We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,282)
Filter reviews
4,282 results
Traveller rating
2,404
1,293
431
105
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,404
1,293
431
105
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub volcanclub areafree barfun pubrubicon marinaevening buffetbalinese bedsstar hotellovely hotelbed and breakfasthalf boardbloody marypillow menumarina areablue notesitting areareception area
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 4,282 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

..... we had to book a stay here.
Fantastic hotel, even with the renovations, probably only 10% full, you really feel pampered but it is 5 star after all.
we're big fans of Lanzarote and this just topped the list of places to stay- highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank autopia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear client,

In order to your review on Tripadvisor and your high score as well , we would like to give you thank and we apprecaite as well thay you enjoyed and had a fantastic time with us

Kind regards

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We have stayed at the volcan twice...most recently as a family of 4 sharing a large spacious room.

The hotel is perfect for a relaxing break. All staff friendly and helpful.
Rooms clean spacious and comfortable. Location is great with plenty of restaurants and bars in rubicorn marina close by.

We would love to return however we have been advised hotel policy now means a family of 4 ( with 2 children under 11) must have 2 rooms. A policy I feel will put many a family off booking this lovely hotel. We have booked alternate hotel in lanzarotte and hope it reaches the standard of the volcan.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank TheGTeam18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear client

Thank you for sharing your experience in The Volcan Lanzarote ***** on Tripadvisor and choosing us to spend your holiday. We are glad that you have been satisfied by the different services of the hotel. F. Your special comments about our staff are very valued for us. Even if we know we cannot please everybody, the fact that you would recommend the hotel is the best proof to know we are doing a good job.

We will be grateful to welcome you again in the The Volcan Lanzarote *****
Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Even having stayed at The Hotel Volcan once before and being familiar with the location I was still unsure what to expect after reading all the recent negative comments about this Hotel
In summery -
On arrival the Staff were very helpful and explained about the building works.
As previous we had booked a sea view room but this time we were allocated a room in Club Volcan - excellent sea views with balcony and access to the lovely artificial grass sun terrace, pool and jacuzzi.
The breakfast while in different temporary location was as usual - fantastically laid out offering a great variety.
The two evening restaurants have always been restaurants and are more that adequate - so there was no real change there.
I agree the main pool area is quiet but having come for a peaceful time I'm more than happy with that.
To date Thur 7 June we are having a very nice time and there has been absolutely no disruption due to any building works.

Room Tip: Ask for sea View
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Munsy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Mrs Munsy

First of all, thank you for trusting in hour hotel to spend your holidays. The hotel offers services and facilities of quality, in order to please the customers and satisfy them as much as possible, so it is an honor for us to read that you have been satisfied with us For sure, the spa is receiving great feedback and it is well worth a visit. Your review will be shared with the staff since this hotel wouldn't be the same without the team working here.

Thank you for taking time writing this review, it encourages us to keep improving. We hope to see you soon by our hotel again, it would be a real pleasure.

Best regards.
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Firstly we had a really good stay even though essential works were being carried out which Jet2 had advised us of, However jet2 failed to advise that the buffet restaurant was unavailable due to refurbishment, this we are taking up with them. The Hotel however provided A'la carte dining each night
Due to refurbishment the room we had booked was unavailable so we were upgraded to a suite in Club Volcan also my son and family were upgraded so they could be nearby. it must be said that we expect some work to be carried out in May as this is a quiet time of the season and prices are a little cheaper to reflect this.
I read some of the low ratings for this Hotel, and am really surprised, as I have always found them more than accommodating when facilities are not up to usual standards.
I have never had the experience of rudeness, on the contrary found staff more than pleasant.
We have found the rooms excellent with linen and towels changed every day.
This was our third stay at The Volcan ,we love it and will certainly be returning.
Why anyone can not like this Hotel seems strange to me.
Thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: Book Sea View Rooms
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Mr Stuart

First of all, thank you for choosing The Volcan Lanzarote ***** to enjoy your holiday and sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you have been satisfied by our different service, in fact the hotel offer facilities of quality to please with guests requested and satisfy them as much as possible, so it’s an honor for us to read that once again we have succeeded to meet your expectations as a customers. The special mention to our staff team is very valued since they make a great effort amd with no doubt the hotel wouldn’t be the same without them.

We will be pleased to welcome you again at the The Volcan Lanzarote *****

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

I visited The Volcan hotel for a week from the 29th May to the 5th May 2018 with my partner. The journey to the hotel wasn't too bad on a coach, it's around 30-40 minutes on a coach depending on drop-offs beforehand.

We got to the hotel and was greeted by an unexpected reception area in the 'Church' area of the hotel. This is because maintenance work is being carried out on the roof of the volcano where the reception is usually.

We were notified by email about the ongoing maintenance work a few weeks prior to going which if I was given more time I would of went elsewhere. The works consisted of the volcano roof being repaired and the restaurant in the middle of big pool being updated. This was very disappointing to us as no matter where you were in the main pool areas, noise pollution was a problem and dirty men standing on the roofs of the restaurant wasn't a pleasant site. The sounds of drilling and hammering when you are trying to relax is not what I call a 5-star experience. From our room we could hear works being carried out in the volcano in the morning, the sounds of what seemed to be scaffolding banging off each other was obvious from our room which was only round the corner.

Apart from that, the resort is very clean and maintained to a very high level. One thing I was fairly disappointed about was the lack of holiday-goers around the pool areas. I do like peace and quiet but it was scarily quiet for most of the day. Yes, the resort is very big and it's only the start of the summer season but I felt like we had the hotel to ourselves almost every day until about 1-2 o'clock when people were chilling by the pool.

Food-wise, we only ate dinner once at the hotel which was room service the night we arrived. It was a decent meal but we didn't really order anything fancy to begin with. Breakfast has a good spread, traditional english breakfast buffet available with an egg chef. Fruit, breads, cereals etc.

We did try most of the pools apart from the club side, we tried the spa service and was extremely pleased with the service that was provided. Reception were more than happy to help us with any queries or demands that we had. The rooms were decent although some areas need to be touched on such as grout mould in the bathroom.

I can't think of anything else to touch on right now but if I do I'll add to my review further. Thanks for reading folks!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Mr Nick

Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel here on Tripadvisor!
We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your vacations with us and that you strongly recommend it to other travelers. Your comments about the resort, as well as the facilities, gastronomy and spa we have and twe provide are very appreciated.

It would be of a great pleasure to welcome you back at our hotel sometime in the future.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews