We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Andi Woolass
London, United Kingdom

Next level hotelling

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jun 2023via mobile
Impeccable service, beautiful neat, and comfortable rooms with lovely bathrooms. Breakfast was phenomenal and we loved fussing Lev & Ten as well.
The whole area was super chilled and a lovely place to walk and explore with a great patisserie, Thai and bars near by.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Harbour Suites
€109
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    €109
0.2 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
€146
    0.2 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    €232
    Fully refundable
    • Priceline
    • Agoda.com
      €232
    0.4 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    €178
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.2 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    1.9 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • ZenHotels.com
    0.2 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    • Priceline
    4.0 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €181
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      €163
    • ZenHotels.com
      €156
    • Hotels.com
      €163
    0.0 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €315
    Fully refundable
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      €315
    3.9 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €99
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      €99
    • ZenHotels.com
      €98
    • Hotels.com
      €99
    3.9 km from Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Monnickendam
    Reviews (151)
    Filter reviews
    151 results
    Traveller rating
    85
    47
    14
    3
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    85
    47
    14
    3
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews historical building netherlands amsterdam locals closet stroll
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 151 reviews
    Reviewed 16 May 2022

    We (a thirty-something old couple) stayed here for one night in May 2022 and also had dinner in the Michelin star restaurant.

    NOTHING to complain about the restaurant, it is SUPERB.

    However, considering this is a Suitehotel attached to a Michelin star restaurant, the hotel is terrible. It LOOKS amazing, but the bed is super uncomfortable, the synthetic duvet is terrible, there is no coffee/tea at the room available, water was not going down the shower drain properly and the worst part was a crow's nest right above our bed in the roof directly on the drywall which kept us up all night aside the terrible bed.

    Of course, the hotel owners are not responsible for a crow's nest, but when we told them about it, the hostess simply said: "But at least be thankful that you will sleep well tonight, in your own bed". Amazing compassion there, NOT. While it would have suited her to offer us a complementary cup a coffee for instance, to sort of make up for the terrible night, she chose defense and take the LARGE amount of money we paid for a (yes incredible) dinner and 1 night overstay.

    In short: BIG YES for the restaurant, but NEVER AGAIN for the hotel.

    Room tip: Go to a different hotel
    Date of stay: May 2022
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lindsayv870
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Marc Boeljon, Eigenaar at Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2022

    Hiii,

    We of course are sorry for your night that was brutally disrupted by the crows nest. Unfortunatly the sarcastic humour of my collegue was apparently not understood right because of course we do care. By law in the Netherlands bird nests are legally and in full protected and it is not allowed for any reason to intervene. Only when the bird nest is left en no birds show to use the bird nest you may take the nest away after approval from an expert.

    Fortunately, the bird nest has been removed end of summer August 2022.

    We appreciate that you mention that we were not at fault but for future guests I find it important that they understand why we could not deal with the issue at that time but have done so recently after the green light.

    We would like te excuse us that you interpreted the sarcastic humor as being rude. That was not our intention.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 March 2022

    I spent one night in Monnickendam for business and was recommended this hotel by locals. I'm very familiar with The Netherlands and know the whole country, from North to South. Rather than staying in Amsterdam I preferred opting for the cosy atmosphere of a Dutch village and wasn't disappointed. The hotel hosts a one-starred Michelin restaurant, therefore I suggest to book the whole experience. Parking wise is problematic as there are roadworks that make the access to the parking quite complex to explain. But parking in this time of the year is free so just get the chance to have a stroll in the city centre. The hotel doesn't have elevator: for those who carry a hold luggage just be aware. Personnel is lovely and welcoming, very chatting and friendly. The hotel amenities are in line with the XVII Century history of the building, but for a business trip is complicated, not enough plugs in the room, lighting is not well placed, there is no space at all on the bedside table and no space for the hold luggage. There is a closet indeed, but for a couple staying I'm wondering how can fit all in. I appreciate is a historical building but a few little improvements are encouraged. I would definitely come back.

    Date of stay: March 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Leonor P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

    We booked a single night to escape reality. It was absolutely amazing! Our room was beautiful with great attention to detail. The bathroom was simply stunning with a jacuzzi big enough for both of us. We enjoyed a 6 course meal, with great accompanying wines. It was wonderful to see the creativeness of the staff with regards to the Corona regulations. It really did feel like a great escape.

    Date of stay: March 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank lilianvh
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 23 June 2020

    we had a short stay in the Posthoorn hotel; all of it wasexcellent, and the food (Diner and Breakfast) ...mmmmmmmmm!! All personel very friendly and attent, all things well served.
    We enjoyed it very much.

    Date of stay: June 2020
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank caroluslaake
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 19 June 2020 via mobile

    So we reserved for a single night, allowing us to enjoy a culinary 5 course meal and accompanying wine selection. We weren’t disappointed as the entire dinner experience has been more than excellent.

    We arrived earlier that afternoon on the reserved parking on a warm sunny day and if I must mention a single point of improvement then it would be best that the bins should not be positioned that close to the parking area, or emptied sooner...😉

    The deluxe room was of a good size with a lovely bathroom. Clean too. Good wifi reception, fine quality cable TV as well. The bed was a tiny bit too short, but knowing that emperor Napoleon Bonaparte actually has spent nights in this very place, I shouldn’t complain too much!

    Breakfast the next day was served at our table. Freshly pressed orange juice, some fried eggs with bacon, local cheese and ham and a few very nice latte macchiatos were a.o. on our menu (and very much enjoyed too).

    In all, a short but lovely stay!

    Date of stay: June 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Spartannl
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews