We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time all inclusive and perhaps the last”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of our apartment. Could have perhaps done with a lick of paint having had rather a lot of marks on the walls. Watch out for the hot water supply if you like long hot showers!

Personally, I found the whole dining experience a nightmare. I am relatively fussy about meat and found I mainly dieted on rice and pasta for 10 days. However, the rice and pasta was very tasty but just a bit boring after a while. Breakfast was probably the best meal of the day as far as I was concerned although get there as early as you can (8am sharp!) - ITS A JUNGLE OUT THERE! We ended up with a good system of myself getting on with toasting the bread (only two rather slow toasters and a fight for them at that!) whilst my partner got tea and secured a table. BEWARE THE FISH : lots of bones and really not worth the effort!

Being a couple, we probably didn't appreciate the Animation team as much as most. Lots of activity starting around 11am trying to get people to stretch(!) and get involved in various activities which is not conducive to relaxation around the pool and I often had to pretend to be asleep to avoid them! However, they clearly work very hard and provide great entertainment for children.

EXTREMELY WINDY (especially round the pool area) - in the words of Baz Luhrmann "WHERE SUNSCREEN"!

In terms of location, we were only a 20 minute walk from Flamingo Beach which we preferred to the main beach for which the hotel provide a bus service to. Not a hell of a lot going on in the area generally but that was fine for us as this was just a relaxing beach holiday.

Don't stay here if you dislike cats - there are lots of them around the complex which we assume is an ingenious solution to rodents and the like. We didn't come across any cockroaches or ants but that may be due to the time of year of our stay.

In summary, we would be prepared to come back to this hotel on a self catering basis but the food was 2* at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheMerovingian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,998 - 2,002 of 3,299 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Paradise Island Hotel is a really nice 3 star hotel. Before travelling we read the reviews here and were concerned. Having spent 2 weeks at Paradise Island I cannot understand the negative reviews. It is a 3 star and provided you go with 3 star expectations you won't be dissapointed.

Room: We were in room 102 - an upper floor apartment. It was clean and spacious and we had no probems with ants or cockroaches. The maid service was good and whenever we asked for extra towels they were provided no problem.

Food: The food was good, there was plenty to choose from at breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are also snacks served at the pool bar - chips and burgers & toasties in the evenimng. On Christmas Eve & New Years Eve there was an amazing gala dinner. This was not expected and the hotel did a great job - the food was excellent and waiters served wine and champagne instead of the usual self service.

Entertainment: The animation team made our holiday. These guys are amazing. They are in the hotel at 10am each morning and are still there at midnight if they were in that evenings show.The kids club is great, providing activities during the day and then a kiddie disco at 8.30pm. The kids are presented with certificates from the actives completed earlier in the day. There are also adult activities throughout the day - rifle shooting, darts, shuffle board & volleyball to name just a few. This team work so hard keeping the guests entertained - Daniel & Eri are naturals and had great rapport with the guests. They were real favourites with the guests and went out of their way to ensure that everyone had a great holiday. The evening entertainment varied with the animation team performing some nights and a variety of external acts.

Bar Service: Bar service in the lobby bar was good. At the pool bar it's self service for beer and soft drinks. The only issue we had was in the Disco Bar, drinks stop at 11pm and even if you were in the queue before 11, they refused to serve once it was 11pm. There is generally only one bar man on and a second one is needed between 10 & 11pm.

Location: Because this hotel is a good 30 minute walk away from the main beach (Costa Dorada) the hotel provide a courtesy bus a few times a day. We used it a few times, although there is another beach, just as nice that you can walk to which is about 15 mins away.

This hotel is a great choice for families especially those with kids who feel they are too old for kids club. The activities in the hotel catered for kids up to 15

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SalloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We have just returned from Christmas away (17th -27th Dec 2011) at the HL Paradise Island in Playa Blanca Lanzarote and we had a lovely time. The weather was lovely.

We e-mailed ahead asking for an upper floor but on arrival were allocated a bottom floor apartment. There was no privacy as the front patio door is also your front door and looks out over the terrace to the path, everyone walking past can look in. Also after having the patio door open for 10 minutes we had a cat wander in. We promptly asked to be moved and were allocated an upper floor the next day which was much better. We had 2 secure balconies and a seperate front door (the rear balcony overlooked the pool room 230). There were ants on the stairwell but none came into the room. The room was basic but clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

The food at the hotel was very good value for the money we paid. Plenty of choice although I agree there was pork every day just cooked in different ways but I like pork so I didn't mind! There was also chicken and fish regularly and a good selection of pastas, veggies and salads.

The hotel made a good effort on Christmas day. Santa arrived on a camel and gave the kids a present. Dinner was good with Turkey, Veal, Prawns and of course Pork on the menu. They even got bottles of nice wine in to accompany the meal as the usual wine was not very nice.

I only have 2 complaints really;

(1) the drinks were very poor. The wine wasn't very nice, the cola is awful!! the vodka tastes funny. Pina Coladas looked like weak black tea and didnt taste very nice, the beer was just bearable but still not good. We ended up paying for our own drinks quite often.

(2) one of the pools was supposed to be heated but was still FREEZING!! my poor 5 year old couldn't swim for more than 5 minutes before coming out blue. But to be fair we looked in at several different hotels in Playa Blanca being nosey and all the pools were cold.

Overall the hotel is good value for money. The animation team work very hard and were wonderful with the kids, and there were activities and games for adults to do too. The hotel is quite far out of Playa Blanca, a good 20 - 25 min walk in but we hired a car so this was not a problem. We used the facilities at the HL Playa Blanca too which is just down the road and had the same coloured armbands on the adults as our hotel so we had drinks (which were nicer) and lunch there for a change. I would go back as it was a cheap holiday and I did have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We were happy with Room 230. Upper floor with 2 secure balconys so safe for escaping children and ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We booked to go to this hotel and read some of the bad reviews after we booked it. when we arrived the reception staff were very helpful, our apartment was at a great standard. myself and my partner took our two children aged 8 and 5. they absolutly loved it!! everything about the place was great. The animacion team were fantastic!!! they were a brilliant team who worked very hard to entertain the kids and adults too. we loved it that much that on the day before we were ment to be returning home we extended out time there by another week to spend christmas there. on christmas day father christmas turned up on a camel and gave each of the children a present!. The food was great as there was alot of choice and pools were great for adults aswel as the kids. cannot express how much we enjoyed it there but we are booking to go back next christmas! The best part of the holiday was the animacion team they were the ones that made the holiday as good as it was!! would highly recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: all the rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heidi j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Recently returned from our family Xmas Holiday 17-27 December 2011, we too had read the negative remarks put on this site and decided that we wouldn't be put off, as we know 'you can't please all the people, all of the time'! And we weren't disappointed.

I have to say that the room was very clean, with no sign of ants or other creepy crawlies! Cleaners arrived promptly everyday and all the other areas of the hotel/pool/bars were extremely clean and tidy. Hotel staff were efficient and the Restaurants were great, always something to eat for everyone, the choice on offer was very good and we thoroughly enjoyed many many favourites during our 10 days, our children will definitely miss the pancakes at breakfast every other day.

Santa arrivied on a Camel on Christmas morning; with all the children receiving a present, it was a great sight in the sunshire. Thoroughly enjoyed by all.

Xmas Day Gala Meal - considering this an All-inclusive hotel, we were totally blown away by the amount of effort put into this dining experience. The staff worked tirelessly all day, making it very special and we really did appreciate this, as obviously there was no additional cost to us for this dinner and HL did not have to do this and would certaininly make us want to return next Christmas. We agreed with other guests, who could only describe it as five star.

The Animation Team, especially Daniel, are brilliant at getting everyone involved in events and also a great way of meeting and having a good laugh with other holiday makers.

Great Free Bus Service, cheap Taxi prices too! Please give this hotel a try, they are working so hard to ensure this hotel is improving all the time, I do hope they do go ahead with the proposed waterpark too! Only negative we have was the only heated pool wasn't nearly warm enough, but do not spoil our great holiday experience in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Peas_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 km away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,175 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,799 reviews
1.8 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,589 reviews
3.1 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,380 reviews
0.7 km away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: €128 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing