We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids were well happy”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Got back 3 weeks ago. This was our first family holiday in 5 years so all very excited. I have 4 children aged between 10 - 17. Met some lovely people there who have kept in touch. We had a bit of a mix up at the beginning of the holiday where the hotel had overbooked a "large family" appt and we ended up with 2 appartments for 2 nights but they compensated us and after 2 nights we were all together in a "large family" appt.
Food was amazing and my daughter has got coelic disease. The management in the restaurant where great and any questions asked they answered with no problems. My daughter and the rest of us didn't go at all hungry.
The entertainment team were AMAZING - that being LIZ, ROB and SOPHIE from Thomas Cook and FLEUR, DANIELLE and the rest of the Animation Team from the hotel. The kids loved them and they always had something for EVERYBODY to do throughout the day and took it in turns to entertain all at night.
The only snag was that you had to pay for air con, tv, safe deposit box and beach towels, although you do get deposit back but still is advertised so you think it is all in. Also when you check out at 12 noon they cut off your wrist bands so that you have to pay for everything and if you not getting the bus to the airport till the evening this can be a bit of a pain. Overall experience - LOVED IT and are definately thinking of going back next year.

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice - good for large families and nearer to pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 128DeeMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,837 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

please read reviews as we did and believe me there right the bad ones its like being at either butlins or haven having to queue for 15 mins to get your meal people running to get a table like a madhouse was awful never again food was awful ive had upset stomach all week glad to be home for some good food.The rooms are awful very run down we was put next to main road were all delivery vans etc come at 4am in morning believe it or not so not had alot sleep.the staff are very friendly and reception staff would never return to this hotel i wish id have cancelled before we went as the reviews on here was perfect when they said awful.we had friends who had booked to stay at this hotel when they arrived was told no room hotel had overbooked was sent to another hotel then found them a room two hours later disgusting .The thomas cook rep was great lucia very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Apartment was clean, staff worked very hard and were friendly, especially the ground maintenance workers. The water park was great. For us though, dinner at the restaurant really let the place down and this is normally an important part of our holiday. I know many people like to stay up later than normal when on holiday, but the restaurant did not open until 7pm which we found was just too late. Our kids are 1 and 2 years old and they were just exhausted and starving by then, and we could see all the other little ones around us were exactly the same. For this reason there was always a massive queue of people waiting for the place to open and then (I am not exaggerating here honestly!) it was an absolute zoo once you got in with people running to get tables and try to get into the queue for the food, and overtired 3 year olds having temper tantrums. It was totally impractical as you were waiting maybe 15 minutes minimum to get a plate of food, taking it back to the kids, then having to queue all over again for your own food, by which time our kids were cracking up and wanting to leave. Mainly people did try to be patient and wait in the queue but the lay out of the buffet didnt help either cause you had this big snaking queue of people clogging up the full buffet waiting for say chips at the top of the buffet but they were in front of all the other salad/soup/pasta/kids buffet etc but then if someone tried to reach past to get some soup for example, people at the end of the queue got angry as they were getting "skipped". Anyway, to be honest it was all a bit stressful. My 2 year knocked over his glass of orange juice and it smashed on night 2 and we came back to him standing in all this broken glass, so we couldnt even go together after that one of us always had to stay with them which meant trying to get 2 plates of food at a time or we would have been there till closing time just to get together a meal for the 4 of us. Never again. I needed a lie down to recover when mealtimes were over! Having said all that the food itself was good, so if your kids are a bit older and can happily wait till say 8pm by which time all the screaming little ones (and big ones!) are away then dont let this review put you off, it would have been a 3 rating from me otherwise. I did try to feed this back to Amanda head of animations who was asking for feedback on our last night. I suggested that if they opened at 6pm all the families with little kids could get out the way early for everyone else to enjoy a more relaxing meal, but she said that people from other parts of Europe like to eat later and they need to accommodate them. We wont be back. We have stayed at Thomson family resorts our last 2 holidays and they are definitely much better geared towards families with small children so if you fall into that bracket then given them a try. PS there is nothing else opened between 5pm-7pm for food in case you are wondering why we went through that drama every night!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shelly002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear guest of the Paradise Island Hotel

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent holiay at our Resort, and for your valuable feedback.

We are sorry to learn that you have not entirely enjoyed your holiday with us, and that you were not happy with the restaurant operations.
We always strive to improve our services, and we have of course forwarded your comments to the respective hotel departments in order to have a look into how to improve our facilities for families with young children.
The Resort has recently undertaken various changes in the management, and we are in the process in upgrading the hotel in various areas, so I do hope that on a future visit to Lanzarote you would allow us to demonstrate to you improved high standards of service and facilities.


The Management of the Hoteles Lopez Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Arrived back Friday morning after a week at Paradise Island. Room basic, but comfortable and plenty space. Beds were a little uncomfortable, but that is the only complaint. Any faults ie light bulb needing changed, were rectified immediately. Staff helpful and friendly, rooms and grounds cleaned daily. Grounds, gardens and pool area kept immaculate. Good choice of food - something for everyone. First time we have gone all inclusive and was certainly value for money. Could help yourself to lager and soft drinks at the pool bar, with bar staff available for stronger drinks/cocktails. Plenty of entertainment with both Thomas Cook and the hotels own annimation team. Water park excellent - though floor area can get slippery. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an inexpensive holiday in the sun, ticks all the boxes, and it is up to you to make the holiday you want - nothing we could moan about.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

just back on thursday after spending one wk in paradise island with my husband and our daughter with her two children ages 6yrs and 10yrs also also another family off three whos little boy was also 10 and off course not forgetting our dear friend irene our ages ranged from 6yrs too 60 we all had a fantastic time would recommend paradise island too anyone doesnt matter what age you are food was fantastic plenty off it staff fantastic always cleaning around the place inside and out the workers were even out around gardens @ six in morning wee went on grand tour too see the vulcano experience off life time picked up outside hotel left back at hotel our grandchildren had a ball with pools and water park plenty too occupy them all day fantastic .the only fault wee have that wee didnt book two wks argg would go back in morning no hesitation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 km away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,143 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,777 reviews
1.7 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,988 reviews
3.1 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,357 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: €112 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing