We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,552)
Filter reviews
3,552 results
Traveller rating
911
1,162
741
351
387
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
911
1,162
741
351
387
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdino parkwater parkfree buschinese buffetpool barthomas cook staffgreat holidayfamily holidaykids clubanimation teamevening entertainmentself servicesoft drinksmini discolife guardsplenty of choicesalad
Filter
Updating list...
2,233 - 2,238 of 3,552 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Had read reveiws on here as i always do when i go anywhere,so half knew what to expect..we got there about 8 and had to q to get booked in,was in q for nearly 40 mins,whilst qing noticed there was also a q for the bar(i had read about this)it was very hot in the reception area,so was glad to get to room.
Room was massive had a kitchen area(even though we were alincl)patio doors to front and back,but no air cond,we were not going to pay for it as didnt think it would be to hot,which it wasent,the one thing we did pay for was a safe lock...and are we glad we did ,because on last night there 4 rooms got broken into and most of them didnt have safes!!!!we had also noticed that when the maids cleaned our rooms they left our patio door in the bedroom open,we thought this was to air the rooms but now think it was so ppl could breakin!!!
The pool area was ok ,plastic around the egdes was manky and needed a good bleach,pool was bit chilly but soon heated up,as for the games ect they were not to loud and we happily sat and watched,the food at pool bar was ok ,same everyday,burger,sausages and pastawe found with any of the food you need to get there when its opened as it goes cold very quick and no microwaves to heat it up more!!!
Afternoon round pool bar had cakes and bread so u cold make toasted sarnis which were yumm
We used the bus a few times did a long trip from outside of hotel ,our advice walk down the hill and wait there,cuts a lot out...
There were about 9 stray kittens in the grounds felt sorry for them so we also fed them but of a night we put a few cups of water out for them which they drank quick,so even if u dont feed them ,give them some water,its not there fault the staff have not found them homes..
The dinning room and bars were all very hot they had no air conditioning on(even though it was there)w used to eat outside as was cooler,as for the dungeon(well thats what it seemed like)the entertainment room,it was down a spiral staircase which when we was there had no lighting,its very,very hot and packed...saw a few shows which were good,but the staff one was crap...
overall it was ok,out in the sticks with loads of building work around it,would not go back,a must do is a climb up the volcano opposite the hotel,had stunning veiws!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacbunnykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Did we have mildew on shower ceiling..yes. Did we have cockroaches yes one....were there some cracked tiles in bedroom...yes. But then I'm on holiday I'm not buying the property. We had a brilliant week here. The staff are very friendly heads up to Tommy (animation team) who seemed to do everything all day on his own. And Max who works the reception very helpful.
The food is great yes, it is a bit samey but mornings we started putting bacon egg and cheese through the toaster as well as the bread obviously, just for a wee change. Cereals, fresh fruit, fruit juices and tea and coffee with your cold meats and cheeses. Eggs done every way possible. So if you cant find something you like for breakfast theres something wrong. Lunch and dinner there was always plenty of choice I must admit the chinese didnt have a great amount of choice but it made a nice change. The desserts are excellent. Ive never eaten so many. If your a traveller who wants british food dont go abroad but there was plenty of choice and everything cooked well.
With drinks on tap you never go thirsty and the san miguel isnt watered down like I have found in a few AI hotels. I did sicken myself on the Pina Coladas and the cola isnt the best but as a vodka drinker and Scottish, telling the staff for a large drink didnt raise any disapproval. Oh and by the way the small mini market joined onto the hotel sells Strongbow roughly the same price as a pint here. They run out of it the week we were there as quite a few of the lads drank it while chillin on their terraces, my boyfriend included.
Entertainment wasnt great if you want an action packed hol but the shows at night were well worth goin to watch My son entered Mr Paradise which he won on points but they put it to the applause and he was robbed lol There again the winner got a tshirt and the rest got bottles of cava. So if your wanting pubs and clubs you have to go into Playa Blanca which is only 3 euros in a taxi and is full of bars.
The rooms are more like apartments with a small terrace off the bedroom and a larger one with table and chairs off the living area. We payed the extra for air con and believe me you need it. The rooms are cleaned every day apart from a wednesday and a saturday as most people arrive on a thur and sun but there are always fresh towels and if you want more you get them. There are a few comments that the beds are solid...was the best sleep Ive had found them very comfortable.
The swimming pool area was never mobbed we always had space but the water is freezing when i first went in i thought i was going to pass out. its better just to dive in get it over with and when in its very pleasant. once again it was never mobbed. Pool bar was clean with a pool table and a air hockey (do not use) as there is no puck for the air hockey also the crane game in the reception isnt giving out prizes. you have been warned.
We went on 2 excursions one to rancho texas, brilliant day out even if it is just for the birds of prey show fantastic, oh and the white tigers and their cub. The other was to Teguise market on the Sunday really great bargains if you are prepared to haggle.
One final thing about the hotel there are a lot of cats. I used to feed them and they would sit and wait for us coming home to get their supper we ended up with nine coming every day they are very sweet but obviously feral but not vicious. even a bowl of water out for them helps. its not their fault they are there so if you go please dont be cruel to them and if you dont want to feed them dont shout on them as this seems to be when they know their being fed.
All in all we had a great time and would go back in a heartbeat to this hotel

Room Tip: ask for room 231
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthmotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

After reading some of the reviews on the site we were very worried about this hotel! Having returned from this hotel this week I can honestly say we needn't have worried! This hotel is lovely, yes it is definitely 3* but that's what we paid for!

Rooms:
The Rooms were great. Quite basic but spacious. Large living area, bedroom and bathroom. Two Balconies; a large one on the back & a small one on the front.No bugs at all! Didn't see 1 cockroach in the whole week we were there. Yes, if you want the telly, you do have to pay for it but 15 euros for the week isn't going to break the bank! The cleaners come every day but Wed & Fri. Always did a good job.

The All Inclusive
As we preferred to go out and see Playa Blanca itself, we didn't tend to make the most out of this so can't really comment on much of it! From what we had, the food was ok, what you'd expect from a 3*. There was plenty to choose from. There was also a chinese which was lovely. A Chinese chef is cooking it there & then.
The drinks are never in short supply. Plenty of lager, wine, spirits, cocktails, soft drinks & slushes. The bars got quite busy of a night but no busier than it would in your local pub.

The Pool
The pool area was lovely. It was clean and there were always enough sunbeds to go around. The Pool was freezing but was nice for a dip to cool off.
If you're not into pool games, the entertainment team can become annoying! They like to try and get you involved in the aqua arobics and games! Thankfully its not all time time. They tend to do something about 3 times a day.

Location
The hotel is a nice 15-20 minute walk to playa blanca. There is also a free bus every hour which takes about 5 minutes. Playa Blanca is lovely. Playa Dorada beach is nice and quiet. The sea is really blue. There are loads of lovely restaurants and bars all looking out to sea. The whole area is quiet and laid back. We loved it. We found 1 restaurant & ended up going back night after night.

Anyway, overall paradise hotel is a nice hotel. its 3* no more, no less. If you've booked it, dont worry, you'll have a fab time. its clean and it friendly. we had a fantastic holiday, loved every second. you go looking for problems, you'll probably find them and that applies wherever you go! Wish I was still there!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Can I start by saying it isn't as bad as some people are making out!! Its a 3 star at the end of the day, if people expect 5 star treatment then book a 5 star hotel.

I travelled with my partner and our 2 children, aged 5 and 1. we stayed for a week and can't say we had any major problems or experiences. Ok we did have one or two cochroaches in our room but we were on the ground floor and they are common in Lanzarote, it's not the hotels fault if they crawl into people's apartments!!! The bathroom tiles did have a bit of mold on but nothing too bad. Food was fine, always hot and lots of choice, we didn't starve we always had something decent to eat. They also have a chinese restaurant, which is edible, not a lot of choice but nice for something different. The only downside was the soft drinks, usually when we go on holidays all inclusive we;ve found the drinks are usually a good brand but the soft drinks here are they own brand, the coke wasnt nice but their version of sprite and tango was lovely. The San Miguel was nice, at the pool bar they also have slush puppies and these are nice the kids loved them.
The entertainment was fine in the nights, the kids disco entertained our kids and as long as they are having a good time thats all that matters. My son went in the kids club a few times during our stay and he really enjoyed it.
We couldnt keep our room for 'late check out' on the day we were leaving but the hotel had shower rooms that we used and provided us with towels.
We did have to pay for Air Con, but that is the case with some hotels, this isnt the only hotel in the world where you have to pay extra for it!!! Anyway people should be aware of that when they book as holiday descriptions will state if its an extra charge.
The hotel isnt too far away from the resort centre, about a 20 minute walk or the hotel runs a curtesy bus every hour. Playa Blanca is a beautiful resort, we hired a car and got out and about.
Overall the hotel is nice and I think if it had some TLC and a bit of refurbishment it would be better. I wouldn't go back to this hotel, only because we dont like going to the same place twice. We have stayed in nicer hotels but then they were 4/5 star, but this 3 star hotel was fine for us for the week.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Theft! is the key word here, The three star all inclusive is as described three star! upon arriving at the hotel through a deal with Thomas cook all seemed OK but after being travelling all day and it was 11.30 pm we just wanted to shower and a good nights sleep ready for our holiday.
stood for what seemed and hour at the reception desk, clerk was all smiles and apologetic as no safe locks were available at that time? seemed an odd thing anyway no matter of to bed and away we went. room 217 was basic but who cares I want the sun and the ALL INC deal then wife shouts "take a look at this" half a dozen cockroaches but thankfully all dead! so we decided to carry on unpacking the wash gear and shower and bed sort it out in the morning. Ha! not on your life!
moved the furniture just a bit to check none of there mates were alive and kicking. O YES I kid you not the biggest well fed cockroach you've ever seen came out bold as brass ! a swift kick into the bathroom and he was ready for a fight ! at that point the wife grabbed the bags and said we.re off! NOW back at the hotel reception chap still all smiles ola!

After explaining the problem then I'm sure was lost in translation a dismissive wave and a smile saying "we have thing of this nature in lanzarote" my reply new room or taxi please mate!
New room loads better but both patio doors had been broken from the outside ? who cares at midnight sleep please is all I wanted.
next day reported doors and pick up a safe lock & key. NO! NO! NO? NO safe locks, NO patio
Repairs & NO flipping Clue ! just then local police at reception. being the noisy type overnight
robbery. we thought prudence is the order of the day keep ALL our valuables upon our persons. till safe becomes available Ha! having a "laff mate" it did not materialize Found out later they only have a few most have been pinched?

THOMAS COOKS Welcome meeting more of the big sell to me not interested in complaints told to hold all questions till after the demonstration being completed by a well mannered young man Gavin!
So I held as requested ALL my point not wanting to upset any on there holiday, Just a thought! seems to be planned just so to make that exact end result nice training Thomas Cook! FULL marks! it worked! we also agreed to purchase the extra Legroom seats as soon as Gavin explained they "go ever so quickly" paid the Euro's GOT two seats next to each other ? As at check in already sold out and pre booked.?? Nice one Gavin! stuck at airport 20 Euro's lighter and crapped seats on this 200 series plain.

Anyway back to the issues of security best we thought carrying ALL our stuff around in this place jump forward and
5 THEFT from rooms to our knowledge all what seemed to be English?

FOOD & Drink 3 Star usual rubbish no clue on the way to deliver what the tour operator sells you. we noticed bubble and squeak for you oldies will know what I mean, yesterdays refried food, O yes Quality food "HA" at high prices! just what the British public need food

drink was OK apart from the cueing for a drink from one bar after 9 unless you wanted to go down the disco, were the underground dark area seemed to be the retreat of the larger louts and there molls to me. don't worry just follow the base beat throbbing boom! boom!

Or make it for the show from the in house animation team Ha! your having a laff again mate it's bad when even THEY know there rubbish!

well just got home had a sleep got a clear head thought i'd share this honest account of last week

Thanks Thomas Cook your a star Look Forward to spending my cash with ANY other holiday company but yours thanks but NO!NO!NO!

Room Tip: Don't Do it Please
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrewBISHOP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews