We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,582)
Filter reviews
3,582 results
Traveller rating
922
1,170
747
353
390
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
1,170
747
353
390
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dino park water park free bus chinese buffet pool bar thomas cook staff great holiday family holiday kids club animation team evening entertainment self service soft drinks mini disco life guards plenty of choice salad
Filter
Updating list...
2,271 - 2,276 of 3,582 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I had mixed feelings about going here after reading some of the reviews on the internet. glad I went though. I went 8th Sept 2011with my wife and quite honestly cannot find anything to stop me going again. Yes some nights you had to queue to get a drink but no more than in a busy British pub and you would be paying there. Rooms were clean, pool was clean. Staff were very good. Some of the food was not to my taste but I am a very fussy eater and it is a foriegn country after all! i definately did not starve and tried some dishes i would not do at home and thouroughly enjoyed them. Breakfasts were brilliant, fried egg, proper sausage, scrambled egg, bacon etc etc all cooked very well. Entertainment team worked very hard to get you involved and we did get involved on more than one occassion. Night time entertainment was o/k as well. The Grease and Rat Pack tributes were very good. Playa Blanca is nice but a bit quite which suited us both. you MUST GO on the free PAL excursion trips, one Monday, different one on Wednesday. There is no hard sell and you see a lot of the island. you must climb the volcano facing hotel,animation team will take you if you like, the views are fantastic and not to be missed, make sure you take your camera. Believe me, if you believe all the negatives you read on the internet you would not go anywhere. Paradise Island is great value for money and we have all ready booked for next year. Give it a go, anybody if they look hard enough can find problems with any hotel, EVEN the HILTON.

Room Tip: All rooms clean and tidy. Had no problems other than safe did not have a lock on in room but reception were waiting for spares so they let us use box behind reception.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ray78dtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

went to this his hotel for the second time, we were originally booked to stay at the 4 star rio playa blanca and after one night i downgraded back to the paradise. staff always working and very helpful. the food was lovely with so much choice and even if you didnt want to go into the dineing room at lunchtime there was a wide selection of food at the pool bar with the chef even cooking a giant piella, along with barbeque. it would be very hard not to find something you didnt like as there was so much choice. the apartments are very clean and spacious with a large balcony or terrace. even has a free bus to the beach and back

Room Tip: try and get a room with pool view as this is quite a big complex, the pool and pool bar are close to reception and dineing room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Returned from Paradise Island in the early hours of this morning; we went with airtours/thomas cook, rep was nice lad, gave us a weather warning - expected temperatures of 50oC, we came back with one HELL of a factor 50 tan!!! We never did find out how hot it was in Lanzarote, but on a boat trip to Fuetaventura it said 45.6oC.
The hotel! I inwardly groaned when we found our apartment was just opposite bar terrace, and close to pool and disco - but needn't have worried, lots of folk slept on the sofas in the lounges - the bed was ok for me, too hard for my partner! Pillows - PLEASE BUY SOME CHEAP ONES AND TAKE THEM WITH YOU! There is a free bus down to Playa Blanca, use it! it is quite a walk in the heat of the day - or the constant heat we had - but a pleasant walk. Lots of time share being built there - were warned that they were pushy - never met one tho!
The pool was lovely - lots and lots of sun beds - very close together, so you get to know folk there,
The Food - We suggest you fill up at breakfast - bacon not the best, but all the usual english, and continental bits and pieces. Lunch - poolside burgers (tinned) and hot dogs with rolls, very nice in the restaurant - fresh salads (the veg salads seemed to to made with the night befores veg in mayo - but disconcerting BUT delish to find a cold sprout in it!!) chips for the brits, pasta for the italians and fish and potatoes for spanish, Spam featured a lot. Evening meal was usually the same - but different. Was advised on 1st night by a brit to avoid anything with mussels in, was sick one night after a lovely pork casserole - sorry chefs, I kept to salad meals after that. Lots for Veggies too!
Drinks are free until 11 - local drinks, wines all lovely, lager good, no one complained about spirits, only the mixers
The Animations team try soooooooo hard, I highly recommend the battle of the sexes - what a laugh, they mime a lot in the shows - but you cant mime dances!! Not an easy job!!
All in All? We had a lovely time, met some lovely people from all over the UK, learned how to "chill by the pool", got fab tans (even with Factor 50) but were pleased to get home for a comfy bed and soft pillwos!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room - no ants and no roaches!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank itslel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have been to the Paradise Island five times and had a good relaxing holiday each visit. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is great, plenty of variety and lots of theme nights. Not a large selection in the Chinese restaurant but what there is is superb and well prepared.
Good location which lends itself to some good walking and afew good runs up the volcano; Montana Rojas. Playa Blanca is a quiet resort although a touch on the pricey side.
On the downside, the beds are not the best, Wifi charges in the rooms is way "tooo" expensive and during busy times in the bar, another bar person would help ease the queue's.
Overall, cracking hotel, staff and good food - we will be back for our sixth visit - soon!

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the pools as possible.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamAndJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Firstly, i have to say, i have nooooooo idea why people complain about this complex it was amazing!! After reading the reviews i was really worried about going but i can honestly say it was a brillaint hotel, probs the best one ive been on!! okay the was a few things you could complain about such as if you go all inclusive (which we did) you'd expect to get everything for free such as tv! well you don't! its 3 euros a day which isn't too bad and you have to pay for drinks after 11! but really, thats all i would complain about! I went with my boyfriend and we both had a very good week! we met a lot of lovely people and karoke was brilliant! playa blanca is lovely, its only 3 euros (give or take a few cent) down in the taxi! we spent a good lot of days and nites down there! we also went on the glass bottom boat we they bring you out to the sea and let you go banana boating, scuba diving, swimming etc! everyone seemed to enjoy themselves and on the way back we even see dolphins!! you also get free food and drink! okay, it costs 46 euros each but it was worth it!! i got really badly sunburny the first day lol so make sure you cover up! but honestly, definately go to this hotel its soo relaxing and everybodys lovely! apparently their closing from nov-april and turning it into a water park type of place owned by thomas cooke which will be good! gavin was our rep and was always there if you needed him! would definately recommend the paradise island hotel especially if you just want to relax and laze about the pool!! weather was lovely and the pools are amazing!! would definately go back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank charlotteham1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews