We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
75
57
23
7
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
57
23
7
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taxi rank minute walk bus stop shops bars restaurants cleaning the pool area main road mylos taverna lassithi plateau great holiday sun terrace solar panels fridge freezer bar prices lovely ladies lovely breeze self catering apartment seen better days
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Rena Apartments is a Cretan run establishment with the owner and her family heavily involved. They work hard to keep the place clean and comfortable. Very friendly and a good source of local information.

The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Please remember you are not paying 5* prices and the local economy is struggling... the towels may not match and the sheets may not be changed every day...but the room is cleaned every day and staff attentive.

We paid for bed and breakfast so a choice of food was available every morning. We loved the Greek breakfast and it set us up for the day ... often not requiring lunch!

The pool is small but welcome. They try and keep it clear of petals but that is an uphill battle. No better way to cool down!

We paid 5€ a day extra for air conditioning. It was worth every penny to be able to sleep in a hot climate.
We also paid a small daily charge for the room safe...I do feel this should be provided free with a refundable deposit for the safe key.

Our balcony was awesome!

Pleasant beaches ten minutes walk away. Choice of restaurants and shops. There is a kitchenette in the room so it is possible to self cater.

Our thanks to Rena, Gina and Aris for a great stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank K7610IMkenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Terrible stay, happy to go home

We planned our trip here (2weeks) because off the nice reviews. It should have been a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Just to make it easier, we included the breakfast too. It all sounded like the perfect holiday. Have we been foolished....

Our first night was terrible, as most off our nights will be. We knew the airco was not included. But we are not a bigg fan from airco's, we thought if we open the windows, we will survive. Unfortunately we were placed above the restaurant where the different smells off fright food will enter easely. Although we love french fries, we didnt want to smell like one.
Around 03.00 some cats were entering the room trough the window. Cute but not so cute when you are allergic for it. So we were forced to shut the windows to keep the smell and kitties out and pay for the airco. After 2hours off sleeping we were all up again. At 05.00 the sun comes up and so were we.. the appartment had no curtains to keep the light out. So far for sleeping..

The next day we talked to the hoost (Rena) and asked her for a solution. She was not acting cooperative, in fact she did not take any responsibility, she even told us to call the goverment about it (?). We had to beg her to meet us somewhere so we can enjoy the holiday. Finally at the end of the day, when she had spoken with the manager, she had another appartment for us. She made it look like she moved heaven and earth for us and it was really tough on her. Other guests were put in the appartment we left behind, having the same problems all over again...

The rest off the holiday wasn't any better, to sum it up:
- the "beds" are hard an uncomfortable, some "beds" are stone benches with a thin cushen on top.
- there are no closing times for the bar. Aslong as there are guest paying for drinks, the bar is open.
- almost every night you can find drunken tourists at the bar around 03.00 and a drunken tourist is not a quiet one
- a lot off noises at night (drunken tourist, doggs, cars, etc), so still not an option to open up the windows, you are forced to pay the airco and bigg trouble to get some good sleep at night
- every other night something broke down; the generator, water supplier, toilet etc. It looks like they grather keep the old things and continue fixing them instead off replacing them with something new and better working
- if we wanted the breakfast that we have paid for in advanced, we needed to wait +/- 1.5hour. Guests from outside or who still needed to pay, were helped before us. Many days we bought our breakfast outside because we did not have time to wait so long, the hoost did not care.
- we received the same breakfast EVERYDAY and  the quality was poor, raw eggs, senseo pad as tea bagg, sausages that tasted like catfood etc.
- when we asked for anything, like a small change in breakfast or just some toilet paper, the hoost gave us such a bad attitude,  like we are making a problem for them. The hoost is working verry hard, looked stressed out at times and misses social skills to support guests
- showers are small and there is no place to hang the showerhead
- some appartments dont have a shower curtain and you only get one small towel to dry the floor, with 4 persons in 1 appartment this is a mission impossible
- the kitchen quality from the appartments is poor, not easy to cook anything here
- no dish brush or dish soap available, all small things you expect in a appartment, you need to buy yourself
- the swimmingpool area is nice but gets overcrowded at times

The only good things were the manager/cook who tried to be helpfull, worked hard and cooked nice food. Also Dena the cleaning lady tried to make us at ease.

I would not recommend this appartment to anyone. Please continue searching for another place to stay if you are searching for a nice holiday with the possibility to get some rest and be treated like a guest instead off an unwanted pett.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

The apartment had a charming atmosphere with a beautiful garden. However, for me what was more surprising how welcoming and friendly the hosts were. Kind, helpful always smiling and there to please us. We stayed for a week but even from the start they were as foster parents to us. Love them! Hope to return there one day!:)

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

If your looking for friendly owners and workers this is the place for you Rena dena and all the staff will do anything for you don’t listen to bad reviews because they don’t make any sense once you visit I would happily stay again next time I visit Crete really lovely and friendly hard working people see you again soon Love James Sam Lucy And Arley

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank James260186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

It's fair to say, these apartments are basic but hold a rustic charm, the owner Rena and her small staff of Dina, Aris, and a couple of others are friendly and attentive and will do anything to help make your stay better. The focal point of the apartments is the enticing pool which is small but adequate for the number of rooms, this is completed with a charming little bridge and a sun terrace. The rooms are basic but similar to other Greek accommodation and are cleaned regularly with towels and sheets changed often. The kitchenette has a fridge, a small two hob oven and enough equipment to make basic meals. On site there is a small bar serving simple traditional food with a welcoming seating area pleasant enough to spend time with a drink or two. Rena also runs a small shop onsite selling food and souvenir items which includes fresh bakery and fruit and vegetables daily. The location of the apartments couldn't be better if like us you don't want to be in the thick of it, although Kato Gouves is not a busy resort. There are a plethora of bars and restaurants to choose from all within a 15-20 minutes walk. Just a minute walk from the apartments is a bus stop, where you can get a bus to Chersonissos or Iraklion (bus to Chersonissos was 7€ one way for the four of us.) Just past the bus stop is a Car hire place Where you hire a small car for a week for 260€. In all Rena apartments is a very pleasant place to make your base for a few weeks holiday.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews