We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (841)
Filter reviews
841 results
Traveller rating
285
223
116
95
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
223
116
95
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our room was spacious children and adults star beach water polo budget holiday great holiday beer and wine all inclusive food animation team cleaned daily bus stop cleaned every day great fun hired a car zara george conductor
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 841 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

George, Zara and Niko are the best guys in the hotel! Everything’s perfect, I strongly recommend this hotel to everyone. Clean rooms food was wonderful clear public places all around the place
.... buss to the beach from the hotel for free !!! Amazing people we will be back for sure...

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank KarolinaW950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula N, Manager at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Karolina,

Thank you for your review regarding the holidays’ experience you had at Club Lyda
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Looking forward to accommodating you again in your next trip to Crete!

Regards

Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

The hotel is beautifully clean and staff friendly and helpful - the receptionist bent over backwards to help when I was admitted to hospital and was always courteous and friendly. The room cleaners were lovely as were the shop staff and waiting/bar staff - especially George. There is a very useful shop with some good inexpensive souvenirs/presents. We were impressed with the room which was a spacious, pleasant room with a good sized bathroom. We were lucky we were on the second floor and had a lovely view of the sea from our roomy balcony. Pools were lovely - one is nice and deep - good for swimming when there aren't too many lilos. The one pictured has a deeper end and the shallower end for games. There is another more secluded one which I did not go in.
Only issue was mosquitoes which seem to come and go - just take a good anti-mosquito spray.
Entertainment staff work hard to please - had some good nights with bingo, karaoke and dancing, although it is limited as might be expected for 3 star. Also the food is variable. I always found something suitable, although my partner struggled a little at times. The soup is good; there is always pasta, fish and salad and ice cream. The staff try very hard on what is probably a minute budget, but if all else fails the shop does lovely paninis for 2 euros.

The main bus route passes at the top of the road providing easy transport to Hersonissos, Agios Nikolaus and Heraklion. The hotel runs a shuttle to the beach four times a day which works perfectly. There are a few shops around the hotel with a couple of cafes opposite - all very useful and welcoming.
This hotel provides excellent service and facilities for the money. I don't know what people expect for their money sometimes - nothing is ever perfect. The hotel staff work exceptionally hard to provide us with a good holiday - we thought it was a lovely place.

Stayed: September 2018
1  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Nice hotel but a lot of negatives that spoil it. The food was not great with limited choice and very repetitive. If you like Spam you'll love it here. Unlike most fully inclusive hotels I have visited, food was not available throughout the day, only at the allotted meal times. We ate out at nearby restaurants almost every day and were always surrounded by a large number of fellow guests doing the same thing.. The hotel staff don't seem to check those who eat at their hotel but doesn't really need to as nobody would knowingly go there by choice.

The drinks were limited and very poor with a strange aftertaste, even the Tea had a strange taste. Cocktails and many spirits weren't available unless you paid for them. I bought a couple of bottles of "cocktails" from within the hotel but was then told they couldn't be consumed in the bar, only in our room? After 10.30pm you had to pay for all your drinks.

DON'T buy any trips from within the hotel.....big mistake! We paid 45 Euros each for a trip but were only allowed 1 hour there so it was a bit rushed.....even worse we then had to pay 8 Euros in admission fees (there was no mention of this when we booked). To rub salt into the wounds I was talking to a couple who booked in town and they only paid 19 Euros each.

The air conditioning is not cheap, we paid 7 Euros per day...so £62 extra for a 10 day break.

It seems that everything here is done on the cheap.

This is NOT a 3 star hotel and is best avoided.

Stayed: September 2018
2  Thank shininglight2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula N, Manager at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review regarding your stay at Club Lyda hotel . We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your holidays, as we always do our best in order to offer memorable holidays’ experience to all our guests. Moreover, we would like to mention that we appreciate every feedback and comments of our guests
,I would like to inform you that the stars of the hotel are provided by the Greek tourism oganization following strict controls

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We stayed between 25/8/2018 to 8/9/2018 and was pleasantly surprised. Having read the reviews online we were unsure what to expect.
Our girls are very fussy eaters but every meal time we all found plenty to eat, the food was always quickly replaced when running low and the waiters were always very pleasant and quick to clean empty tables.
It would have been nice to have different spirits offered on the all inclusive but we were aware of this before booking, I do feel when alcohol drinks are offered for 'free' people take the mic which spoils it for everyone else.
On a morning there wasn't the usual rush to get sun beds, no matter what time of the day you could always find some beds still available. The girls loved the pools and spent plenty of time in them, they always looked clean and well kept.
There is entertainment for children and adults along with kids clubs but we chose not to use these.
The hotel offers a shuttle bus to the beach 4 times a day, this can be very busy but the driver would always do a return trip for us if we didn't want to get on the full bus. To walk to the beach is about 20 minutes. The beach is lovely, it cost €18 for 4 beds and 2 umbrellas.
Whilst there we had a massive rain and thunder storm, all staff were on deck to help with the clean up process. My husband helped the manager "Roula" and as a thank you she put some wine and fruit in our room which was such a lovely thought.
Our room was cleaned everyday with plenty of fresh towels.
All staff and management are pleasant and very helpful, if you have a query they will do their best to sort it out.
We arrived late on the evening (once tea had ended), when we got to our room they had left us 4 bottles of water and 4 plates of food which was a lovely thought.

The internet isn't the best, to get the best access you needed to sit in the entrance but during busy times it didn't always work very well much to our daughters dismay.

Whilst there we visited Dinosaurs Park which both our girls loved, they offer plenty of shaded areas as it can get very hot during the middle of the day, we went by taxi for €10 each way.

We would definitely return to Club Lyda for a family holiday.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank neiljennyfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

This Hotel is awful! And I don't believe any of the positive reviews on here.... unless of course you are Polish and screaming drunk!
My son was sworn at by Polish and we were called "stupid English with no education "
There were 3 men screaming drunk falling over at the bar. Men fighting in front of children. One evening there was men fighting outside our room people were asking for the police to be called but that didn't happen!
Polish woman surrounded a English lady on sunbed and made her move because they wanted the sunbed.
Awful and very frightening behaviour!
The food is awful, sprouts and liver ! Breakfast is awful poor quality food!
Like Prison food!
The bar staff are not friendly! A girl serving that looked like Madusa...... strange girl!
The electrics blew and water supply to hotel was shocking! Smells of sewage!
My children were scared at points on this holiday, awful experience.
And the entertainment staff were constantly playing "we are champions " the Polish and Russians would chant..... very frightening and intimidating, I feel that they contributed to the tense atmosphere, some Mexican looking man vile!
So yeah I would not recommend this hotel it felt like being in a prison with Ferral, racist guests

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank j0l0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula N, Manager at Club Lyda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to write a review regarding your stay at Club Lyda hotel . We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations . Moreover, we would like to mention that we appreciate every feedback and comments of our guests
surely what you describe for our guests does not correspond to reality
i suppose that the feedback was written by your young 10-12 year old son who represented your family at our meeting in my office,
in the eyes of children small things look great and their imagination works more than the imagination of adults

Best regards

Roula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews