We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$231
US$172
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort(Playa Blanca)
US$359
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$229
Dreamplace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
US$207
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Sol by Diamond Resorts(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort(Playa Blanca)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,502)
Filter reviews
3,502 results
Traveller rating
888
1,152
735
347
380
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
1,152
735
347
380
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdino parkwater parkfree buschinese buffetthomas cook staffgreat holidayfamily holidaykids clubanimation teamevening entertainmentself servicesoft drinkslife guardsmini discoplenty of choicesaladfussy eater
Filter
Updating list...
1,319 - 1,324 of 3,502 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2015

Booked as a cheap getaway and was not disappointed, The Hotel was clean with great staff who took the time to ring our apartment to wish our daughter a happy birthday, they also arranged a bit of a birthday party for her which she adored. The rooms are clean and basic but we don't go on holiday to sit in a luxury room, the facilities on site were plentiful and Ant, Dawn, Lauren and Katie who made up one of the entertainment team were fantastic and ensured there was a mix of activities for both kids and adults. A wide choice of food which was great. The only fault with the place are the cups that are used to serve drinks, the hotel need to provide bigger cups this would save them cash and staff the extra effort of having to pour four drinks at a time per customer. Overall a great family holiday and would go again.

Room Tip: On arrival go to the supermarket (next to reception)) to buy yourself some plastic cups, Oh and chuck Dawn in the pool she loves it
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank dux25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Dear Dux25

We are happy to find out that your daughter had a nice birthday celebration here with us and that the animation team made your stay even better.

We are also happy that you found our food service plentiful and variate.

It pleases us to know that you will join us again for some more fun in the sun.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

We are on the last couple of days of our much awaited holiday to paradise island - I worried to the point of loosing sleep over some of the reviews so I want to be as honest and realistic as possible!!!

We paid almost £3000 for 10 nights 2 adults 2 kids! My mother paid over £1000 for herself! We were sold as a 4 star resort!!

On arrival we checked into apartments that reminded me of basic Greek self catering, our fridge did no work and stunk and it was generally grubby sealant hanging out round the windows damp patch in the corner - balcony area and furniture grubby and marked! My mums room was ground floor stunk damp and the cats helped themselves into the apartment if door left open also her patio door would not lock!!! (This did get fixed rapidly)
Our initial view of the food was that it was ok nothing to write home about but there was plenty of choice I thought!
After 24 hours and me now experiencing an upset stomach and our fridge still not being fixed we spoke to the thomas cook rep!
Within a couple of hours the maintainence men came and tidied up the rough points about our room and my mum was moved upstairs fair enough!!!

The pool areas and waterpark are fairly clean and tidy and the kids had a ball lots of cats around - never experienced in the dining area but cat feaces in a lot of the gravelled garden areas!!

Plenty of sunbeds to be had although none around the main pool sit up!

If you want tv remote sun lounger mattress, towel or safe a 10 euro deposit deposit is required!

Food as I stated wasn't terrible which was my worst fear but on occasions it was cold or luke warm I did witness raw meat a couple of times and had to grab a chicken drummer off my child as the whole tray was taken back to the kitchen (frozen in middle)

The snacks only served 4.30-5.30 dry bread cheese and ham and a few cakes left from lunch! I thought this was naff!!

Staff are amazing and wrk there legs off always with a smile drinks plentiful wine was nice (take your own big beakers as the little plastic cups are a mouthful) cleaning was 5 out of 7 beds changed regularly !!

The evening entertainment under the pool bar we tolerated for 30 mins chairs lined up like a school assembly with only a few tables at the back! Like butlins - the sister hotels had bands magic shows etc but not here!! We chose to go to the top floor bar where the hotel entertainers did mini disco much better environment but overall evening entertainment was lacking and we found night times are boring!

I would say if you can get a cheap deal to this hotel then come we have enjoyed it to a degree but could not help but be disappointed in what we paid- last year we got 5 star luxury in turkey for a good deal less -not comparable !!!

The sister hotel club playa blanca was much nicer - food better, entertainment better - perhaps they could take a few tips!!!!

Although this review sounds negative we would return if we could get a cheap deal the kids have loved it and it's not terrible just needs a bit of TLC and to be sold as it is a 3 star we spoke to lot of people who have paid more realistic prices just think we have been ripped off by thomas cook !

Stayed: April 2015
4  Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

We have just arrived back from lanzarote after staying at the paradise and we had a fantastic time! Finding a hotel that all four of our children would like is hard, there were no grumbles on this occasion!
Waterpark fantastic for the ones that are tall enough for the big rides but the little ones can make the most of the splash area and the soft play area.
Food was plentiful and even the fussiest of people can't go wrong here!
The staff do their utmost to help people and the Thomas Cook rep and entertainment team (especially Dawn) made sure everyone had a great time.
Rooms are what they are but when you're only using them to sleep in it doesn't matter.
A lovely place overall definitely worth a look!

Stayed: April 2015
3  Thank Katie231084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Dear Katie,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination, and we are happy to know that all the family enjoyed the visit and had a great time, in the water park and with the entertainment team.

we also like to thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience with us.

We hope that you will keep us in mind for your next holidays.

kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed here mid march with my mom and two children (4,8). Yes the pools are cold ( even the climatised) but didn't stop the children using them, afterall it ia winter. Waterpark was great, however there are height restrictions on the bigger slides. Food was great too, plenty of choice and something for everyone, salads,soups, pasta, meat dishes etc, always hot too. There is also an asian and italian restaurant too ( no extra charge) also kids section of the buffet. Burgers, hotdogs pizza, chips etc served at pool bar if you don't want to eat in main restaurant. Pretty much all the usual drinks on all inclusive were included (coctails, wine, beer, sangria, spirit & mixer etc ) most of which you could help yourself to!Staff were all lovely. Special mention to the entertainment team who were all fab. Both the thomas cook team and the hotel animation staff. Cleaners came in 5 times a week. Rooms pretty basic but large and clean. Everything you need in there. I agree that the beds were hard though, the sofa bed was more comfortable. Nice big tereace front and back. I emailed prior to arriving and asked for a room near amenities as mom has walking difficulties and they gave me one, no problems. ( room 515 )
A taxi Into playa blanca cost us approx 3.50 euro so very cheap and playa blanca is a lovely resort otherwise a FREE coutesy bus ran from the hotel hourly to playa dorada beach, which was beautiful. Take a trip to fuerteventura is highly recommended. Only cost 23euro per adult, 30 minute crossing over to correlejo. Beautiful resort.
Honestly, I would say the hotel is more like a 3* but a very good 3* at that. For the money I can not fault it at all. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
9  Thank charliea84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Dear Charliea84,

Thank you for taking your time into writing this complete report about your experience here at Hl Paradise Island.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the variety of our buffet and snack bar and that you had a good time with our animation teams.

We also like the fact that you found our inclusive pack complete and the rooms clean and tidy.

Its always good to count with the opinion of a professional. If you decide to visit us again, we would be more than happy to receive you.

Kind Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

Hotel is good value for money food typical all inclusive but plentiful get a sea view room great views and peaceful pool area ok waterpark great for kids quite a long walk to resort and its uphill all the way on the way back walk up the volcano opposite hotel great views but go when its cool early morning all in all good value holiday

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank gary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews