We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (941)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveller rating
716
148
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
716
148
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue monkey a la carte restaurants lago di candia private pool cretan restaurant main restaurant olympic size pool luxury bungalow half board kids club pool restaurant cold towels free lunch sea water pool staff dvd player tennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 941 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel :

Pros.

Very good attention given to guests by all hotel personnel.

Lovely room. (354) plenty of wardrobe / shelf space to put away clothing. Very comfy king sized bed. Large shower, soaker tub, and plenty of hot water at all times.

We were allowed to keep the room until 5 00pm on our day of departure at no extra cost. This was a bonus for us as our flight was late in the evening.

Complimentary big bottle of water left in room daily.

Large pool area with plenty of sunbeds, Very attentive poolside staff, keeping guests supplied with dry beach towels and bottled water.

Good breakfast and evening buffet, more traditional Greek food could have been offered !

Cons.

Entertainment was very poor and pretty much non existent.

Chairs around the foyer bar and general common areas were very uncomfortable and quite low to the ground. ( What's with that?) It seems that the hotel was more concerned with style rather than comfort.

I personally noticed that the pool staff were throwing the empty plastic water bottles into the trash with all other garbage . Very disconcerting as they must provide hundreds of bottles of water per day. Does Crete not have a recycling programme?

The area that the hotel is situated in is very isolated. If you are prepared to spend your whole holiday inside this resort then it will be fine. If this is not your intention and you would like to see some Greek Culture, sample Greek cuisine and hospitality then this is not the resort for you.

There is the small village of Gouves about a 15 minute walk away with a couple of small coffee shops, a supermarket and a few touristy things for children.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank casefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

It started with a great welcome, with hot towels and refreshment followed by a mini tour of this impressive resort. The rooms were excellent, well appointed and perfectly maintained throughout.The range and quality of food and drink left nothing to be desired and the facilities such as the pools were first rate. Above all of this was the friendliness and "can do" attitude of all the staff.

Room Tip: The Lagoon view is impressive at night.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank t4gpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear t4gpr,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read your kind words and more than happy that you have had an enjoyable stay in Grecotel Amirandes.

We always try to assure to all our guests an excellent and unique holiday experience, started from a warm welcome to a nice and comfortable room, accompanied from tailor made and exclusive service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Georgios Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We stayed here at the end of September, what a stunning hotel, the moment we walked got out of the taxi staff were there to take your bags and to greet you. We were escorted to a quiet seating area and given drinks and cold towels while our details were being sorted out.
We were shown straight to our room and our bags were there within 5 minutes.
The rooms were nice and clean and large.

Most nights they have entertainment in the bar or the Amphitheatre which was excellent.

The buffet restaurant food was really good and yes the speciality restaurants were a bit too expensive (but if you make sure you book the A La Carte / Dine Around option it is only a hundred pounds or so more per week) but the food was excellent and certainly not the tiny portions you expect at this level of quality.

All the staff we came across were also excellent, really friendly and helpful, the only one slight minus I would say is getting a Cappuccino or similar at breakfast was not good, several times it took over 15 minutes, but I suppose they only have 2 or 3 machines and the hotel was full.

We booked a Premium Bungalow which the agency we booked through actually listed as a Beachfront Bungalow. This was no fault whatsoever of the hotel but we mentioned this during the feedback request we received after a few days and straight away they met with us and offered us an upgraded room which they really did not have to do as we were happy to stay where we were.

There were always 2 or 3 security guards on duty around the hotel and they were very polite / friendly and remembered you when you came back from going outside the hotel premises, which we did several times as unfortunately the weather was not brilliant.

Will certainly be top of our list if we go back to Crete again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Simon F,

Thank you very much for your review on the Trip Advisor website.

We are delighted to read that you have had an enjoyable stay in Grecotel Amirandes and that you would choose our Resort again for your next Crete holidays.

We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our restaurants and their food variety, with our service and with the upgraded accommodation type. It is always good to mention issues like yours during the stay in order to give us the chance to react and to assure a great holiday experience.

We truly welcome and value your comments as direct feedback helps us always to try harder in order to exceed your expectations and provide exclusive luxury service.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Georgios SKoulaxinosGeneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We love everything about this place. We got upgraded upon our check in to a beautiful villa near the beach which was one of the highlights.
The staff at this resort are absolutely brilliant, our chambermaid ensured that we had fresh flowers everyday and even brought and folded our washing each day! (Now that’s a service worth every penny)
The food were delicious there was always something new on the menu every day (breakfast and dinner) this is based on our 5 days experienced of course.
There are so many private pools in this resort that the main pool was always empty. To be honest though we did not even swim in the main pool because the private beach of Amirandes was so much more inviting. Nevertheless the main pool is probably the best pool I have seen in a very long time!
We will be back for sure very soon!!! Thank you Amirandes Grecotel for your service, we loved every minute of it.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Adventurer282913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Adventurer282913,

Thank you very much for your comment and your time to share your recent holiday experience with us.

It is always a pleasure to offer an upgraded room accommodation to our guests, as long as our capacity allows it and we are happy that this was the highlight of your stay.

Moreover, we would like to thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and service, our food variety and our beach and pool areas. It is true that our main pool is a very special one, as it is Olympic sized and with sea water and with an amazing view over the Mediterranean sea.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our Resort.

Kind Regards,

Georgios Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

My friends and I booked two rooms for the three of us. I was going to have one room and my friends were going to share. On arrival our luggage was taken care of, we got hot towels to clean our hands and drinks. The manager then told us we have been upgraded to a villa. The villa looked amazing, all the detail gone into the place was magnificent. Two suites, one with a king size bed and the other with twin beds. A nespresso coffee machine, speakers for music and a garden with sunbeds, pool dinner table and sofa set. There's so much more.

All the staff were really happy and always saying hello. Even the cleaners, which came to our rooms twice a day to make the beds and give us new towels and water.

We booked the asian resturant which was amazing, then the Italian where we found the quality of food to be great. Then we ate at the buffet restaurant. Whenever we ate we were served to a high standard. We never had a problem and felt looked after. When eating breakfast you can choose where you eat and we ate with a close view of the sea.

I used the gym facilities twice on my stay. The gym is also great with heavy weights, mountain climbers and treadmills and bikes. I then used the sauna all free of charge.

After my friends left I had booked to stay at Rinela Beach Resort & Spa with my girlfriend. This was a big mistake as the room was horrific and staying at Amirandes puts Rinela to shame. So I decided to pay more and book the rest of my trip with my girlfriend at Amirandes. After staying at Rinela for one night there were so many positives I noticed from Amirandes :

- They don't ask you for money straight when you arrive for tax.

- You don't have to pay for towels. You actually have unlimited towels and I've even seen staff laying out towels for guests on sunbeds.

- The rooms are magnificent and clean. Housekeeping does an amazing job keeping the rooms clean. The hotel does an amazing job keeping the rooms renovated properly.

- The staff look happy to work there and are full of energy. The energy you feel there is vibrant and relaxing.

- They aren't trying to squeeze money out of you

- The massages are amazing. My girlfriend and I booked the Amirandes special massage and felt so relaxed.

- The food is great, if you're staying there book the Italian, meat and Asian restaurants.

- Pay more to stay at a place like this. Its worth it 100%. I made a mistake booking Rinela Beach Spa Resort who claim they are 5 star, they aren't.

I proposed to my girlfriend on this trip at Amirandes in front of their pool which has the sea on the other side. She said yes and it was amazing, the best place to do it. We first ate at the Italian restaurant where we were sitting in the middle of water which sits between the sea and the hotel. Check the pictures ☺.

I will be booking here in the future and recommending this to all my friends and family.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank rajinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Rajin M,

Thank you so much for this flawless review and for your time to share your opinion about Grecotel Amirandes with us.

We are truly delighted to read your compliments and we are more than happy that you left our Resort with the best impressions and memories, especially as it was a very important trip with a happy ending!
We wish you all the best for your future together and a lifetime full of happiness!

Moreover, we are thankful to read your compliments regarding our restaurants, our Elixir Spa and the gym area and most of all regarding our staff and service, which is of our highest priorities.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your future wife back soon!

Kind Regards,

Georgios Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews