We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Our 7 days stay was fabulous , nice hotel,excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff.
Our room was very large with the biggest bad I have ever seen.
All hotel areas are very clean and will be my pleasure to come back in the near future with all my family.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank petruramiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 158 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Back after a weeks holiday in this great hotel. Fantastic large room with excellent quality bed and linen. Decor is very stylish and spotlessly clean. It's a perfect location for access to many restaurants and bars. Very large beach is just across the road couldn't be in a better location also is very well manned. Staff are very pleasant and always ready to help. Very good choice and quality for breakfast. There is a good supermarket underneath the hotel with all essentials. Would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning. :)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank 8Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Although my wife & I have been to Praia da Rocha many times, this was our first stay in Hotel da Rocha which is in a great location just across the street from steps down to the beach. We had a Prestige Suite with a side sea view. The hotel is smart, modern and tastefully decorated & furnished as are the spacious suites. Each suite has a large lounge area in addition to the usual room features and generous storage space. The en-suite has a shower over the bath. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful throughout our 2 week stay and the self service breakfast was good quality & offered a good range of options. Although the suites have some kitchen facilities they are limited and would not allow full self catering.

Prior to our stay we had wondered if the location on the main street would mean the rooms would be noisy, but this was not the case.

All in all a great hotel for the price, in a great location. It offers the space of an apartment, but with the facilities of an hotel. We will certainly become regular guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed for 5 days with my wife, parents, sister & brother-in-law and my 1-year-old nephew. Cannot recommend this hotel enough for location, space & cleanliness. Situated across from the beach, which is a 5 minute walk and at the top of a long line of bars & restaurants.

My sister & nephew both celebrated birthdays while we were there and the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, ordering a birthday cake & champagne for the occasion. Breakfast was also great with a large selection - hot food as well as waffles, pancakes & pastries. Plus the added bonus of complimentary sparkling wine some mornings.

Rooms were huge with massive, very comfortable beds, mini bar, seating area, kitchenette and lots of storage. Also decent TV options with a few English-speaking channels. Very clean with good size balcony, although we didn't have a beach view I would recommend one. Free in-room safe too. The air-con is very good & bathroom features a rainfall shower.

One of the only issues we had with the hotel was the swimming pool. Because it was never busy it was easy to get a sun lounger but as the pool was in the shade 90% of the time the water was always freezing. Sun only hit small parts of the pool for about an hour a day & there was no shallow area, which was unfortunate as we had a baby with us. We also found drinks in the bar pretty limited & drank elsewhere most of the time.

Overall it was a great stay & would absolutely return to the hotel. The beach is super clean & the area is quieter than many tourist spots; the area feels very safe & the views are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PandaLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Yet another great 2 weeks in this fab hotel. This was our 14th trip and enjoyed it enormously yet again. Good clean hotel with lovely staff. Great choice at breakfast and good quality of food. Just returned home today unfortunately the last couple of days was spoiled by a crowed of loud mouth attention seeking guests mainly women. The shouted and swore all day playing like children in the pool having no respect for other guests. Not the hotels fault and won't let it out me off returning next year.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank mjc27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 km away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,097 reviews
0.7 km away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.7 km away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
932 reviews
0.1 km away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
661 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: €48 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing