We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
374
11
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
374
11
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tamar valley magical place extensive grounds own home games room sitting room cream tea beautiful room four poster bed honesty bar grounds are lovely breakfast was delicious log fire marmalade wonderful stay peace and quiet top quality
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018

My disabled mother and I had the accessible room which was ideal. Easy access, all the facilities my mother needed. Comfortable beds with luxury bed linen.
Staff very attentive and a beautiful location.
Couldnt have wished for more.

Room Tip: All rooms have there own character and are beautifully designed.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magswhitmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello magswhitmarsh.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie, and we are thrilled to hear that your room worked for you. Your feedback would be invaluable so if you feel that we could make any tweaks to the room to improve it and make it even better we would be delighted to hear from you - contact@pentillie.co.uk..

Delighted to hear that the staff were attentive too - great news!

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Best wishes, Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We have just spent an enjoyable 2 nights at Pentillie for our Wedding Anniversary. Our Room (Dewhurst) was lovely, very comfortable, beautifully appointed and accessorised and immaculately clean. The little sitting room and spacious bathroom (with a quick filling bath and amazing power shower) were also immaculate. Although a B & B, Pentillie hold occasional "Dinner at the Castle" evenings and we were fortunate to attend one on our first evening. The food was lovely, flavoursome, well cooked and excellently served by a lady called Remy (she was great and added to our overall experience of the evening). Other nice touches are a very well stocked honesty bar and the option to DIY Dine each evening. This involves using the lovely guest kitchen to heat a pre ordered and prepared hot meal in the Aga or a fully plated cold meal option that you can then eat on the terrace or at the large table in the kitchen. What a fun idea. Breakfast was also a delight - tasty ingredients, prepared to perfection and delivered in a timely manner. Thanks to the Chef and everyone at Pentillie for a job well done and excellent customer focus - from the first telephone call to the follow up and confirmation emails and throughout our stay. PS We really like "Chatty Ted" - what a thoroughly nice chap :-) and it is cheaper to book direct with Pentillie than on any internet site that we could find. Also check out their website for events, dinners and other stuff.

Room Tip: Dewhurst Four Poster Room for a Romantic or Special Stay
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelofMischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay AngelofMischief (love your name btw!) and for being so specific in your staff mentions.
The team take great pride in looking after our guests and they are particularly thrilled when they get thanked personally. I shall pass on your comments.

We are delighted that you got to experience both our served dinner and the DIY offer and that both lived up to expectations. Guest feedback is really important in making business decisions, so they both get another ‘tick’ which is great to hear.

Ted is my Dad, and loves to catch up with guests. He definitely has the best knowledge of the estate history and the gardens so you were in good hands.

We hope that you make it back soon, and perhaps you can combine a stay with one of our forthcoming events!

Best wishes, Sammie Coryton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

My wife and I stayed here as a 'get away from it all' break, just for 3 nights, as a treat for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We indulged in the delicious DIY supper on our first night, had the delicious Picnic Hamper on the 2nd day, and stayed in the Tillie Suite with it's magnificent and ginormous bathroom with both powerful spacious shower and free-standing bath. Views from Tillie over the Lawn, Terrace and River Tamar were beautiful, and we also tasted a little free gin at the PenGrillie Festival that was just wrapping up as we arrived.
We indulged also in the outodoor heated pool, having that to ourselves one cloudy but hot morning, and quickly got accustomed to the very filling and extnsive range of cooked breakfasts. We walked the grounds, from the Bathing Hut to the Mausoleum and the Kitchen Gardens, and really enjoyed the peace and quiet, yet only a couple of miles from civilization. Having only 9 guest rooms, Pentillie quickly feels like home, and that you are the only ones there, which was just what we were looking for, we didn't want bingo nights, and interaction with other people,and spa treatments and day trips, we just wanted to get away, and Pentilie was ideal. Our stay didn't allow us to try the formal dining which is just once or twice a week, but we would have enjoyed it I'm sure. There information pack in each room is packed with suggestions for eating as there is no room service as such, as it's a B&B, but guests are welcome to make tea and coffee in the spacious and well provisioned guest kitchen, along with free locally bottled still and sparkling waters and apple juice.

It's probably not a great place for singles or families, as it is has so few rooms, but for those who want to pretend they have their own castle in Cornwall, as we did, it is perfect.
It was however EXACTLY what WE needed and we will DEFINITELY be coming back!

Room Tip: Tillie was perfect, haven't tried other rooms, definitely river view is best.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie so thoroughly Lee S. And we are thrilled that you felt like you were at ‘home’. That is exactly how we would like guests to feel... while being looked after too!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Pentillie, perhaps with a little notice we can arrange a ‘dinner’ during your next visit.

Thank you and best wishes,Sammie Coryton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Catalysed by Sky's "Delicious" we checked in for a night en route back to Hertfordshire from a week in St Ives.

Like everything on television the hotel is smaller than it appears on the screen - just 9 bedroooms, of which just 5 were occupied during our short stay. You really do feel like you are guests at a house party - there is an honesty bar in the longe and a guest kitchen.

It was fabulously hot but we had the swimmng pool to ourselves. Our room was large and sumptuous with a four poster bed which was supremely comfortable. Dinner, from a limited menu - understandable given the small number of guests - was tasty and the vibe was relaxed.

Pentillie Castle is often used for wedding and corporate bookings - the day we left someone had booked the whole place for a week - but if you can bag a room for a night or 2 it is a country house dream.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acromion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Acromiom. We hope that you managed to piece together the bits of the Penrose set that are actually here at Pentillie, and to find many that are not!! I hope you will be watching again this Christmas as the 'parterre' type garden is arriving in boxes ready to be set up for the crew to start filming Series 3 in the near future!!
We look forward to welcoming you back before too long.
Best wishes, Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

We stayed a night here in The Tillie Suite and it was fabulous. The welcome we received was excellent along with the cream tea! The Castle has amazing views and beautiful grounds and we were so glad to be able to use the swimming pool as it was roasting when we were there. We were given the keys to the Mausoleum to go and visit which a lovely walk. The DIY supper was superb and a great idea, I had the best chocolate brownie EVER! We would love to have stayed much longer!!!

Room Tip: The Tillie Suite was fabulous but I imagine all the rooms are excellent.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dollyduo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews