We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price/ even with 20% off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Reviewed 11 May 2015

This hotel was really beautiful from the outside. The reason we stayed was because we were tired and the kids wanted out of the car and to swim. The Service was pretty good at the desk. It was very informal and more like checking in to a hostel though. Not a whole lot of upstanding professionalism one would normally expect from a hotel whose rates are very high. The front desk was bland, looked as though it was a place going out of business. I think we were the only people there. The pool area is worn and not kept up. There is actually a piece of bracing where the welds have broken loose and sinks when you walk on it. They were shocking the pool in the middle of the day when we were using the pool. The railings were rusted. There is a huge overhead beam that is broken in the after part of the restaurant area that could be deemed a safety hazard. I found many cigarette butts as I walked around. The air conditioner in our room did not work on the second floor. The one on the first floor did however it leaked water when it ran. The room was clean looking but smelled of mold. You could watch the people downstairs through the floor of the upstairs in the bathroom. There was some kind of debris buildup on the back windows of the suite. The bamboo steps were quite treacherous with protruding nails so be sure to wear shoes inside. shower drain scupper was even attached or over drain hole. Probably because the drain didn't work all that well. The shower had no water pressure and took forever to get cleaned up. the furniture in the rooms were rather uncomfortable. Not sure if the water is desalinated water but has a very, marine life flavor like it is. The rooms also lack the basics or at least could not find them, Tissues,Pen,Paper, Menu,tourist activity book,map of the area that is of high quality and not a foto copy.
Food, Go out and eat. The food is expensive and really is not that good.

This Hotel has the potential to be a great place. But the lack of the employees buying into making it something special, and the lack of good maintenance doom it to an over priced "has been" hotel. The rates here are way to high given the quality of service. I would not stay here again unless the price for the suites were closer to 130$. I think they are worth that and the smaller rooms at 70-80$. I think they might actually do more business and possibly be able to start repairing the image of this place. It can be a great hotel but lacks a leader to make it one. I see this hotel going out of business if new outgoing leadership is not brought in to change things. I hope this letter doesn't fall on deaf ears. This could be "thee spot to be" if put into the right hands and maintain the property properly. But I really could not recommend this hotel to anyone at this time.

Room Tip: There are none unless you have a master suite or villa
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puravidasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2015

The hotel architecture is really nice. The room was comfortable and clean.
There are minor issues that show the hotel had better days (i.e. balcony door lock that doesn't close, a toilet that is not attached to the floor).
There were few people in the property. The big restaurant only had 1 other table occupied the times we visit.
The included breakfast is a platter of fruit followed by rice and beans, a toast and your choice of eggs, plus coffee or juice.
Hotel staff in general does their job, but you would expect a little more of enthusiasm and better training. I've experienced a more 'welcoming' sensation around Costa Rica than at L'Acqua.
Some examples:
-A call to the front desk to inquire about not having hot water for the shower was answered with 'Did you try to move the knob a little bit to the sides? There's no problem but when maintenance finish his dinner will go an check'. 15 minutes later we received a call acknowledging the issue but the system will take 45 minutes to reset. (Problem solved, bad response)
-Restaurant service is hardly smile or make you feel comfortable. As the restaurant menu is very limited in vegetarian options (there's a vegetarian panini) we asked if it was possible to modify the 'casado' from rice and bean with meat to the same with steam vegetables (a common option in any little restaurant in Costa Rica), first answered was 'no changes, the chef will not allow it, but I will to talk with the cook'. The new veggie casado was delivered. Again, problem solved but service in general was sub par.
Restaurant is also expensive, so no wonder why is empty.

On a side note, if you plan to use the gym, you will be out of luck. The single treadmill is worn and the support board is bend to the inside. The SPA still shows the 'under repair' sign which, probably, will never happen.

Location: As other guest reported, the hotel is on the main dirt road about 1-2 miles from the beaches. If you don't have a car, you can rent an ATV or call for a Tuk-Tuk or taxi.

Restaurant (outside): We enjoyed La Luna in Playa Pelada. Looks like a popular place to see the sunset from the outside patio and making a reservation is not a bad idea.

Others:
Free Wi-Fi is available in common areas but it did reach our room too.
The welcome drink (juice blend) was nice.
In room safe is available (not large enough for a laptop but good size)
Mini fridge with a jar of water also available in room.
Some rooms are in the 3rd floor (elevator is only for luggage)
Transfer from Nosara Airport is 5 to 10 minutes.


Conclusion: I will probably look for other places in Nosara the next time we visit. The Harmony was not available for the days we stayed, but is by far in a better location. We also visited the Bodhy Tree and the yoga institute for a class, a dirty monkey smoothy at the juice bar and lunch (vegetarian buffet) and would probably my first choice in the future. They are usually booked for yoga retreats but it never hurts to check.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank German D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Really not worth the price!!! Breakfast is a la carte and anything you add will be charged ( piece of bread and tomatoes; $ 12)!!! The service is really bad and the employees are not enthusiastic or comprehensive!!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank QueenTamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2015

L'aqua viva hotel is really nice. We stayed March 14-20th during Spring break. Good bed linens and comfortable beds. Good towels and decorated in good taste with bamboo and dark wood furnishings. 5 pools all connected by wooden deck walk ways.
The staff is super professional and attentive. Ricardo the Manager is always at the front desk and takes care of everything.
We did find renting a car was a better way to get around instead of taxi's, because although it is really close to the beach and town, it is too dusty and unsafe to walk the short distance. The rental car places are right in town which is two miles from L'aquaviva.
Surfing here is the BEST ever! Perfect for everyone. The instructors at Tica surf shop are friendly and helpful and the waves work for every level of surfer. It is never too crowded because the beach is so long. It would be helpful to have small beach chairs for the beach. The hotel lends you umbrellas and towels, but the sand is clayish and dark, so chairs would be a great addition.
Overall, terrific for the price. Delicious local breakfast is included in your stay.
Only drawbacks:
Getting here- 5 hour flight and 2.5 hour car ride, some over very bumpy, dusty roads.
Rental car a must. Taxis are cheap and show up, but we found ourselves standing around in parking lots waiting until we got the rental. Spa was not open when we were here.
Not enough people know about this place. Very few people staying here while we were here and it is really great. Highly recommend.


Sent from my iPhone

Sent from my iPhone

Room Tip: Get rooms with pool view. Ours was the best room 301
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEArons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Getting to the facility is a bit of an ordeal if you don't have a 4 x 4 or at least a vehicle with large tires that is well off the ground. You must travel over 30 kilometers on what can best be described as a 'cow trail.' We had a suite which has two floors. The set up is pretty good if you have kids who can sleep downstairs but the place only had a TV in the upstairs bedroom. The unit was spacious with quality furnishings and a deck on each floor with a woodsy view. Traffic was a little noisy at night. The king size bed was great with a terrific mattress. Breakfast was included and as we seemed to be the only people there service was great and we had a full breakfast at no additional charge despite their ad saying it was a continental breakfast. We had one lunch which was a bit bland and overpriced but the dinner was better. All the staff were very helpful. There were several large pools but none of them seemed to be over 4 1/2 feet deep and one had what appeared to be an oil slick plus a lot of dirt washed up on the side. We spent most of our time away from the hotel so our room choice was probably wrong. The cost of $300 per night could have been cut by about $100 per night by staying in a standard room. If we go down that road again I will probably seek a more modest facility as we feel we overspent for what we received.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
3.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
5.0 km away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
110 reviews
4.4 km away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#7 of 22 in Nosara
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
The Harmony Hotel
The Harmony Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
389 reviews
4.0 km away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#9 of 22 in Nosara
148 reviews
4.6 km away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 85-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Acqua Viva is idyllically situated in the middle of lush vegetation, bordering the extraordinary Forest Reserve and Wildlife Refuge of Nosara, at a short distance from the spectacular beaches of Pelada, Garza and Guiones, this last one considered a paradise for surfing. The hotel displays a genuine architectural style, which harmonizes with an exclusive decoration representing the fusion of diverse ethnic elements from around the world, creating a high end atmosphere and comfort to enjoy the tropics. Many of the spaces of the hotel will surprise the guests with carefully chosen pieces of art of well-known artists, which belong to a private collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Acqua Viva Resort And Hotel Nosara
l Acqua Viva Hotel
L'Acqua Viva Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing