We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,825)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveller rating
1,015
493
225
47
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
493
225
47
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar privilege restaurant el volcan buffet restaurant a la carte restaurants salt water privilege desk privilege room privilege package privilege guest star hotel main building mikes coffee shop lovely hotel guest relations branded drinks half board
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

This is our first time here (3 adults 2 children) and overall I have been very disappointed. This used to be 4 star and although the infrastructure is being upgraded (builders still on site) and some parts are very nice, the service and feel is still very 4 star at best. There is nothing wrong with 4 star but I object to a hotel masquerading as a 5 star when it is clearly not.

Specifically, we received no help with baggage when we arrived, no bell staff to be seen. We had to wait for 25 mins when we were allocated a room to be shown to the room by the bell boy.

No pool towels in room, you need to go to reception and leave a deposit, also you need to go back to reception to change the towels.

All but one pool is cold and the loungers are clearly still the 4 star variety.

Breakfast in the buffet is like a bad day at Butlins. They are chronically understaffed - another 25% of staff would give them a hope of providing decent service.

The room keeping staff are slow if you are not ready when they are - again understaffed.

No turndown service.

Overall it’s not awful but again it really annoys me that they claim 5 stars when they are clearly not.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
8  Thank Gu34k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Dear Gu34k,

First of all, thank you for giving us your opinion and the opportunity to answer to your concerns. We regret to read that the bell boy service was not the best as possible, but we're sure our team were doing another service at the same time. We will pay attention to improve this. We really regret you didn’t contact our Guest Relations team in order to track your stay and to make it more enjoyable, since it is the department in charge of looking after any kind of non satisfactory notification. We have the feeling that many of your different comments could have been easily solved by our teams. Our main target is to make sure you enjoy your holidays, but if we don’t know about your non satisfaction, we cannot proceed properly and unfortunately there is nothing we can do right now. We will consider your notifications since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season, increasing the guests’ satisfaction and having even better quality standards.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It was miserable weather when we visited, so did not see at its best, public areas are built to keep cool, not warm! However we had an enjoyable week. Bedrooms are excellent, comfy and spacious. Speciality restaurants were also very good and available on all- inclusive although you need to book early. Very nice coffee shop and pool bar/cafe is lovely, set out into the main pool. Only reservation is the main buffet restaurant which we found understaffed so that chefs could not keep the full selection available all the time.
Entertainment was excellent, the main lounge is well set out.
Pools are large and clean, one heated section.
Drinks service was rather slow ( not uncommon for all- inclusive) but selection was excellent.
Reception staff very attentive.
Location quiet, on coastal path towards edge of resort, about 20 mins walk to main areas.

Room Tip: Upper floors give more privacy
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GeoffTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear GeoffTorquay,

We are grateful that you shared your experience at the H10 Rubicón Palace in TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your room, pools, restaurants, and all the complementaries services we offer to our clients in order to satisfy them. We also want to thank you for your comment about the drinks service, it helps us a lot to continually improve our hotel. The mention to our reception staff is very valued since they make a great effort to be the most efficient as possible.

We are looking forward to seeing you soon in our hotel, with we hope a beautiful sun.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This was our 26th stay at this stunning hotel so this speaks volumes and the first time since it upgraded to 5 star.
We were so blown away with all the wonderful changes but pleased a lot of the fantastic staff that make the hotel even more special were still there. A big thank you to Diego in the piano bar as you are simply a super guy that deserves all the positive praise for working so hard but always smiling.Also Naomi in the piano bar who quickly remembered our favourite baileys coffees every day in the morning, you are such a lovely girl. Leticia and Perla in Mikies always looked after us and we watched in amazement at how hard they all work to serve everyone so promptly.
Thank you to Stephanie and Elizabeth in guest relations who always took time to make sure we were ok.
A big Thank you to the animation team and Anabelle and Maria gave such top class exercise classes, Angel and Xavier Pilates was superb too at 10.30 am every morning, highly recommend!
Every part of this hotel has improved and the food was so delicious and we ate in all the restaurants! The chefs deserve awards for giving such choice but also serving delicious food.
The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the beautiful refurbished room was also perfect.
A big Thank you Paula for giving us our favourite room and know this is not always possible.
We loved listening to Pedro in the piano bar and also enjoyed the Il Divo tribute and Argentinian show in the main lounge on level 4.
The quality of drinks are also first class, love the pina colada especially. Of course the prices have increased now the Rubicon is 5 star but we highly recommend and this hotel should be No 1 on trip advisor in our eyes!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Shirley C,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience in the H10 Rubicon Palace on Tripadvisor. What can we say? The fact that you already came to the hotel so many times, says it all. We can also be proud to receive guests like you, since also the guests make the difference in a hotel, and that is the case with you two. Your comments about our different staff members throughout the hotel are very valued for them. It is the best motivation they can get to keep ensuring compliance with your expectations. We are grateful that you have appreciated the entertainments of our hotel in general. We are also honoured that you have liked your recently renovated room and its facilities. We would also like to thank you for your feedback about the food and the drinks we offer in our restaurants and bars, it is so valued for us.

The fact that you recommend our hotel is without doubt one of the best motivation we can get to keep improving each season. We hope to welcome you home again soon.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week’s holiday here. It’s a fantastic family destination - lovely quiet rooms stunning grounds with a real village feel to it. 20 minutes walk along the promenade to a beautiful beach with a lovely bay perfect for swimming and snorkelling. Staff extremely welcoming and had prepared our room for an early midday check in as well as offering as a voucher for a bottle of cava and a trip to the spa as an anniversary gift. Very thoughtful!! We also received quite a few freebies via the H10 loyalty club scheme so that’s well worth joining!

We’d booked a superior room for 2 adults and our 2 children. Felt the room was a little cramped for all 4 of us but didn’t spend enough time in there for it to worry us too much. We didn’t like the first room (7070) we were allocated as it felt miles from anywhere and was noisy from being close to building works. Staff were very accommodating though and switched rooms immediately even though hotel was almost full. We ended up with a lovely location near one of the pools (9815) .
Room was cleaned twice daily which was lovely with evening turn down and chocolates . They even replaced the bed linen on one of the beds while we were at dinner as my daughter had spilt a drink on her bed. We hadn’t asked them to do that and it was a pleasant surprise to find it all clean again! We in fact found the staff to be extremely helpful throughout our stay and fixed any problems we had immediately such as a broken coffee maker and when we’d run out of coffee capsules.
We were not privilege and only half board but felt the service we received was brilliant!
Hotel facilities were excellent - pools were lovely you couldn’t drag the kids out of them! We played boules, table tennis and crazy golf which the kids really enjoyed. We also enjoyed regular pre dinner drinks on the roof terrace bar which was just lovely, stunning views and sun right into the evening. Even though the hotel was completely full there was always somewhere lovely to sit to have a drink and we didn’t have any problems getting sun beds either.
We found the food to be fine - really enjoyed the seafood night with delicious prawns and small lobsters and there was plenty of variety to keep us all happy. It was a nice touch to be able to dine at the Italian and Asian restaurants. We couldn’t get into the steak restaurant - prob cos we didn’t book until day 2 of the hols . It didn’t bother us though and in only spent 10 mins queuing to book in the end. Loved the food in the Italian restaurant and again staff were very accommodating with kids food choices. Asian was also ok - we’re pretty spoilt in the uk with Asian food to be honest. We went with an open mind and it was ok - I really enjoyed vegetable tempura starter and duck main course - just nice to be able to have food served at the table!

One word of advice - be prepared to battle with mosquitos! We had not come prepared as none of the reviews had even mentioned them. I got totally bitten on night one during the evening (thankfully we mostly kept them out of our room with the help of s plug in repellent and by keeping the doors shut!). Luckily it was me and not the kids! I saw both babies , children and adults all covered in bites . It wasn’t pleasant - I would recommend packing repellent and mosquito coils to burn whilst sitting outside or clothes to cover you up during the evening! That was the only downside of the holiday . We loved it here would thoroughly recommend it particularly for families and will be back in the future!!

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Jet557421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for trusting H10 Rubicón Palace to spend your holidays and thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through TripAdvisor. As you say, his place wouldn’t be the same without the staff who is working every day to ensure compliance with your expectations. We feel really glad to know you enjoyed the half board service at the hotel. We offer different packages in order to have something suitable for everybody. Your comments regarding the gastronmy are much appreciated. We will also take into account the fact that you enjoyed our pool areas with your children as well as the different amount of facilities we have.
However, we are very sorry for your experience with mosquitos. We are on island where climate is hot all year, and this is one the consequence. On the other hand, the hotel is up to date with all the insect controls and we try our best to ensure this situation is minimized. Thank you very much for recommending our hotel since it is a sign to know we are offering good services.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future. We would like to see if we deserve an even higher rating next time.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed in the H10 Rubicon Palace in March for 1 week. It was sublime. Cannot rate the hotel or the staff highly enough. We have 3 kids aged 3, 7 and 10 and there was kids clubs to accomadate them all. Of interest to parents; there is a baby club for kids up to 4. They can be dropped off to stay here without the parents for activities/ arts and crafts although our 3 year old would have preferred the min club from 4 upwards. The "blue team" who organise all teh activities for the kids were lovely. My kids loved them and a very special mention for Sonia who is one of teh hotels photographers who goes above and beyond with the kids - she is a huge asset to hotel. There is nightly entertainment for the kids at night including mini disco where the kids who attended the club on that day got a certificate. Thet felt really special and this really added to the ability of the parents to be able to have a drink while their kids were entertained.

For the adults, there was a gym and spa and morning classes including pilates and stretching. There is a lovely cafe ( Mikes) and poolside snack bar. I'd encourage the all inclusive option quicker than the privelege option as it appears to offer better value for money.

The hotel itself is lovely. Gorgeous grounds with access onto boardwalk for walks and runs. Its not really an easy walk into teh town centre but taxi or bus is only about 5 each way but honestly, there isn't really a need to leave hotel especially with small kids. A single trip to walk through town is sufficient.

All in all, I couldn't really fault the hotel, and will definately be back. I cannot imagine anyone not enjoying what they have to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear BostonIreland,

Thank you for trusting H10 Rubicon Palace and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are very honored that you have appreciated all the kids entertainments and the staff who take care of it. The fact that you mentioned them is very valued, since they make great efforts to ensure compliance with your expectations and our hotel wouldn’t be the same without them. We also thank you for your comments about our spa and our gym which deserve to be visited at least once during your stay. We are also glad that you enjoyed our different bars and the different gardens the hotel has.

The fact that you would like to come again to the hotel, is the best proof to know we are making a good job and is a good motivation for us to keep improving.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews