We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$179
US$153
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$229
Dreamplace
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
THB Tropical Island(Playa Blanca)
US$171
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$224
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H10 Rubicon Palace(Playa Blanca)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jardines del Sol by Diamond Resorts(Playa Blanca)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,463)
Filter reviews
3,463 results
Traveller rating
871
1,142
733
343
374
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
1,142
733
343
374
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdino parkwater parkfree buschinese buffetpool barthomas cook repsgreat holidayfamily holidaykids clubanimation teamevening entertainmentself servicesoft drinkslife guardsmini discoplenty of choicesalad
Filter
Updating list...
2,129 - 2,134 of 3,463 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Paradise Island Hotel is a really nice 3 star hotel. Before travelling we read the reviews here and were concerned. Having spent 2 weeks at Paradise Island I cannot understand the negative reviews. It is a 3 star and provided you go with 3 star expectations you won't be dissapointed.

Room: We were in room 102 - an upper floor apartment. It was clean and spacious and we had no probems with ants or cockroaches. The maid service was good and whenever we asked for extra towels they were provided no problem.

Food: The food was good, there was plenty to choose from at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also snacks served at the pool bar - chips and burgers & toasties in the evenimng. On Christmas Eve & New Years Eve there was an amazing gala dinner. This was not expected and the hotel did a great job - the food was excellent and waiters served wine and champagne instead of the usual self service.

Entertainment: The animation team made our holiday. These guys are amazing. They are in the hotel at 10am each morning and are still there at midnight if they were in that evenings show.The kids club is great, providing activities during the day and then a kiddie disco at 8.30pm. The kids are presented with certificates from the actives completed earlier in the day. There are also adult activities throughout the day - rifle shooting, darts, shuffle board & volleyball to name just a few. This team work so hard keeping the guests entertained - Daniel & Eri are naturals and had great rapport with the guests. They were real favourites with the guests and went out of their way to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. The evening entertainment varied with the animation team performing some nights and a variety of external acts.

Bar Service: Bar service in the lobby bar was good. At the pool bar it's self service for beer and soft drinks. The only issue we had was in the Disco Bar, drinks stop at 11pm and even if you were in the queue before 11, they refused to serve once it was 11pm. There is generally only one bar man on and a second one is needed between 10 & 11pm.

Location: Because this hotel is a good 30 minute walk away from the main beach (Costa Dorada) the hotel provide a courtesy bus a few times a day. We used it a few times, although there is another beach, just as nice that you can walk to which is about 15 mins away.

This hotel is a great choice for families especially those with kids who feel they are too old for kids club. The activities in the hotel catered for kids up to 15

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just returned from Christmas away (17th -27th Dec 2011) at the HL Paradise Island in Playa Blanca Lanzarote and we had a lovely time. The weather was lovely.

We e-mailed ahead asking for an upper floor but on arrival were allocated a bottom floor apartment. There was no privacy as the front patio door is also your front door and looks out over the terrace to the path, everyone walking past can look in. Also after having the patio door open for 10 minutes we had a cat wander in. We promptly asked to be moved and were allocated an upper floor the next day which was much better. We had 2 secure balconies and a seperate front door (the rear balcony overlooked the pool room 230). There were ants on the stairwell but none came into the room. The room was basic but clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

The food at the hotel was very good value for the money we paid. Plenty of choice although I agree there was pork every day just cooked in different ways but I like pork so I didn't mind! There was also chicken and fish regularly and a good selection of pastas, veggies and salads.

The hotel made a good effort on Christmas day. Santa arrived on a camel and gave the kids a present. Dinner was good with Turkey, Veal, Prawns and of course Pork on the menu. They even got bottles of nice wine in to accompany the meal as the usual wine was not very nice.

I only have 2 complaints really;

(1) the drinks were very poor. The wine wasn't very nice, the cola is awful!! the vodka tastes funny. Pina Coladas looked like weak black tea and didnt taste very nice, the beer was just bearable but still not good. We ended up paying for our own drinks quite often.

(2) one of the pools was supposed to be heated but was still FREEZING!! my poor 5 year old couldn't swim for more than 5 minutes before coming out blue. But to be fair we looked in at several different hotels in Playa Blanca being nosey and all the pools were cold.

Overall the hotel is good value for money. The animation team work very hard and were wonderful with the kids, and there were activities and games for adults to do too. The hotel is quite far out of Playa Blanca, a good 20 - 25 min walk in but we hired a car so this was not a problem. We used the facilities at the HL Playa Blanca too which is just down the road and had the same coloured armbands on the adults as our hotel so we had drinks (which were nicer) and lunch there for a change. I would go back as it was a cheap holiday and I did have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We were happy with Room 230. Upper floor with 2 secure balconys so safe for escaping children and our own front door with deadlock for security. Rear balcony overlooked the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked to go to this hotel and read some of the bad reviews after we booked it. when we arrived the reception staff were very helpful, our apartment was at a great standard. myself and my partner took our two children aged 8 and 5. they absolutly loved it!! everything about the place was great. The animacion team were fantastic!!! they were a brilliant team who worked very hard to entertain the kids and adults too. we loved it that much that on the day before we were ment to be returning home we extended out time there by another week to spend christmas there. on christmas day father christmas turned up on a camel and gave each of the children a present!. The food was great as there was alot of choice and pools were great for adults aswel as the kids. cannot express how much we enjoyed it there but we are booking to go back next christmas! The best part of the holiday was the animacion team they were the ones that made the holiday as good as it was!! would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: all the rooms were great
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heidi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Recently returned from our family Xmas Holiday 17-27 December 2011, we too had read the negative remarks put on this site and decided that we wouldn't be put off, as we know 'you can't please all the people, all of the time'! And we weren't disappointed.

I have to say that the room was very clean, with no sign of ants or other creepy crawlies! Cleaners arrived promptly everyday and all the other areas of the hotel/pool/bars were extremely clean and tidy. Hotel staff were efficient and the Restaurants were great, always something to eat for everyone, the choice on offer was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed many many favourites during our 10 days, our children will definitely miss the pancakes at breakfast every other day.

Santa arrivied on a Camel on Christmas morning; with all the children receiving a present, it was a great sight in the sunshire. Thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Xmas Day Gala Meal - considering this an All-inclusive hotel, we were totally blown away by the amount of effort put into this dining experience. The staff worked tirelessly all day, making it very special and we really did appreciate this, as obviously there was no additional cost to us for this dinner and HL did not have to do this and would certaininly make us want to return next Christmas. We agreed with other guests, who could only describe it as five star.

The Animation Team, especially Daniel, are brilliant at getting everyone involved in events and also a great way of meeting and having a good laugh with other holiday makers.

Great Free Bus Service, cheap Taxi prices too! Please give this hotel a try, they are working so hard to ensure this hotel is improving all the time, I do hope they do go ahead with the proposed waterpark too! Only negative we have was the only heated pool wasn't nearly warm enough, but do not spoil our great holiday experience in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Peas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Arrived 11.12.11 and couldnt wait to get home. Room 549 - Ground floor room spacious and clean apart from the ants. Food disgusting, carrots, peas and sprouts for breakfast as well as chips ? err i think not! Eggs never cooked properly, pork, pork and more pork! Went for chinese for a change... oh more pork! Selection really poor at all times. Always a shortage of tables, glasses all the main essentials for a meal! Staff friendly. Free bus into Playa Blanca which was a god send and kept me sane. Never enough hot water, always had to boil kettle several times, for 3 adults and 1 child it took over 2 hours to bathe. A 3 star rating is too good for this hotel would never recommend this hotel. On a plus we did visit Puerto del Carmen which was fab and a lot more going on.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews