We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
27
46
39
37
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
46
39
37
62
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016

we were given the bridal suite at no extra charge very swish shower could be improved nice breakfast & dinner bedroom quiet no rip off here would return any time plenty free parking could do with more books to read

Room tip: bridal suite excellent no experience of others
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bondKillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Attended a wedding reception at this hotel. In February booked a double room for 2 people for 2 nights so that we could attend the wedding and then the reception. Discount on room for wedding guests. When we arrived the owner/manager, not sure which, said the room was for 1 person for 1 night and no discounted price. Length of stay was no problem and booking was changed to 2 nights for 2 people, but my husband argued about price, but we had to pay the full price in the end. (What more could we do as we were there for the wedding). The stairs leading up to our room were very creaky and the carpet could do with either a good clean or a replacement. Room was clean and had obviously just been re-painted although no very well as emulsion was on skirting boards, and back of chair and the pictures had been painted around. Small television in the room, but that didn't bother us as we weren't there to watch TV. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Hotel is just off a busy roundabout but the traffic noise didn't keep us awake and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast next morning was delicious - Cereal, then full English, toast and coffee. Picked up a leaflet which advertised discounted prices for rooms of wedding guests so went to speak to manager/owner but he wasn't interested and told us to see the lady who had served us breakfast. She checked the booking and told us we hadn't been put down as wedding guests but that was no problem and she would refund the difference in price, which she did. Food for the wedding reception wasn't supplied by the hotel so can't comment on any lunch or evening meal, but the next day's breakfast was again delicious. All the staff on the bar were very polite and helpful as were the 2 ladies who served us breakfast the second day. Wi-fi was available free if you wanted to use it. Only used the hotel because the reception was there so don't think I would have cause to stay again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Just came back from this hotel and it was the worst two night stay.
The beds and pillows are so soft you can feel the springs whilst you sleeping, the only thing is at night it is very quite but in the morning it is near a round about.
Would be good if the room was cleaned daily but the amount of staff could be limited for time.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

We paid £87.50 per night for a family room, we stayed two nights. It was base camp for my friends wedding.

The hotel is seriously dated and in need of work. Just the journey to the room showed that there is a serious lack of attention to detail and comfort. The stair boards are springy and do not feel secure, the sofas at the top of the stairs are grotty and worn, as we walked along the corridor and looked out there was a roof littered with cigarette butts and some old jeans hanging on a washing line.

We entered the suite, the bridal suite, which had a rickety old four poster and some rather flat old looking flat decorative cushions. The view was of the bins outside the window and there was a load buzzing noise, identified as the extractor fan from the kitchen below.

Our room was next door and we had the same view, through a tatty window. Our light had no bulb and the lampshade was old and dirty looking. The bed was terribly hard and very uncomfortable and clearly has not been replaced in some time. A shame really as the rooms are a good size.

I like a budget hotel, but at minimum I expect a clean venue with comfortable bed. This did not meet these basic requirements. The rooms had a smell, one I can't quite identity but not pleasant.

The staff were all very pleasant, but clearly cannot keep up with their hotel being full and everyone meeting up for breakfast (our party had all but one room).

This hotel could be fantastic with a little investment, tlc and care. I am looking forward to getting home and sleeping in a bed which doesn't have me waking in pain with dead arms/legs!

Will not be staying again. Would not recommend.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank CharleyMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

this pub/hotel was used as the reception for our daughters wedding on Wednesday 25th of July 2016 our gripe for this place is the food service or lack of in our case. its the only place where the bride was one of the last people to be served with our grandson being the last then to make things go down hill was my wife being up all night with the sickness bug from hell she spent the whole of the next day in bed we also found out other members of our party were ill in other varying ways the following day to. we could not understand that we were given meal choices weeks before but on the day it was a complete cock up they need staff that take notice and understand what was wrong and to make changes accordingly as a taxi driver for this area I will not be recommending this venue to any body

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tegula2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews