We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$201
Expedia.comUS$201
PricelineUS$201
eDreamsUS$201
CheapTicketsUS$201
TravelocityUS$201
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
157
16
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
157
16
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk staff central location around midnight mountain biking great wifi incredible hospitality rooms are amazing costa rica hotel guests gorgeous pool great room spacious rooms mini bar smoothie bar the salt water pool lounge chairs an amazing hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

Lovely, higher end establishment. The greek salad, chips and guacamole and Voigner white wine was fantastic. Great outdoor seating and delicious smoothie options! Service was lovely! Very short walk to the beach!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mrstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan Garcia, General Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

We are so proud of our restaurant and our chef's selections. Thank you for sharing your review and we hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2021

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Check in process was fantastic and the pool area and room were both incredible. Right next to one of the beach entrances and in the best area of Guiones. The restaurant was great, but there are tons of other places to eat within a 2 minute walk.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank holdenn640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan Garcia, General Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2021

Thank you very much for your review and for your preference. We are happy you liked our facilities and location. We hope you come back soon to Nosara and The Gilded Iguana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020 via mobile

The hotel is totally amazing! The surf teachers are nice and very helpful. We enjoyed our holidays in nosara!
The rooms, the people, the service, the pool, the outdoor activities are 5 stars! congrats to the very dedicated team and management. we’ll come back

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank elsainnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan Garcia, General Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Our vintage/surf style rooms are designed with passion and focused on ample spaces & comfort. We are happy that you have enjoyed your vacation and we will be looking forward to welcome you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2020

We were blown away by our week long stay at Gilded Iguana in early December that we came back for another week long stay at the end of December! They have created the perfect enviroment for making the surf accessible and having everything you need within 200 yards - great pool, bar, gym, mountain biking, restaurant, surf club, smoothie bar and beach access. We are a young couple that were in search of a spot where we could work and surf and this is was the place! It has speed internet that is up to par with the wifi back in the States. But the most amazing thing about this place is the incredibly attentive staff and concierge. They went the whole nine yards and more to ensure we had the best stay. We will absolutely be back again and cannot recommend this place more highly!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmorris6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan Garcia, General Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2020

We are glad to know our staff has fulfill your expectations and our facilities too. We will be super happy to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

Highly recommended! We visited the Gilded Iguana a few days after hurricane Iota. At first we were hesitant to go, but it ended up being no problem. Roads were ok to reach there and Nosara roads were also ok.

The hotel was recently renovated and it’s looking amazing! It has stunning architecture and very tastefully decorated. Landscaping is lush and tropical. It is is centrally located and you can walk to restaurants and shops. It’s a 200 meter to the beach. Beach is great for surfing but not for swimming.

As soon as we arrived to the hotel we got a locally made gelato which was refreshingly delicious. All social areas are open and allow for wonderful air circulation (specially nowadays with Covid). Covid protocols were enforced and there is gel alcohol everywhere. Every time time the hotel gave us our key back they placed it in a container and sprayed it with alcohol. Guests and staff must wear a mask while walking around the premises.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and are extra spacious. We stayed in the surf rooms. They have closets outside the rooms to store your surfboard. The room featured 2 queen beds. There is no TV. There’s a desk. The shower is very large. Hot water takes a little bit to reach the shower head... so just be patient.
Our room had a little terrace with an outdoor shower. It’s great if you come with sand in your feet or you just want a quick freshen up. There is a mini bar with treats, coffee and drinks.
Plenty of closet space.

They have a little business center where you can work if needed. Hotel has great wifi. The hotel has a surf club with a lounge, juice bar and loads of boards to rent. It is about 100 meters from the hotel and from the beach.

The restaurant is lively and food was very tasty. There are many options to cater for all food tastes. Menus are digital and accessed by scanning a QR code.

Hotel kept us updated of what’s going on through text messages. We got text messages with updates such as happy hour, social events like live music etc. Staff was friendly and helpful.

There are many things to do in and near Nosara. Nosara has amazing yoga, surf, tennis camps, mountain biking, turtle watching, fishing etc. My favorite restaurants in the area: Luna, Cafe Social, Coyol, café de Paris.

My favorite place for yoga: Bodhi tree

Tip:
For something exotic, go to Isla Rosada. It’s a little island with pink sand. You must charter a boat at Garza beach to take you there.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ticaeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donovan Garcia, General Manager at The Gilded Iguana Surf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2020

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are happy to receive such good comments and we hope to welcome you again in Nosara and of course The Gilded Iguana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews