We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The highlight of our trip to Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The highlight of our trip to Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

We booked three rooms for our team of six for the "Golden Spurtle" World Porridge Chamionship. The proprietors, Lindsay and Allison, provided us the perfect base for our important mission of bringing the Golden Spurtle to Portland, Oregon. That's right, we won! It was a crazy adventure and the Fairwinds was an incredible support to us. They let us ship a pile of heavy boxes in advance, they let us use their wonderful kitchen for practicing and cheered us on the whole way through. Everything about the place was perfect. Nice and sometimes playful hosts, large, spacious rooms with all the amenities (including fancy soaps and the like, ewww), free wifi and a computer, steamy hot water, gorgeous view, privacy, the works. Everything in the place was immaculate. You wouldn't find cleaner bathrooms in Buckingham Palace, swear. The food was probably the best we had the whole time in Scotland. The menu basically consisting of anything you wanted, from traditional stuff like haggis and beans to continental stuff like fresh fruit, juice, eggs anyway you want, The best part fo breakfast: strong french press coffee. Thank God! If you're staying in Speyside or in the area, you'd be wise to check out Fairwinds. Great place. We're heading back there next year again for the competition. Lindsay, Allison, thank you very much for the experience. Your friends at BRM.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
144
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
in Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Wonderful hotel. Our room was large with a very big bath. Our hosts were friendly. The breakfast was excellent, served in a lovely light conservatory, offering a great selection to suit all tastes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemsinHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

What a wonderful hotel in Carrbridge. You will not be dissapointed.
Breakfast was wonderful.
If you are looking for a tranquil spot this is it.
Alison and Lindsay are the perfect hosts.
Also Scottish wildlife on your doorstep
This should be number one choice for anyone visiting this area.
Linda and Roger

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogermorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

Stayed for 3 nights,excellent room,fantastic food,and marvellous hosts,who provided those little extras that made our stay that bit more special.Strongly recommended.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank canastaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We really enjoyed our time at Fairwinds. The tranquil and serene surroundings, the lovely conservatory, the playful squirrels and rabbits, the cute ducks and the lazy cats, they were all so many small pieces of nice and beautiful. What's more, the owners are simply great and were very, very helpful in retrieving our bags which BA lost and flew around the world for a week. Unfortunately Scotland is quite far away for us, but we would otherwise go back there often,

Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.4 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
10.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
11.9 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
10.3 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
9.0 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Property: Fairwinds Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing