We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Hotel El Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Castell
Reviewed 5 June 2017

The hotel may be a bit old, and the rooms pretty basic, but the scenery, ambience and food make it a bit special. It sits at the top of a hill on the site of an old fort, surrounded by trees, so you can hear a distant hum of Barcelona and have wonderful views all around of the hills, Barcelona, the coast... The layout of the hotel is great, with lots of lovely places to sit and take in the scenery. The set menu was quality food, and the bar prices were very reasonable. The pool is great, surrounded by trees, and with those great views. The Metro station is just five minutes away, but watch out for that walk back up the hill: not for the unfit.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel-restaurant El Castell is located at the Sant Boi ajuntamiento. The outdoor spaces are beautiful with an awesome panoramic view. Rooms are clean. It is a renowned place for wedding dinner (sometimes there could be music until late night, but there are notification on this).
The breakfast is excellent.
The restaurant is superb: chef grade dishes with incredibly cheap menu dedicated to hotel guests in a panoramic room.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

Great hotel, highlights are: fantastic views, food fantastic, hotel extremely clean with clean towels and beds made. Shower powerful, room had balcony, air con, mini fridge, hairdryer. Rooms cosy and although a little tired in areas adds to the charm and character of the castle and it's history and it is refected in the price. Sant Boi is a charming town, airport is close and train station is 5 min walk away, Barcelona city and attractions are approx 15 mins away by train. Improvements could be faster service at the bar, slight update in some areas, map of Sant Boi and definetely could do with tea/coffee facilities in the room, this would not be a problem if bar was staffed all the time. Great stay altogether.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Babs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTELLSANTBOI, Gerente at Hotel El Castell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Babs,

We are very happy that you enjoyed our restaurant and facilities.
Thank you for your comment, it will help us to improve.
Hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

M. Carmen Bertran
(Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We where here last summervas a family and really enjoyed it. Rooms a little basic but it adds to the charm. Think of the hotel in mamma mia! Gorgeous views of Barcelona. A 10 min walk into San Boi which has adequate shops and restaurants but not at all touristy.
Downside was the staff, they just where not helpfull or friendly at all.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank dissapointe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTELLSANTBOI, Propietario at Hotel El Castell, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Dear Customer,

We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and views over the village.

We apologize for not offering you our standard service level.

Thank you for your comment. We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Bertran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Extremely small room. Furniture very old and tired. Bathroom from 1950's. Fantastic breakfast buffet, great selection of cold cuts, danishes, etc. Great view from hotel terrace, overseeing Barcelona and Sant Boi.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aleksandar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTELLSANTBOI, Propietario at Hotel El Castell, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017

Dear Aleksandar,

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the views.
We apologize for not having bigger rooms, we had a very high occupancy that day. We have remodeled the hotel on several occasions. The last one was 10 years ago and we remodeled the bathrooms.

Thank you for your comment. We look forward to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Bertran
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Boi de Llobregat
1.7 km away
FrontAir Congress
FrontAir Congress
#3 of 3 in Sant Boi de Llobregat
1,204 reviews
2.5 km away
NH Sant Boi
NH Sant Boi
#1 of 3 in Sant Boi de Llobregat
456 reviews
3.2 km away
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
Ibis Barcelona Cornella
#2 of 4 in Cornella de Llobregat
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
3.9 km away
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
BAH Barcelona Airport Hotel
#3 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
2,270 reviews
2.9 km away
Ibis Barcelona Aeropuerto Viladecans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Castell

Address: Calle del Castell, 1, 08830 Sant Boi de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Boi de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sant Boi de Llobregat
Price Range: €59 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Castell 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Castell Province Of Barcelona/Sant Boi De Llobregat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing