with them one afternoon!!

Rooms are simple, but bedding is of the best quality (brand new super comfy mattresses and linens) and best of all, the housekeeping staff does an amazing job keeping the rooms spotless and super neat every morning! They provide additional beds for kids in case they don't want to share, like in our case at no extra charge.

All in all, our family had an amazing time and we were able to surf, enjoy sunsets at the beach, do yoga, enjoy great meals, a movie night and even a pretty cool live concert at the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.4 km away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
138 reviews
2.9 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.2 km away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#13 of 24 in Nosara
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 24 in Nosara
176 reviews
1.1 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 24 in Nosara
163 reviews
0.9 km away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 24 in Nosara
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Reef Hotel

Address: Del Hotel Cafe De Paris 400 Suroeste y 150 al Este | From Café de Paris 400 m West and 200 m South, Nosara, Costa Rica (Formerly Harbor Reef Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range: €170 - €220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a short walk from three miles of white sand beaches, Harbor Reef is surrounded by the astounding beauty of the tropical dry forest. Our rich natural land and seascape is part of Ostional Wildlife Refuge, protected by the National Park System of Costa Rica. Harbor Reef is the ideal spot for those seeking to experience the beach that Natural Geographic Adventurer named as one of the world’s Top 20 surf locations. Playa Guiones offers a challenge for the seasoned surfer, and an opportunity for the beginner to stand up after just one lesson. All rooms at Harbor Reef offer air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bath, mini-bar, safe, and complimentary WI-FI. Harbor Reef provides 24-hour security and daily housekeeping. We have an outdoor pool and a small shop stocked with travel necessities you may have left behind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Harbor Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Reef Hotel Nosara
Harbor Reef Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing