We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of the ants!”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have just returned from a lovely 2 weeks in glorious sunshine but i have to comment having read all the other reviews before we went. When we arrived we were allocated our lower level room, unlocked the door and a cat came running out past us! No way was i staying in that room but having gone back to reception we were allocated another one straight away. The reception staff were very helpful.

The meals may not have been up to everyones standard but we found that there was something to eat everynight, lunch was not so good, but we werent that hungry with the heat. The chinese is a must however, it was lovely and not so busy.

The rooms were big and brushed out everyday, the linen is not changed regularly, in fact we had to use our top sheet as our childrens sofabed covers and it stayed like that for 2 weeks, never changed and they were only issued with top sheets when i got fed up asking reception and got them from the maid herself 3 days later. I cannot say how often our sheets were changed apart from once!

The pool area is dirty most of the time, the hotel should supply more bins and ashtrays or pots for fag ends but the amount of people who ate at the side of the pool and never even put their dirty cups or plates into the bins was awful. People would just put their fags out on the tiles and leave the ends for others to pick up, we used plastic glasses with water in them and ok they didnt look nice but did the job.

Now the ants! my god they were everywhere, we had a real problem with them in our room, we did complain and we were given a spray to help, it did help but trying to kill them all was impossible, they are on the worktops, chairs, beds, showers everywhere, i got used to them by the end of the second week but they were alot worse than i expected.

Apart from that, i found that the pool was nice and clean, needed a paint on the bottom but clean and the staff all seemed friendly enough to us, the hotel is a bit of a way out of playa blanca but the taxi cost 3 euros so cheap. We had a good 3* all inclusive holiday and i do feel that people writing on here should check what * rating they choose first.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMacs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,042 - 2,046 of 3,294 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

Had read reveiws on here as i always do when i go anywhere,so half knew what to expect..we got there about 8 and had to q to get booked in,was in q for nearly 40 mins,whilst qing noticed there was also a q for the bar(i had read about this)it was very hot in the reception area,so was glad to get to room.
Room was massive had a kitchen area(even though we were alincl)patio doors to front and back,but no air cond,we were not going to pay for it as didnt think it would be to hot,which it wasent,the one thing we did pay for was a safe lock...and are we glad we did ,because on last night there 4 rooms got broken into and most of them didnt have safes!!!!we had also noticed that when the maids cleaned our rooms they left our patio door in the bedroom open,we thought this was to air the rooms but now think it was so ppl could breakin!!!
The pool area was ok ,plastic around the egdes was manky and needed a good bleach,pool was bit chilly but soon heated up,as for the games ect they were not to loud and we happily sat and watched,the food at pool bar was ok ,same everyday,burger,sausages and pastawe found with any of the food you need to get there when its opened as it goes cold very quick and no microwaves to heat it up more!!!
Afternoon round pool bar had cakes and bread so u cold make toasted sarnis which were yumm
We used the bus a few times did a long trip from outside of hotel ,our advice walk down the hill and wait there,cuts a lot out...
There were about 9 stray kittens in the grounds felt sorry for them so we also fed them but of a night we put a few cups of water out for them which they drank quick,so even if u dont feed them ,give them some water,its not there fault the staff have not found them homes..
The dinning room and bars were all very hot they had no air conditioning on(even though it was there)w used to eat outside as was cooler,as for the dungeon(well thats what it seemed like)the entertainment room,it was down a spiral staircase which when we was there had no lighting,its very,very hot and packed...saw a few shows which were good,but the staff one was crap...
overall it was ok,out in the sticks with loads of building work around it,would not go back,a must do is a climb up the volcano opposite the hotel,had stunning veiws!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacbunnykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Did we have mildew on shower ceiling..yes. Did we have cockroaches yes one....were there some cracked tiles in bedroom...yes. But then I'm on holiday I'm not buying the property. We had a brilliant week here. The staff are very friendly heads up to Tommy (animation team) who seemed to do everything all day on his own. And Max who works the reception very helpful.
The food is great yes, it is a bit samey but mornings we started putting bacon egg and cheese through the toaster as well as the bread obviously, just for a wee change. Cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices and tea and coffee with your cold meats and cheeses. Eggs done every way possible. So if you cant find something you like for breakfast theres something wrong. Lunch and dinner there was always plenty of choice I must admit the chinese didnt have a great amount of choice but it made a nice change. The desserts are excellent. Ive never eaten so many. If your a traveller who wants british food dont go abroad but there was plenty of choice and everything cooked well.
With drinks on tap you never go thirsty and the san miguel isnt watered down like I have found in a few AI hotels. I did sicken myself on the Pina Coladas and the cola isnt the best but as a vodka drinker and Scottish, telling the staff for a large drink didnt raise any disapproval. Oh and by the way the small mini market joined onto the hotel sells Strongbow roughly the same price as a pint here. They run out of it the week we were there as quite a few of the lads drank it while chillin on their terraces, my boyfriend included.
Entertainment wasnt great if you want an action packed hol but the shows at night were well worth goin to watch My son entered Mr Paradise which he won on points but they put it to the applause and he was robbed lol There again the winner got a tshirt and the rest got bottles of cava. So if your wanting pubs and clubs you have to go into Playa Blanca which is only 3 euros in a taxi and is full of bars.
The rooms are more like apartments with a small terrace off the bedroom and a larger one with table and chairs off the living area. We payed the extra for air con and believe me you need it. The rooms are cleaned every day apart from a wednesday and a saturday as most people arrive on a thur and sun but there are always fresh towels and if you want more you get them. There are a few comments that the beds are solid...was the best sleep Ive had found them very comfortable.
The swimming pool area was never mobbed we always had space but the water is freezing when i first went in i thought i was going to pass out. its better just to dive in get it over with and when in its very pleasant. once again it was never mobbed. Pool bar was clean with a pool table and a air hockey (do not use) as there is no puck for the air hockey also the crane game in the reception isnt giving out prizes. you have been warned.
We went on 2 excursions one to rancho texas, brilliant day out even if it is just for the birds of prey show fantastic, oh and the white tigers and their cub. The other was to Teguise market on the Sunday really great bargains if you are prepared to haggle.
One final thing about the hotel there are a lot of cats. I used to feed them and they would sit and wait for us coming home to get their supper we ended up with nine coming every day they are very sweet but obviously feral but not vicious. even a bowl of water out for them helps. its not their fault they are there so if you go please dont be cruel to them and if you dont want to feed them dont shout on them as this seems to be when they know their being fed.
All in all we had a great time and would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for room 231
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After reading some of the reviews on the site we were very worried about this hotel! Having returned from this hotel this week I can honestly say we needn't have worried! This hotel is lovely, yes it is definitely 3* but that's what we paid for!

Rooms:
The Rooms were great. Quite basic but spacious. Large living area, bedroom and bathroom. Two Balconies; a large one on the back & a small one on the front.No bugs at all! Didn't see 1 cockroach in the whole week we were there. Yes, if you want the telly, you do have to pay for it but 15 euros for the week isn't going to break the bank! The cleaners come every day but Wed & Fri. Always did a good job.

The All Inclusive
As we preferred to go out and see Playa Blanca itself, we didn't tend to make the most out of this so can't really comment on much of it! From what we had, the food was ok, what you'd expect from a 3*. There was plenty to choose from. There was also a chinese which was lovely. A Chinese chef is cooking it there & then.
The drinks are never in short supply. Plenty of lager, wine, spirits, cocktails, soft drinks & slushes. The bars got quite busy of a night but no busier than it would in your local pub.

The Pool
The pool area was lovely. It was clean and there were always enough sunbeds to go around. The Pool was freezing but was nice for a dip to cool off.
If you're not into pool games, the entertainment team can become annoying! They like to try and get you involved in the aqua arobics and games! Thankfully its not all time time. They tend to do something about 3 times a day.

Location
The hotel is a nice 15-20 minute walk to playa blanca. There is also a free bus every hour which takes about 5 minutes. Playa Blanca is lovely. Playa Dorada beach is nice and quiet. The sea is really blue. There are loads of lovely restaurants and bars all looking out to sea. The whole area is quiet and laid back. We loved it. We found 1 restaurant & ended up going back night after night.

Anyway, overall paradise hotel is a nice hotel. its 3* no more, no less. If you've booked it, dont worry, you'll have a fab time. its clean and it friendly. we had a fantastic holiday, loved every second. you go looking for problems, you'll probably find them and that applies wherever you go! Wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Can I start by saying it isn't as bad as some people are making out!! Its a 3 star at the end of the day, if people expect 5 star treatment then book a 5 star hotel.

I travelled with my partner and our 2 children, aged 5 and 1. we stayed for a week and can't say we had any major problems or experiences. Ok we did have one or two cochroaches in our room but we were on the ground floor and they are common in Lanzarote, it's not the hotels fault if they crawl into people's apartments!!! The bathroom tiles did have a bit of mold on but nothing too bad. Food was fine, always hot and lots of choice, we didn't starve we always had something decent to eat. They also have a chinese restaurant, which is edible, not a lot of choice but nice for something different. The only downside was the soft drinks, usually when we go on holidays all inclusive we;ve found the drinks are usually a good brand but the soft drinks here are they own brand, the coke wasnt nice but their version of sprite and tango was lovely. The San Miguel was nice, at the pool bar they also have slush puppies and these are nice the kids loved them.
The entertainment was fine in the nights, the kids disco entertained our kids and as long as they are having a good time thats all that matters. My son went in the kids club a few times during our stay and he really enjoyed it.
We couldnt keep our room for 'late check out' on the day we were leaving but the hotel had shower rooms that we used and provided us with towels.
We did have to pay for Air Con, but that is the case with some hotels, this isnt the only hotel in the world where you have to pay extra for it!!! Anyway people should be aware of that when they book as holiday descriptions will state if its an extra charge.
The hotel isnt too far away from the resort centre, about a 20 minute walk or the hotel runs a curtesy bus every hour. Playa Blanca is a beautiful resort, we hired a car and got out and about.
Overall the hotel is nice and I think if it had some TLC and a bit of refurbishment it would be better. I wouldn't go back to this hotel, only because we dont like going to the same place twice. We have stayed in nicer hotels but then they were 4/5 star, but this 3 star hotel was fine for us for the week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.8 km away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,171 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#24 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,798 reviews
1.8 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,586 reviews
3.1 km away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,379 reviews
0.7 km away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: €126 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing