We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
720
320
143
47
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
720
320
143
47
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa break hydrotherapy pool spa facilities garden lodge outdoor jacuzzi duncan's den full body massage swedish massage included in our package on arrival hot tub deluxe room lovely spa roll top bath steam room birthday treat romantic break
Filter
Updating list...
769 - 774 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2014

From the get go the staff were welcoming, polite and friendly. The hotel was immaculate and the food was amazing. A big thank you to the maitre d'hôtel who couldn't have been more professional. Loved the spa my only regret is we didn't stay longer! If a relaxing spa weekend or short break is what you are looking for then you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a night away. Stayed on a Sunday night and were upgraded to a garden lodge. The reception even called us on Saturday to advise ! Lovely room. Spa is fantastic one of the best we've been to. Dinner was very good, nice bar area for a pre-drink, and were called through after ordering which was a nice touch. Atmospheric restaurant. Really enjoyed it, there isn't anything to really see or do near it, but you don't need to ! Just relax and enjoy. Off main road but still feels private. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecciT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We stayed at the Carlton Hotel during the summer whilst attending a conference at the show ground. It was fabulous. Loved the spa and facilities, the food was excellent and such a homely surrounding. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room tip: our room was perfet near to the exit to the garden and close to the spa facilities.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BannatyneCH, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear ValerieK,

Thank you for awarding us five stars.
I was delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Charlton House ,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Had a wonderful Birthday treat. Spa day with lunch. Excellent service and friendly staff. Nothing too much trouble.
Very tasty, enjoyable lunch. Beautiful building and surroundings.
Spa facilities all you would expect and more.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsey NC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BannatyneCH, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear Lyndsey NCH,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at Charlton House,
I was glad to see that you had such a wonderful time,

We hope to welcome you back to the Spa soon,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas
and

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

There are three key takeaways from this weekend. Firstly the lumpy bed which meant neither I nor my wife slept well the first night. This was addressed when we complained, and we were moved to another room.
Secondly the food service was glacial throughout, with a 40+ minute wait for afternoon tea, and not much better for our meals.
Throughout Charlton House was clean and the team tried hard to put right the issues that we mentioned and overall we enjoyed our stay. The food was nice, the dinner was good, and although the spa is small, the treatments that we experienced were good.
Sheppton Mallet is pleasant although there is not much to do apart from a nice church, several pubs and a somewhat limited designer outlet, including an expensive factory shop for Mulberry.
Looking at value for money and the complete experience, which could be made better with some staff empowerment, we will not be planning to repeat the experience in future.

Some areas for improvement:
On Arrival
1. Wrong day for dinner reservation
2. Wrong day for afternoon tea reservation
3. Welcome letter in room with wrong name
Afternoon Tea
4. Requested to sign for tea BEFORE food was served
5. 40 minute wait between order and delivery of food, although tea was delivered separately and was cold when food arrived
6. Leather luggage for use as a table is quirky but not practical as it wobbled, and the tea pots and crockery stick to leather when wet.
7. Very slow to clear away used plates, pots & cups so we had tea whilst staring at dirty plates
8. Coronation chicken in sandwiches - odd, and too strong a flavour for afternoon tea.
9. Cakes were unappetising, and the plate was decorated with some very sad strawberries that were well past their best.
10. Scones were very nice!
In the Room
11. Separate beds when requested a double room. This was addressed.
12. In the room, no mirror suitable for makeup /shaving
13. No glasses/mugs for bathroom use
14. Very lumpy bed!!!
15. Kettle not clean
Cleanliness
16. Everywhere was clean - well done housekeeping!!!
Food Service
17. At breakfast, lunch & dinner service was slow (glacial) with staff rushing off from the dining area to do other things and leaving the service, often forgetting what they were doing, or leaving it to a colleague to cover for them. For example on Sunday morning the breakfast was left under a hot lamp for a prolonged period whilst we waited.
On Departure
18. Bill not made up correctly (e.g. included a charge for the inclusive afternoon tea).
The country house was as described and the gardens were lovely, although a little evening lighting would have greatly enhanced the dining experience.

Room tip: Rooms that do not face the road are quieter
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank S1bb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BannatyneCH, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel - Charlton House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Dear S1bb0,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am very sorry that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet with your expectations.
As you say we changed your room as soon as we knew that you did not like your bed.
I was glad to hear you enjoyed your Spa Treatments and that you found our housekeeping team to be excellent.
Our Guest Relations Manager dealt with the restaurant issues and assisted on checkout.
I am sorry there were aspects of your stay that you were still unhappy with.Customer feedback is very important to us and I will look into all the issues you have raised,

Kind Regards,

Sakis Dinas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews