We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”
Review of VIK Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
VIK Coral Beach
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I'm just from a week's holiday with my husband and we had a really nice relaxing time at the Coral Beach. The Villas are spacious and clean and it's nice to have your own private patio area outside to relax in.
Because it's a couple of miles from the main resort it's very quiet. You can walk into Playa Blanca in about an hour and a half or get a taxi for 4 or 5 euros each way. We hired bikes from 'Cool Bikes' (reception have a leaflet) and it was a great way to get around. It took about 15 minutes to some nice sea front bars and 30 minutes along the main promenade into Playa Blanca.
The food was generally very nice, lots of salad and a few different choices for breakfast lunch and dinner. There were however some odd things, like brussel sprouts in mayonnaise one day!! Sometimes it was obvious that leftover food had been re-heated and served again the next day and even the day afterwards or left out for snack time. Such as fried calamari, fish fingers and chips.
A lot of the fruit was nice - fresh melon and kiwis but it would have been nice to have more choice for dessert and at snack time.
The staff are helfpul and friendly and they are happy to order you taxis, arrange bike hire, check transfers etc.
You need to pay extra for things like a hairdryer so take your own - it's 10 euros for the week.
It was very windy when we went, and the resort is a little exposed. Apparently Lanzarote is less windy from September to November.
Overall we had a nice relaxing quiet holiday which is what we wanted but compared to other 4 star inclusive holidays we've had, this was more of a 3 star resort.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and it was nice to be away from the restaurant and pool area and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Iloveholidays005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 702 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

Because of my job we normally take our family hols in the winter months, so Playa Blanca seemed like the obvious place to go. After reading the reviews we went for the Coral Beach AI because of the heated pool and a number of other points.

Generally the holiday went really well, the staff were all very polite particually the 2 girls who looked after our children in 'kids club' Gemma and Joanna . The receptionists were always helpful along with the restaurant staff. The location was very quite and piece-full with no major roads or other resorts close by. The food was generally 'hotel food' but we always found something tasty to eat with plenty of drinks availible. The hotel was kept very clean at all times.The villas were spacious and well equipted.

The reason we've only given this hotel 3/5 are for the following reasons.

Before we arrived at the hotel I emailed them, I asked "please can you ensure the pool is heated as we have children who love to swim" they replied "yes the pool is heated and on". from past experiences some hotels turn the heating off if it's not to busy to save energy.For the first 3 days the pool was heated then it was turned off for the remaining 4 thus nobody went in (it was freeeeezing!) , even though they employed a full time life gaurd who sat by the pool reading a book for 8 hours! The location is a good 1 hour walk from Playa Blanca (impossible with kids) with nothing to attractive to look at apart from unfinished timeshare projects and undeveloped areas of volcanic rock (watch out for dog poo and unmarked pot holes). The food was ok however, heated up chewy Calamari rings for breakfast 'YES BREAKFAST' from the lunch time before was not exeptable. We found people on 'half board' helping themselves to all the 'all inclusive' perks that they were not entitiled to for FREE! fair play if you can get away with it. All the drinks were help yourself with nobody really looking over it. My advise is don't go AI unless the price difference is small.There is evening entertainment but because its not advertised nobody knows, so nobody go's! If you're lucky enough to meet the reptile or parrot show the photos (you and a parrot etc) are 10 euros each , I managed to beat them down on price.Watch out for the dodgy wiring under the hob (villa 57) shocking craftmanship. The resort is quite exposed to the wind but we may just been unlucky that week.If you just want to go and read a book for a week,sleep and eat this resort is fine,

* Hire a car
* Go half board (you can still get free drinks)
* Ask staff about entertainment
* Make sure the pool is activly heated
* Don't expect the Ritz

We would consider going back if a few things got sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farmboy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Me and my boyfriend have just returned from a week at the VIK Club Coral Beach. We were the last drop off on the transfer so automatically knew we were going to be far away from any existence.
The resort is small and very quiet, it was great for a relaxing week but lacked entertainment, even the pool was too cold to go in. We had beautiful weather and only twice did we dare to go in the pool but it was far too cold to enjoy it, therefore it was empty most of the holiday. There was a pool table and after paying to play there was no white ball so that was a waste of time. We also purchased a table tennis set as it had a table but that looked about 10 years old and was barely playable. The tennis courts were in good condition and people were seen to be enjoying them so if that was something we were interested in that would have been great.
There was a board with arrows to a "pool bar" and "restaurant" however these were both the same place which we thought was funny. The food was very nice, the small amount there was of it. Breakfast consisted mainly of streaky bacon, frankfurter sausages, fried egg, toast, beans, pancakes, croissants, cereals and hot drinks. Lunch varied a little much like dinner, there was always a choice of 2 or 3 different meats or a meat and a fish, chips, potatoes, vegetables and a small choice of puddings. The meats were always deliciously cooked. It was more quality not quantity, it lacked variety but made up for it with the quality.
Our only complaint is that we had paid all inclusive but were disappointed as we basically received full board (breakfast, lunch and dinner) with drinks. Furthermore, we had blue bands to identify us as all inclusive but many people without these bands seemed to be eating and drinking the same as us in the restaurant/pool bar which seemed a little unfair but we may have been confused so I won't hold that against anyone. Snacks were practically non-existent, consisting of cold chips left over from lunch and self scoop ice cream (strictly between 4.30-6, would have been nice to be able to have an ice-cream anytime of the day). This was one of the most disappointing parts of the place and why i reiterate that I do not feel we had been given all inclusive treatment. (Especially when I compare to other 4* all inclusive holidays we had been on where snacks can be ordered)
Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Large living area, kitchen was reasonable but we did not use it with us being all inclusive. Main bedroom was as pictured. Small twin room which i would not want to put my children in, the windows were very dirty, it had a damp smell and the light didn't work so a lamp had been put on the bedside table between the two beds. This would be fine however, the wire ran across the pillow of one of the beds to be plugged in which would be very dangerous if a child or anyone was sleeping in it! All we could think of is that they knew it was only the two of us so that room wouldn't matter, which it didn't and I guess that if the villa had been booked for 4 this wouldn't be the case.
Another small complaint was that the villa was advertised as private, however they were joint and as the resort was so quiet (not complaining) we could hear the neighbors talking and so they would definitely have been able to hear us, which just takes the edge off the privacy. Our villa was nicely situated so we had the sun all day which was an added bonus. The worst part of the villa was the bathroom. On the first evening, I turned the shower on and the only position that you could put it sprayed directly at the wall opposite and it soaked the whole bathroom so you had to hold it. Also, the bath leaked really bad (as pictured) and practically flooded the bathroom so we had to use all the towels to mop it up. The maid came twice during our week stay(Monday to Monday), beds changed once and towels changed on the Wednesday and the Friday. This meant we had the same towels Friday-Monday which was annoying.
The table outside of our room was filthy when we arrived so we asked them to clean it, it took until Wednesday for them to do it and when they did it still had marks and rusty patches all over it so we didn't really want to sit at that. For a 4* it should have been changed, all the other tables seemed fine, just ours looked a bit worse for wear.
Its a nice walk into Playa Blanca, took just over an hour, along a small dirt path and past an old lighthouse, round the coast and few shops, bars and things on the way. There was a lovely beach and it is a pleasant walk. We walked there and back twice, its a nice walk if you just take it slow, it does take way over an hour to get right into Playa Blanca to the shops/restaurants though but we got a free shuttle bus from the hotel which was really good. To be honest, the hotel was so boring you didn't mind taking long walks just for something to do.
There was some form of entertainments put on some nights, a snake show (2 lizards and 2 small snakes) lasted 15minutes, bingo and a quiz. But it was out of season and the complex is small and lacks any sort of entertainment area. TV in the room only had a few english channels so luckily we had a laptop with us to watch films instead.
However, there are a few bars and 2 small ships about a 10 minute walk albeit across a dirt path which is unlit but fine with your phone light or a torch at night. We particularly liked The Lighthouse, friendly staff and reasonably priced. We used the internet there and had a few drinks and games of pool. Shops had most things you could need and there were a few restaurants there but we didn't try them as had food back at the resort.
Overall, it is a great place for relaxing. There was no-one bothering us and it is very quiet and tranquil just what we needed for a week away from work. It has nice food and was nice for couples and seemed popular with the older generation. I definitely would not recommend it for groups/teenagers looking for a cheap get away as there was no form of entertainment at all!
We really enjoyed our stay but boredom/lack of entertainment definitely got the better of us. We wouldn't stay again as it was just that little bit too far out but can see why people would return.
*Great weather
*Nice Food
*Relaxing/Quiet

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Enjoyed week in the sun over New Year. Food was good but a little repititive at times, I don't like pork had to eat it 3 times as the alternatives were rabbit or veal and I like neither of those.

Was cold in the villa, but reception provided a heater and a blanket. I did ask for another pillow but it never turned up ast hey had none in the whole hotel spare.

I did think that a deposit for towels for the pool and charging for hire of tennis court a bit rich. Tennis Court is there anyway and it was 10 euros deposit each towel.

The housekeeping could of been a bit better, we said no one day and they didn't come back for another 3 days.

All in all a good trip for the price we paid. Will be visiting lanzarote again this year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The all inclusive package is very good value for money. Staff are very helpful, efficient and hard-working; the villas are excellent, spacious, clean and comfortable; the beer is good, the house wine perfectly drinkable; the buffet meals generally good, with lots of fresh fruit and imaginative salads. The main problem they have not sorted out is how to keep the hot food hot. You also need to be aware that Coral Beach is quite a long way out from the town centre - about 3 or 4 miles. But it is right on the coast, with great views over the rocky shoreline, nestling under the red mountain. Car hire, which the hotel arrange very efficiently, will add greatly to your holiday if you want to see anything of the dramatic and fascinating island. We booked via Low Cost Holidays, who were very well organised and offered a good deal

Room Tip: Worth paying for a sea view villa if you can afford the extra. All rooms face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
7.3 km away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
3 km away
Jardines del Sol
Jardines del Sol
#11 of 37 in Playa Blanca
481 reviews
5.3 km away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,936 reviews
4.8 km away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,470 reviews
5 km away
Caybeach Sun
Caybeach Sun
#29 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIK Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Coral Beach

Address: Calle Austria Esq. C/Portugal | Urbanizacion Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: €96 - €257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIK Coral Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vik Club Coral Beach located at the east of Playa Blanca, is a hotel enjoyed for its tranquility and calm. Let yourself be seduced by its impressive sea views and by the times of relaxion at the Chill Out. Live the Vik Club Coral Beach experience and forget everything. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your VIK Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Club Coral Beach Hotel Playa Blanca
VIK Coral Beach Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing