We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
905 results
Traveller rating
684
144
47
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
144
47
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue monkeya la carte restaurantsprivate poollago di candiamain restaurantolympic size poolluxury bungalowhalf boardkids clubpool restaurantsea waterdvd playerpool staffthe general managertennis courtsfantastic hotelfamily suite
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 905 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

This was perfect from all perspectives- beach, territory, activities, food -main restaurant, a la card restaurants, pools. But staff hospitality makes the stay comfortable and relaxing. Beach is small, however this is a feature of Grecotel chain-small beaches but perfect location

Room Tip: Anyone is a good
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Tatiana T
Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that the restaurants, the beach, the pools and mostly the undivided attention of our team has made you consider your holiday as perfect!

We most certainly are looking forward to welcome you back on the next possible occasion for another relaxing holiday!

Best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully designed. Luxurious, quiet. A lovely private beach and big swimming pool. The atmosphere is relaxing.
The have regular spacious rooms, rooms with a small swimming pool and villas.
The staff is amazing: attentive, helpful, making their best to give you a great time, giving attention to details. The attitude is very personal, they give a feeling that they really care about you.
The food is good. Don't order the degustation menu in the Cretan restaurant- toooooo much food.
All in all- a great vacation!!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bendet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Bendet
Greetings from the Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort.
In first instance allow me to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday and for sharing the experience on Tripadvisor.

We are all delighted that our team has managed to make you feel welcome and rest assured that our undivided attention and Cretan hospitality is our primary aim!

Thank you for especially mentioning the relaxing atmosphere, the pool and beach areas and the rooms. Having said that, allow us to mention that too much food is a must in any Cretan holiday and we are therefore very pleased that you have opted for the Cretan degustation menu at Xasteria, our awarded Cretan Restaurant!

We hope to be able to welcome you back at Amirandes in the not so distant future,

Best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We visited this hotel for our family holiday. The rooms and restuarants are wonderful and the hotel kindly upgraded us on arrival. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. The only disappointment is the location as you have to go by taxi If you want to go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Storeys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015

Dear Storeys 12
Thank you for choosing the Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort for your recent Family Cretan Holiday.

We are very pleased to read in your review that you have found the rooms, the restaurants and the assistance and welcome of our team up to your expectations.

In addition to that, we are delighted that our availability has permitted us to upgrade you to a room type category superior than the one you have chosen upon reservation.

Even though the location of the resort is indeed not to an immediately close vicinity of the city centre, it is only a 25 minute drive from Heraklions sightseeing and shopping attractions, 10 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Hersonissos and a very comfortable 15 minute drive from Heraklion International Airport, offering almost an immediate start to the holiday of our guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back to the Amirandes on the next possible occasion.

Best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Had high expectations of Amirandes and, in the main, it delivered.

Plus points were
- A la carte food and choice of restaurants was amazing. We paid half board a la carte and I'd advise that. My children ages 20,17 and 14 enjoyed it too
- Staff were delightful. Very helpful and eager to please. Organised water park and quad bikes at reception and it was perfect. Almost all staff were brilliant and their English was very good.

- Spa and gym were very good too
- We played football at 5pm every day which is organised by hotel. the two guys running it were great. It was fun. Sad more people didn't get involved
- Transfer to and from airport was brilliant. One of my kids left a day early and it was handled very well at the airport by Amirandes' man. Arrival was also excellent although departure a bit disappointing.

A few areas to improve on to make it exceptional rather than very good:

-the rooms are disappointing for a good hotel. Particularly the beds and sheets. They have a pillow menu (brilliant idea). We discovered this when asking if they had other pillows as ours were uncomfortable. We requested 8 but they only supplied 2. That was on day 2 and we heard no more in remaining 4 days.
- breakfast a little disappointing but still acceptable
- slow wifi
- We asked for extra sunbed one day but never got it. Same with drink in Minotaur restaurant. The hotel was busy so understandable but to be top hotel these things need to be addressed.

All in all we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a well designed hotel. A lot of children were staying so if you are a couple might not be for you in peak.

Many thanks to waiting staff, reception, cleaners, spa, two sport guys and beach staff.

Stayed: July 2015
6  Thank 58marco61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, General Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear 58marco61
Greetings from the Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort and Crete

We are delighted to read that you have in overall enjoyed most aspects of your stay and particularly the restaurant and food, the transfer and airport service, the spa and sporting facilities and mostly the service of our team of professionals.

The opinion of our guests is our most valuable tool in our constant effort to assess the level of our services and facilities and we would like to thank you for providing us with a constructive insight of your recent stay.

Rest assured that we will consider all your comments in order to take the necessary improvement actions and it goes without saying that we will pass on your comments to the members of the team highlighted in your review.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Having read the enormous amount of 'fantastic' reviews about this hotel before we booked it I was pretty sure its a sure bet to pick this hotel and leave the others aside. After visiting Amirandes Im really puzzled whether or not us and those people have visited the same hotel.
First of all I have to admit that there are definately good things about this hotel ( near airport location, great views and cool outside design, nice seawater swimming pool) but they subside in darkness vs bad points that I will mention below making this hotel imho a questionable place to visit especially with kids. We stayed c3 weeks. big family with kids (from 3 to 8 yrs)
Very poor sound insulation of rooms both from the halls and windows. Anybody speaking more or less loudly passing by near your door will defin wake up your kids during day sleep. Room cleaning personell aggravates this by suddenly deciding to discuss smth between themselves in the corridor being 30 meters apart) Also almost 100pc of floor area is covered with ceramic tiles making the sound of passing by minibar/cleaning trolleys very loud. Same applies to thin windows in rooms (ppl swimming in the private pools below your room).
Sea was very rough for about 60pc of the stay (making it unsuitable for small kids) and given the "kindofluxury" type of the hotel none of the normal practice measures like cutwater stone lines are there, which is sad. Also I would mention very narrow beach lines for those who booked normal rooms and not the villas.. for villas they have a very wide and cool beach with permanent sun tents... seems like discrimination type of attitude given the fact that booking 3 rooms is almost equivalent in price.
Below average food in the main restaurant (at the price of 50 eur) especially at the kids day time menu. Another point : no a la carte menu in the main restaurant. So if you have to feed kids, buffet is really the only meaningful option for them (u can find few dishes more or less ok plus kids eat free) but for adults unwilling to pay 50 eur for this food no choice. So you have to visit another restaurant ala carte after. A la cart restaurants are good. Also I have to mention amazingly helpful and friendly staff of the restaurants like waiters and managers (excluding obviously the main chef).. Cleanness of dishes is not great too.
Very slow wifi...except reception area.
No kids channels cartoons etc (given poor wifi underlines the problem)
Very boring entertainment programs despite animation team efforts (really trying hard) to make it nice.
Thats pretty much all the major points we wanted to make.

Stayed: July 2015
4  Thank imakhnachev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2015

Dear imakhnachev,
Greetings from the Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort and thank you for taking some time to review your recent stay with us on Tripdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed the layout and views of the hotel, our Olympic size pool and most of all the friendliness and service offered by our team.

In regards to your comments about the food, we would like to note the buffet prepared for our little friends, has been especially prepared and designed by dieticians and consists of three different section: “Baby food” with a selection of dishes prepared by natural and carefully selected ingredients, “Naughty but good” with a selection of children favourites such as pizza or mini burgers and “Healthy and attractive” with some healthier dish options. However if we have any special wishes due to nutrition preferences or special conditions like allergies, our staff is more than happy to assist our guests by preparing the dish in question.

It is a pity that during your stay with us the weather did not assist in enhancing your holiday as you expected to. As opposed to the period of your visit, the occasional wind subsided and the temperature rose to a great extend. I am sure you can appreciate the weather is not predictable as we wish it would be. Our Olympic size main pool, just like you mentioned is the next best possible alternative, with sea water and harboured by the wind.

Thank you once again for your review and for your constructive comments about the issues you had during your stay. Every single comments is valuable to us, yours have been thoroughly discussed with our Management team in order to look into areas for improvement accordingly, as this is our primary aim.

Best regards

Giorgos Skoulaxinos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews