We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,443)
Filter reviews
7,443 results
Traveller rating
3,728
2,626
797
190
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,728
2,626
797
190
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green bar fusion restaurant snack bar elite restaurant royal elite service green room canary bar main restaurant italian section elite package sea view g block room in block animation team papagayo beach large hotel the lion king
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 7,443 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Arrived late to very friendly reception staff and sent to all night snack bar for dinner, which was very basic and not a very good first impression of the hotel.

Rooms just about large enough for 3 adults. although 3rd adult had to sleep on uncomfortable sofa bed. There was only 8 coat hangers which was a struggle for 3 people on a 2 week holiday. Our initial impression was that the hotel and rooms were clean and tidy although on closer inspection we found dust in bathroom and a huge amount of long hair (not ours) in the plug hole preventing water draining property, which my husband removed. The shaving mirror in the bathroom was only cleaned once during the 2 week holiday which was thick of dust. The sink was stained in the corners and the toilet looked as though it could do with a good scrub (even my teenage son noticed this!) The stairwells looked like they had not been swept for a long while, huge lumps of thick dust and hair remained in the corridors unmoved throughout our stay. The carpet in the corridor was in desperate need of a vacuum which we did not see any sign of.

The best rule of the hotel was that of no reserved sunbeds before 9 am. This was always upheld with any towels being removed. We stayed mostly in the adult pool area and you could always have a choice of beds which was great as there was 7 of us in our party. This hotel has plenty of sunbeds and loads of places to sunbathe. The pool was kept clean and checked regularly. However, every single day at around 10.30 the Animation Team began and played club music really loudly which would compete with the music from the pool bar making the most horrendous mix of beats. It was so loud that the teenagers amongst us could not hear their music through their headphones. This lead to us having to complain a couple of times to reception who appeared not to be at all surprised (one saying this is a daily occurrence caused by the animation team). Positioning ourselves around the adult pool you would expect it to be relaxing and quiet but not so at this hotel. In the upper bar (which is above the adult area) they played bingo at 3.00 in the afternoon with the animation team screaming at the top of their voices every time a number came up. The children at the hotel were all excellently behaved and we cannot fault them in any way but a member of the animation team thought it was funny to go screaming through the adult area and we even saw him getting the children to stand around someone sleeping and then get the children to scream at them.

The main restaurant was large and we never had a problem finding a table for 7. Staff quickly removed dirty plates and reset tables. Although we always found something to eat, the food choices remained constant for our 2 weeks and lacked flavour. Thankfully we were able to book some meals in the Fusion Restaurant although this was fully booked for our first week. Meals here were much better although not a huge choice.

We were on all inclusive and were very disappointed in the drinks available. The wine was the worst we had tasted for a long time and couldn't drink it. All cocktails are from a pre-mix bottle and were over sweet and sickly. The choice of drinks available on all inclusive were very poor all other hotels we have been to have had a lot more to offer.

Overall, we would not return or recommend this hotel but would highly recommend their sister hotel Sandos San Blas in Tenerife which was fabulous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the pool were quiet
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear Richard W,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us and that you had a lovely holiday, we will take note of things that you have said about the animation volume, food and bars. Thank you for your stay and your review.

Best Regards,

Eveline Leddy
Guest service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This was probably the best hotel we ( 4 adults) stayed in to date. The hotel, food,drinks and staff were absolutely first class. Its a lovely walk into Playa Blanca. There are always a niggle or two ( the shower is hard to get the temperature right), otherwise we cannot fault anything. Even if you weren't hungry after a hard days loafing about, there would be always be something you ended up eating. Delicious roasts at lunch and dinner. I would recommend royal elite package.

Room Tip: Upgrade to royal elite
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank paulodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear paulodee,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us and that you had a lovely holiday.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Eveline Leddy
Guest service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

As a family of 4 we enjoyed our stay at the Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort (3rd - 10th August 2018).

The difficult thing for me is to give the hotel a fair review as we have been spoilt over the last few years by going to the wonderful Moon Palace resort in Mexico. To be honest there is no comparison between the two resorts (the Moon Palace is a 5 star resort with 22 restaurants and a multitude of things to do) but we didn’t pay Moon Palace prices either. Our trip to Lanzarote was meant as a short summer break as we are off to Italy skiing at New Year.

So what was good about this hotel:

For us it was a small, friendly resort. Easy to get around and very clean and well maintained.
The entertainment team work extremely hard to look after you and keep everyone entertained. I enjoyed the aqua aerobics and the kids enjoyed the water polo. There were also many other activities that you can join in with. The evening entertainment was good too.... the entertainment team tried hard and did make us laugh.
The hotel is located just 5 mins walk to the beautiful Papagayo beaches. They are worth a visit.... but bring your own parasol like we did. There are no sun beds there.
We upgraded to royal elite and do think we got value for money .... better drinks, our fridge stocked with drinks and daily water and a less hectic dining room for breakfast and evening meal. We also liked the snack bar with the daily crepes in the afternoon.
It was our 12th Wedding Anniversary whilst we were there and it was lovely to have a bottle of cava in our room when we arrived with a note from the management.
My husband enjoyed his full body massage at the spa - it was only €45 and was worth it.

What could be improved:

For us the food did become a little monotonous. We always found something to eat but it lacked clear themes each night. It was well cooked though and the kids loved the chocolate fountain in the royal elite restaurant.
We went to the Mexican fusion night too and yes it was different but we sort of expected table service and not a buffet (our fault not the hotels). The food was ok there - but the kids couldn’t find much they liked ... there were beef burgers and chips but they’d had enough of those.
The pools are freezing! They only warm one of them but NOT in the summer. Despite this the kids loved jumping in and out and it certainly didn’t spoil our holiday.
The rooms - well ours was just a standard twin room which was perfectly ok for us as we don’t stay in our room on holiday. The improvement here would be to have more hangers in the wardrobe. We brought our own and would advise others to do the same.

Lanzarote in general:

We hired a car from PlusCar - the man at the desk in reception, so we could visit the island. We hired it for 3 days in total which was enough to see most things.
We went to the Pirate Museum which was great, only €3 per adult entrance and free for children. It’s small but worth a visit.
We also went to Timanfaya, cuaves los verde, Jameos del agua and mirador del rio.... all great to visit whilst you are there. We had a lovely lunch at Jameos del agua which was surprisingly cheap. The lunch we had at mirador del rio a day earlier was not - €4.5 for an orange juice... we had a 4 paninis and 4 drinks and the bill was over €50.

Back to the hotel:

As mentioned in the title, we had a nice family break. We enjoyed our time at the Sandos Papagayo. We won’t return but would certainly will hold some very fond memories of our experience.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank SarJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Dear SarJS,

On behalf of the Management and all the staff, we would like to thank you for all your nice comments about this hotel and our service.

We are glad to know that you spent a pleasant holiday.

Once again, thank you for sharing a review and for your kind words commending Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort.

Yours sincerely,

Eveline Leddy
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Room Tip: Try for a room in blocks A or B with sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews