We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,628)
Filter reviews
6,628 results
Traveller rating
4,310
1,685
450
124
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,310
1,685
450
124
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kasbah restaurant piano bar privilege lounge sea view half board a la carte restaurant below ground level indoor pool show cooking couples hotel privilege guests privilege package thomson reps main restaurant plenty of sunbeds reception staff plenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
5,114 - 5,119 of 6,628 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2010

I am comparing this hotel to others I have visited of the same star rating and price. There is no beach at or near this hotel and you cannot swim in the sea as the waves lap up against massive rocks. It is possitively dangerous for children! On the positive side the food in the restaurant is excellent. There is a large choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food could be hotter however. When we arrived we were sent (there is no porter to take your bags) to a room on the fifth floor farthest away from the restuarant and reception. Although it was after 4pm the room had not been cleaned from the last visitors (dirty bed, towels and empty water bottles!) so we trapsed back to reception. There was no apology, but we were given an upgraded room on the second floor close to the restaurant etc. Later in the week we returned to the room at 6pm and despite having the label hanging on the door the room had not been cleaned. Again there was no apology from reception! The fitness room is not staffed. I went everyday and there was never a member of staff there. The equipmewnt was never cleaned. There was no water fountain but you could buy water from the machine for 1.20 or 2.50 euros. There were no towels, paper or towelling and nothing to wipe down the equipment once you'd used it. Two pieces of equipment had slot machines into which you had to insert euros before you could use them. The animation team were conspicuous by their absence. There only appeared to be two women who ran the children's disco at 8.30pm. Twice I heard an announcement at the pool but could not make out what was said and there was no music or entertainment at the pool. Other hotels I have been to have arranged aqua aerobics on a daily basis with other activities by the pool. The only life guard we saw spent his time either cleaning the poolside with a power washer or emptying the bins around the pool. The bar staff were not very friendly and we waited 40 minutes one night in the disco bar for our drinks. (no apology). The evening entertainment was OK but was only for an hour (9.30 to 10.30)
All in all I would say that the hotel is short of staff and the staff that they have are not very happy. Several couples we spoke to say they have been coming back to the hotel for several years but it is difficult to see what draws them to it. There are much better hotels with better facilities for the same price.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLC47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Just returned from another great stay at the timanfaya,have been many times before so you can gather we like the place,good location,bright clean airy hotel with great staff and realy great food,from Anna and all the reception staff,Chris and the bar staff,and not forgetting Lou who made sure there was no chance of us getting bored(keep in touch),and all the staff who work so hard for long hours to make sure we have a good time, evening entertaiment mixed quality the same as most hotels,flamingo beach still closed they were working on it but progress seems so slow weather this time was a bit strange lots of heavy cloud but it was still very warm,and a last comment please timanfaya management put some carbon filters on your sewerage plant it would make the activities area so much more pleasant.see you all again in january,Trevor and lynn.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Just returned from this hotel after a really enjoyable week. We stayed all inclusive .Excellent hotel with good facilities. Hotel staff first class and really helpful!!! Rooms were spacious and always clean. Great food with exceptional choice. Had no complaints at all. Two really generous size pools . Adult pool was quiet which meant you really could have a proper swim. plenty of sun loungers and a great pool bar. The Timanfaya Palace is about a 15 min easy walk from Playa Blanca Resort. at the minute the sandy beach is closed , however the sea is accessable down a few steps at the back of the hotel where the snokling is great.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanbridgeNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Having been recommended this hotel by family and friends we were a little disappointed.

We travelled with Sovereign and paid for superior sea view rooms with interconnecting door, as we travelled with our children aged 14 and 12 (not quite ready to be in a room on their own). The rooms were of good standard having been updated recently. But many parts of the hotel, particularly the evening entertainment area is in desperate need of updating.

The restaurant was buffet style at meals and of good quality food (I am very fussy), but the disappointment came with dirty plates. The glasses for the juice at breakfast was a matter of such for a clean glass, on some days my daughter and I didn't have a drink because they were particularly bad. I have never experienced this before in any of the many hotels I have stayed in over the years.

The pool area was lovely, with plenty of sunbeds to choose from.

Another disappointment was that the local beach was closed. The next nearest beach was a 40 minute walk away near the Princesa Yaiza Hotel the other side of Playa Blanca town.

We taxied to Rubicon Marina which cost 5 euros, this is well worth a visit and very up market with lots of nice shops and restaurants. Market day is Saturday and Wednesday, which too is worth a look as there are lots of nice craft stalls.

We have stayed twice previously at Princesa Yaiza and personally prefer the position, quality of this hotel. The problem for us was housing all 4 of us in a room as they do not do interconnecting, so we tried somewhere new.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kislingbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at the Timanfaya , a lovely hotel , great reception staff except the queue to collect towels for the pool area.
We stayed in the older part of the hotel & we understand that the other side of the hotel rooms have been refurbished - we booked with Thomson & upgraded to a sea view but we were disappointed that our rooms were damp, & that we had to pay extra to hire a kettle, fridge & safe - not what you would expect from a 4 star hotel. We stayed all inclusive, the restaurant staff were lovely but it was quite funny at how many tables were reserved, unfortunately it makes you feel like a 2nd class citizen if you don't pay for the Privilege upgrade. I have read some of the reviews and we have to agree that when we ordered a drink we felt awkward , although we tipped the staff I think they thought they were not going to get a tip so they could be quite rude at times. The entertainment was a bit disappointing but good enough if you do not want to leave the hotel.
The pool area is lovely with plenty of beds but unfortunately the pool is freezing, definately not heated - however, all in all a nice hotel but the staff need to be told about their attitude as I can't say I would recommend.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigerlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews