We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,453)
Filter reviews
6,453 results
Traveller rating
4,176
1,657
440
123
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,176
1,657
440
123
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskasbah restaurantpiano barsea viewprivilege loungea la carte restaurantbelow ground levelindoor poolhalf boardcouples hotelprivilege packageprivilege gueststhomson repsmain restaurantshow cookingplenty of sunbedsreception staffplenty of choice
Filter
Updating list...
4,805 - 4,810 of 6,453 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We read the reviews before we set off and had a few doubts so we decided to make up our own minds. All you regulars who go here will still see the same beautiful grounds with grassed areas and palm trees. The gorgeous looking swimming pools with waterfall and diving centre. The whitewashed walls of the hotel itself, complete with turrets and viewing areas. And thats about where it ends.
As you walk into the foyer, the first thing that hits you is the refurb which has seen the removal of the climbing plants and the all the other add ons that made this such an attractive and typical Canarian hotel on the inside. It made you want to stay there. Well thats all been replaced by contemporary decor which incliudes a plethora of turquoise coloured half tiles which give an antiseptic feeling to the entire reception area. As if that wasn't enough, the same theme contionues in the dining room and to me, it was a bit like eating in a public toilet.
The whole theme is contemporary and has failed to light the spark. This is confirmed when you see the bar area by the foyer. The old furniture has been replaced by modern Terrence Conran type furniture which is totally unsuitable for the age group using the hotel. Very few of the seats and chairs have backs, and about a third are in the shape of sea shells or wicker. They are very low and bend back when sat upon. Needless to say they are not used very much. The white leatrher chairs are a bit better but there is too much of a mix of different typea of furniture and not enough suitable seating. If you use the bar stools, don't sit on the front edge or they will tip you off.
We were all inclusive for a fortnight and upon arrival we asked for a refubished room only to be told we had booked a standard room. Er, 'are none of your standard rooms refurbished?' we asked. After a brief discussion amongst reception staff, we were given a very nice refusbished room on the third floor.
It's very expensive in this resort now (like everywhere in the Euro zone I suppose) and we worked out that if we had not been all inclusive, the food and drink on the first day and night in the hotel, would have been upwards of fifty Euros, and we didn't eat or drink that much.
There was a wide variety of food in the restaurant at breakfast and dinner, with lunch at the pool bar. The food in the restaurant wasn't too bad and it's surspising how quickly you can adapt to it not being very hot. Some guests complainted to the Thompson reps about cold food and guess what? - Nothing changed.
The staff in the restaurant work very hard to keep the place moving, but some of them don't speak very good English. So what, I don't speak very good Spanish. I think the lack of English has been translated by some guest as the staff being uncooperative. They aren't, you just need to be a little patient with them.
There are loads of sunbeds around the pools and some of them are there for everybody at the hotel. Some others are privately owned by people who put towels on them at the beginning of their holiday and remove them at the end, even though they never seem to use them. Some of these sunbeds are new, but a lot are old and dirty. Very dirty in some cases, as in disgusting. If you sit on them the filth doesn't come off but don't be surprised if your body sticks to the places which the towel hasn't covered
There is a lot of potential for improvement at this hotel and I'm rating it as average at the moment. Last time I went there in early 2009, it was well above average. Somebody needs to get a grip of it quickly before it gets a bad reputation because I won't be going back and I won't recomme it at the moment either.
Don't get us wrong here, we took all the positives we could out of our stay and quite enjoyed it. The ouside of the hotel, the scenery and local town and marina are lovely places. It's the other bit that's disappointing

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lrace57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed at Timanfaya from 11 dec to 18th, very apprehensive as the reviews hadnt been very good due to the refurb. We had a fantastic time, hotel all finished and looking good.The hotel had there re-launch party on thursday which we attended very good night. The room were spacious and up to date. Lots of people wrote that the main restaurant was like a canteen, not so. Food was good something for everyone, even fussy eaters. Only thing it could have been hotter. We were All inclusive and were able to have all named brand alcahol which was brilliant. The food in the pool bar was very very good as this was freshly cooked to order. Staff were brilliant all very friendly with lots of banter with guests and amongst themselves yet still staying very professional. Will definately return.

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms quiet
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane5750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We booked our all inclusive holiday back in May and I must admit I did not look on here for any reviews until the week were due to depart... I was a bit disheartened at some of the reviews but kept an open mind.
The entrace and lobby are spacious and airy, this leads on to the Piano Bar which is comfartable and lovely place to spend the evening after dining. The Restraunt was well stocked with plenty of food and lots of variations to choose from. The staff were polite, cheerful and very efficient, tables cleared promptly so you weren't sat with used plates on the table, wine and water provided within minutes of sitting down. The Mediteranaen Restraunt where we had a meal was fabulous, lovely food and well presented in elegant surroundings. Our room was number 339 which is on the 3rd floor and over looked the garden.... not much of a garden and just beyond it there was a large open space which is possibly going to be build on later. However this did not cause any problems and it was a lovely spacious quiet room. clean and well decorated. There is however no kettle or hot drink making facilities in the room, these you can get at an extra charge. They also charge for the safe and the mini bar. Air conditioning is free. Spacious shower room and toilet which was also spotless. The pool area is good, plenty of sunbeds, which were in the process of being cleaned ready for next season.Once again clean and tidy and a delightful place to rest and sunbathe. We took part in 2 excursions... One to the Sunday Market which is well worth the money and the other is Called Dining with the Devil.... I have my reserves about that one. The views were wonderful and the restraunt we went to is amazing... however the food served left a great deal to be desired.... I personally would not eat there again. The entertainment was good, just occasionaly the Duo Madis Gras were just a little too loud for the Piano Bar. There is towards the Top end of the hotel near the little putting green a dreadful smell of sewage, which seemed to be there constantly, I would have been less than happy to have had a room near there. It is now Couples Only which for us is great and the Hotel has just been refurbished to a good standard. I did speak to people who had been there before and they say the entrance/lobby had lost it's WOW factor, however if like us you have not been there before it is on no concern. Would I go again yes... provided it stays couple only. I think at High season it would be very crowded so for me it would be an out of season resort.

Room Tip: We had a garden room which was very quiet but not much of a view. The Pool view rooms I have been told are quite noisey in high season due to the use early and late of the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jasicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Stayed at the Timanfaya Palace at the beginning of December 2011. Upon arrival you enter a vast reception area which has just been painted all white as part of their modernisation. As the ceiling is all white it does rather draw your attention upwards and you tend to get the feeling that you are in a warehouse. Checking in was very long winded as all the coaches turn up at once. Although there were several receptionists on duty they were severely hampered as there are only two computer terminals that they all have to share. Perhaps modernisation could add a few more terminals. Pleasant staff however and drinks offered while queuing.

Had a pool/sea view room on the second floor which has an excellent view.(see sunset photo). The room had been modernised (see photo) although the grey and white theme was somewhat austere for a holiday hotel. Probably more suited to a business hotel really and as for the picture on the wall well it looked mainly like a geometric accident. (see photo). Massive bed in the room, possibly slightly hard for some people, but no doubt very practical wear wise. Overall a nice room but somehow a very cold feel to it because of the design.

Went to dinner at about 8.00pm and chaos reigned. Worked out that we had to find our own table and then the fun begins. Staff are so overworked that they cannot clear and re-lay tables very quickly so you have to tour around then try and grab a dirty table plus a staff member to try and persuade them to clear it and re-set it for you. Not having a go at the staff here, they were mainly quite pleasant, but just either overwhelmed or totally lacking managerial direction, couldn’t make up my mind which. If you want some fun then try and get a smile out of the rather short, suited gentleman, who takes your drinks order. My wife tried all week to make contact with him. Appreciate that his English may perhaps be poor and we should know Spanish but a smile is fairly universal and for many years we have had “conversations” with people who do not speak English at all by signs etc etc. Perhaps this gentleman is in the wrong job. The same chaotic situation repeats itself at breakfast of course.

Staying in the dining room, the seating was an assortment of chairs but the newest ones are extremely uncomfortable. They have very long seats from back to front and the same length arms on the chair. The result is that you can only draw the chair to the table until the arms touch it which means that your back can not touch the back of the chair whilst eating so you have no back support. If you sit back then you cannot actually reach the table. In fact we met some people who had been there the previous week who said that they had taken all the comfortable chairs away and replaced them with the ones I have described. Isn’t modernisation wonderful 8-).
The food was OK, have had better, but no real complaints.

The most winning part of the hotel was the main bar. The staff are excellent and the duo from Brazil who play there many evenings (and other parts of the hotel at different times) are really superb. It is unusual for us to stay in a hotel after dinner as we like music and usually have to find local music bars but the management could perhaps be pleased that this duo caused us to remain in the hotel and spend our drinks money with them. Unfortunately there still has to be some criticism of this modernised bar area from the seating viewpoint. There is a mixture of seating (mainly in white) from large wing back chairs to the ridiculous satellite-dish type seats from my youth in the 1960s. (see photo) I saw people absolutely refusing to use those as seats even when there were no others available. If this is now a couple’s hotel (according to Thomson in the UK) then perhaps something somewhat more cosy for couples would be more sensible.

The grounds of the hotel are quite extensive and nicely kept. About a third of the grounds are taken up with a very attractive area of sloping walkways with running rivulets and bridges. Only problem here is that the smell of sewage is so strong most of the time that you have to pass through very quickly or risk being sick. There is also a screened off section in this area for naturists but if that is your thing then I would suggest a goodly supply of pegs for your nose would be a must.
The main area has two swimming pools which had little use at this time of the year and a Jacuzzi which did have rather more use. Usual sun bed scramble although there were always some available at most times. Another badly thought out piece of design though (and I don’t think that this is new) is that the sunshades are fixed to the ground. This of course means that as the sun moves around then “your” area of shade either moves onto a garden area or on to the next sunbeds where the people may not want to be in the shade. Someone should perhaps have noticed that you tend to have to move parasols throughout the day.

All in all a pleasant enough holiday but from a marketing point of view I would suggest that they have got it wrong with their changes. Being advertised as a Thomson Couple’s hotel in the UK it probably means that for at least six months of the year the main potential customers are the more mature (like my wife and I). This cold and austere modernisation no doubt cost a fortune both from the cost of the design and its implementation but will not appeal to many of the older clientele.
Finally I would suggest that overall this is now at best a three star plus hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor room with a pool/sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Went for a week December 2011. Hotel still being renovated but you would hardly notice the ongoing work.We have never used an H10 Hotel before and there was nothing in the Thomson site to inform you that you could not use cash anywhere in the hotel. You were issued with a charge card on checking in and you would show this when buying anything and it would be charged to your account, You can pay off the account as you go through your holiday which lets you keep tabs on what your spending.Not a good start when arriving to be told your rooms are not ready when you have been on the go since 0400am especially when the receptionist does not seem unduly bothered .. After waiting 1 1/2 hours we complained to Thomson rep who informed us that all Thomson hotels did not have rooms ready untill 3pm. Soon shot her down in flames and we got the key to our room forthwith.Food in the pool bar is good and in some cases cheaper than nearby restaurants/cafes. The staff are great and friendly and the evening entertainment in the Piano Bar was superb. Thomsons have a young team of 1 male and 2 females organising events during the day. They were very friendly, attentive but not in your face.
The restaurant decor reminded me of a fishmongers shop. It is certainly not 4 star, Senior staff seem to have no system for seating diners and on several occasions we had to wander round looking for a table. Good choice of food, but not up to 4Star quality. lots of the dishes were cold as the food is not placed on hot plates. If the senior staff want to see how they should run a restaurant they should take a walk up the street to the Natura Palace Hotel and see a real 4 star restaurant .
We had upgraded and the room was clean and a good size with a great comfortable bed and large sized bathroom.
There were several guests in wheelchairs who seemed to have no problem getting about and i noticed a lift for lowering disabled folk into the swiming pool.
Restaurant lets the hotel down badly. but all in all not a bad hotel

Room Tip: If you do not upgrade you are placed in the ground floor which can be very dark. We were on second floor which was bright with views of pool and sea
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinny817069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews