We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,900)
Filter reviews
1,900 results
Traveller rating
471
693
411
182
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
693
411
182
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel animation team water park pool area great holiday bedroom bungalow plenty of choice plenty of sunbeds mini disco bit dated water polo kids club something for everyone self service on tap nearest beach cleaned daily
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,900 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing holiday here with my 2 children. The rooms were refurbished and of a high standard, opentop shower room was a lovely suprise!! The food was buffet style and had lots of choice and variett from day to day. Although was quiet when we stayed the animation team were amazing and always got the kids and parents involved. Great fun

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
8  Thank danielle792018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Danielle792018,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday and we are happy that you choose to stay with us.

It makes us happy you enjoyed the new refurbished rooms with the open air shower :-)

Our entertainment team is working really hard to keep everyone happy and we are glad you and the kids enjoyed them.

We hope to see you and your family back in the near future.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We stayed in the middle of April. On arrival, if you wanted pool towels and a remote control for your TV you had to pay a €60 deposit, redeemable at the end of your stay. I don't think I have ever paid for the use of a remote control before. On the other side of the coin, the use of the safe was the cheapest we have yet paid!
The bungalows were very spacious with a two door entry - one leading into the kitchen which was equipped with a fridge, cooker, kettle etc. and, the other, straight from a patio with outside table and chairs and clothes dryer, leading into the living room area which was furnished with two settees, coffee table, TV stand and a table and chairs (and, also an extra wardrobe just outside the bathroom door). The bathroom itself was large and spacious with a good shower over the bath but a narrow shower curtain so the floor ended up being soaked, even being very careful to try and keep the curtain shut. (This will not happen in the future as they are upgrading the hotel and one of the changes is that they are "doing away" with the baths and just having a shower room.) The bedroom had two hard comfy beds and plenty of wardrobe space. Towels were changed frequently (apart from cleaning day off).
The grounds are lovely - plants, various cactuses, shrubs and trees; swimming pools, baby pool, playground and an aviary. There was a small supermarket on site.
I would venture to say that the hotel was short staffed (out of season) as the pool bar stuff had to help out with table clearing and you were left waiting for drinks over the lunch period. Beware if you are all inclusive as, on more than one occasion, if you were paying cash for your drinks, you got served first! On threatening to report the staff member to the hotel manager, this changed. In the restaurant sometimes very slow in removing plates. There is a large outside eating terrace and a terrace for outdoor drinks. Slow to clean tables during the day. If you are drinking outside in the evening you will be using plastic cups and not glasses, even though the terrace is two steps down from the main bar.
The food was good although puddings were the same every day - and my husband ate three good meals a day (- so it had to be good as he is very fussy!). There were several themed evenings.
There is an outdoor stage to be used in the warmer weather for entertainment purposes. I have to say that the entertainment was not to my taste apart from one act which covered soul music. There was a kids club with kids club entertainment such as the parrot show, the reptiles and the kids club staff worked very hard during the day and in the evening.
All in all and, as booked, a good 3 and a half star.

Room Tip: All rooms spacious
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Aged50couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Aged50couple,

Thank you for finding the time to give a detailed review about your stay in HL Rio Playa Blanca.

We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to all your expectations but we are happy that you enjoyed the room, his facilities, the food and the grounds.

Your feedback is important to us and your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments. We always welcome opportunities to improve.

We hope to welcome you back in Hoteles Lopez (either Gran Canaria or Lanzarote) once more.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Visited this hotel in May with my daughter & was very pleased we were given a refurbished room which was amazing the staff & bungalows were exceptional restaurant was brilliant & food was really good already booked for next year & can't wait

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Wendy D,

Thank you for taken the time to share your experience with us in HL Rio Playa Blanca.

We are pleased to hear that you and your daughter had a great holiday and that you enjoyed the new rooms and our staff and food.

We are looking forward to welcoming you next year again in HL Rio Playa Blanca.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Staff very friendly & helpful, good location, animation team miriam and karalina were very sweet and good fun.. my 11 yr old daughter enjoyed their company :) refurbished rooms are very nice, keep on improving!!!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank mahersusan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you for enjoying your holiday at HL Rio Playa Blanca.

Allso thank you very much for the compliments of our staff in concrete of Miriam and Carolina.
Comments like yours inspire us to work with even better enthusiasm and passion!

We really hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

We visited this place september 2017. The hotel is filthy, rooms DULL, DIRTY AND SMELLY. Air con didnt work correctly. Food a load of GREASE. My daughter got totally bitten to pieces, at least over 55 bites, also for the duration of our stay, she was vomiting for 6 days. Word of warning, go at your own CALL.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank kathybromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Gerente at Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Mrs. Bromley,

Thank you for finding time to share your review about HL Rio Playa Blanca.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Our cleaners are cleaning the complex and rooms on daily basis and we have maintenance working from early morning untill late night for every problem you might have.

Once again we are very sorry that you did not enjoy anything in the hotel.

Best regards,

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews